Crows youngsters snubbed again

• Thread starter Thread starter cammo6556

I think you understand the points being made. You just don't seem to have the capacity to easily accept the realities that results in at this stage. Good luck!
yeah i understand your stance, but that doesnt mean there arent other valid opinions out there... you dont seem to have the capacity to understand THAT.

Not everything can be clearly categorised as right and wrong. if you cant accept others opinions may hold some validity, then maybe you need to take a good look at yourself

Mate - of course you can have opinions.

The key point is that people spending money on the media don't really care about yours. Thats what you seem to be struggling with. You seem to think your opinion on what should be shown on TV means it should happen.

Mate - of course you can have opinions.

The key point is that people spending money on the media don't really care about yours. Thats what you seem to be struggling with. You seem to think your opinion on what should be shown on TV means it should happen.

its blatantly obvious that they dont care about our dollars... this i cant debate.

and youre right, i am of the opinion that interstate teams should get more recognition in the media. TV is business, yes, but i fail to see how allowing a few minutes extra to cover our games properly rather than carry on like buffoons, re-hash the latest victorian club drama or whatever, will have an adverse affect on their bank balances.

balance, thats the word. a little bit of re-working, whilst still maintaining the shows format, wont cost them dollars.

Footy show for example. I know alot of people who dont watch it because its less about the footy and more about them running around playing grab-a$$. a little less grab-a$$, a little more focus on footy.

allefgib,look i can see your points, and i agree with them. what i dont really agree with the way the media runs their business. it can be modified without negative consequence to allow a broader market is catered for and the self-centric victorian media darlings can still get their weekly fix of footy analysis and buffoonery.

And I wouldn't mind seeing what you're advocating, probably enjoy it to be honest.

The problem with not agreeing with how someone runs their business is.. you can't control that in a significant way.

What I don't like is our supporters getting precious because they feel we are being treated like second class citizens. The BIGGEST impact we can have that situation is to stop taking it so personally and choosing to be proactive about how we respond to it. As opposed to reactive and defensive.

Support you're right to an opinion - I will always jump into debate how we need to be better than worrying about peopel worrying about little old Adelaide Crows supporters. Good luck!

And I wouldn't mind seeing what you're advocating, probably enjoy it to be honest.

The problem with not agreeing with how someone runs their business is.. you can't control that in a significant way. AGREED. I do , however, like to speak my mind. If I were hell-bent on changing it, id start a petition, take a station execs dog captive etc

What I don't like is our supporters getting precious because they feel we are being treated like second class citizens. The BIGGEST impact we can have that situation is to stop taking it so personally and choosing to be proactive about how we respond to it. As opposed to reactive and defensive. how do you propose we be proactive?

second class citizens, that's what got me fired up initially. i took riggys bait (stupidly). he can imply all he likes, he is no better than anyone here. i just thought he needed to hear it.

Support you're right to an opinion - I will always jump into debate how we need to be better than worrying about peopel worrying about little old Adelaide Crows supporters. Good luck!

Riggy is a flog and has clearly backed away from his intellectual superiors when he realised he'd bitten off more than he could chew. still, i am a little annoyed i took his bait. I blame wine

Riggy amuses me and I don't think we are supposed to take him too seriously. His humour is often insightful though. And in this case i actually think there were a few pearls of wisdom to ponder over in what he said. Sure it was a tad antagonisc though. Be being proactive I am talking about how you react to that kind of treatment.. and choosing to act in a manner that changes the perceptions not panders to them.

But we are way off topic now... GO YOU CROWS.

Riggy amuses me and I don't think we are supposed to take him too seriously. His humour is often insightful though. And in this case i actually think there were a few pearls of wisdom to ponder over in what he said. Sure it was a tad antagonisc though. Be being proactive I am talking about how you react to that kind of treatment.. and choosing to act in a manner that changes the perceptions not panders to them.

But we are way off topic now... GO YOU CROWS.

not belittling the content of your other posts, but that bolded section is the best.

Effin pumped for tonight... even dusted off the old sportsbet account...

you guys are on the money, the young players from both the crows and port are often overlooked in favour of victorian players

i for one see a very bright future for your club and believe you have some of the best youngsters in the league.

of course dangerfield is a star, but i think your strength is in your talls, you dont just have quality but also a good spread of talls that can play at both ends.

no it doesn't. the media needs to serve its markets.

Provide me some numbers. Tv ratings aren't applicable as alot interstate viewers won't watch because of a lack of attention paid to non Victorian teams. Tell ya what, if you can provide detailed statistics about how many non Victorian residents would watch or read media relating to interstate teams with increased exposure, and those numbers are pi$$weak compared to current Victorian audiences, not including supporters living in states other than that of the team they support, then I'll concede I'm wrong.

Might be an idea to start a poll...

I'll get you started: I for one would pay more attention to national media if the interstate component of said media was sufficiently increased.

I honestly think if you looked at the percentages of RS nominees, in terms of states, there wouldn't be a Victorian bias(Proportionally). Three of the last four winners have come from non Victorian teams.

Media is different of course

I honestly think if you looked at the percentages of RS nominees, in terms of states, there wouldn't be a Victorian bias(Proportionally). Three of the last four winners have come from non Victorian teams.

Media is different of course

In terms of the award itself I'll admit I've been a little naive/narrowsighted. Not sure I care right now though haha

Provide me some numbers.

um... I don't need to provide evidence that a private organisation will act in its own best interests.

why would you think otherwise?

Tv ratings aren't applicable as alot interstate viewers won't watch because of a lack of attention paid to non Victorian teams. Tell ya what, if you can provide detailed statistics about how many non Victorian residents would watch or read media relating to interstate teams with increased exposure, and those numbers are pi$$weak compared to current Victorian audiences, not including supporters living in states other than that of the team they support, then I'll concede I'm wrong.

that's pie in the sky stuff, not a valid or reasonable standard. the fact of the matter is that TV ratings are applicable.

Might be an idea to start a poll...

or do some market research, experiment, trial different pilot schemes, review long standing data etc etc... you know, just like the er, media does :p

I'll get you started: I for one would pay more attention to national media if the interstate component of said media was sufficiently increased.

how would you know that's been increased, if you don't already watch?

um... I don't need to provide evidence that a private organisation will act in its own best interests. so you know the R&D that goes on in these corporations? tell me, why hasnt 20-1 been dragged? oh, wait, you dont. you just dodged a question.

why would you think otherwise?
If they are private then surely you don't have any in house evidence to suggest that they wouldn't do it if it were worthwhile. so to prove either point you do. i say that they should, you say that they shouldnt. i provide my opinion, you pretend you know what goes on in the research departments of major corporations.

that's pie in the sky stuff, not a valid or reasonable standard. the fact of the matter is that TV ratings are applicable. they ARE applicable, bravo, but youd be plucking one from somewhere south to say they wouldnt improve if a more nationalistic approach were taken. you are saying the ratings wont improve, im asking you to prove theyve tried.s

or do some market research, experiment, trial different pilot schemes, review long standing data etc etc... you know, just like the er, media does :p market research has never been wrong? telstra, onetel etc... they have market research department, yet the country hates them. before you get started, i worked for telstra, i know, but "conveniently" i cant provide evidence for fear of being sued for releasing such info... guess youll have to take my word for it. it may be a stretch, but youll have to try.

how would you know that's been increased, if you don't already watch?
your friends dont watch, listen or read to media? youve never seen advertising? theres a million different vessels of spreading information. you should try some to help you back up your outlandish statements

Will be hard to go past Rory after tonight's performance.

Played a ripper, he is going to very hard to stop with a bit more arm strength. Two clutch goals.

FFS, its 3am and ive just finished my piece of prose.

why cant people just accept that there are situations in life where baulking at statistics will not override a personal opinion? i have an opinion, you say im wrong, you point to statistics, but dont provide any.

oh well, at least you aint doing a riggy and cowering at the first sight of semi intelligent life forms.

im effing sick of it. im done. i refuse to repeat my stance again, and i refuse to reply to anyone regarding media. nobody wins, people.... thats how debates work. some are better at it than others, but at the end of the day theres still two sides to a story (at least).

opinions are exactly that. everyones entitled to them and in a ton of scenarios, there is no evidence to suggest a person is wrong.

everybody stfu and enjoy the win. dont ruin it with debate about media

FFS, its 3am and ive just finished my piece of prose.

why cant people just accept that there are situations in life where baulking at statistics will not override a personal opinion? i have an opinion, you say im wrong, you point to statistics, but dont provide any.

oh well, at least you aint doing a riggy and cowering at the first sight of semi intelligent life forms.

im effing sick of it. im done. i refuse to repeat my stance again, and i refuse to reply to anyone regarding media. nobody wins, people.... thats how debates work. some are better at it than others, but at the end of the day theres still two sides to a story (at least).

opinions are exactly that. everyones entitled to them and in a ton of scenarios, there is no evidence to suggest a person is wrong.

everybody stfu and enjoy the win. dont ruin it with debate about media

The difference is you've 'left' the debate unhappy with the situation. Most of us who've 'debated' against your points.. and really its against your unhappiness we are primarily debating... are still reasonably comfortable with why the situation is the way it is.

GO YOU ****ING CROWS. What a ripping win.