Cryptocurrency mega-thread

People are just saying to exercise caution.

It’s completely ridiculous if you just think crypto will be such a big money maker for infinity.

It’s the sort of logic many newcomers to the crypto world are coming in with and it’s scary that many are now thinking this way.

It doesn’t hurt at all to exercise caution.

That’s what’s scary to me. I’ve seen posts on different places with people happily stating they’ve put all their savings into crypto or taken out credit card loans to buy coins.

It’s just sheer stupidity.

Completely agree. There's so much hype around via all the social media channels now that people con themselves into believing that they are investing, when in truth all they are doing is gambling. What I find truly ridiculous now is the amount of videos on YouTube with headings like "Make 1 million dollars from cryptocurrency", or "best alt coins to make you rich in 2018". And the people that make those videos go on to prove they have absolutely no idea what they are talking about. And those videos then get hundreds of thousands of views. It's ridiculous. Will be fascinating to watch it all unfold.

Surely there has to come a time when it the cost of mining BTC is too great, and so people begin to stop doing it. As this happens the transaction time will grow, making it unappealing as a currency, and therefore the price begins to fall. Now if the price begins to fall this makes it even more unappealing to mine, which makes it a vicious cycle. If this happens BTC could collapse like a building being demolished.
There is a lot of discussion/argument about this between developers currently, and it's a key part as to why people think certain coins will be successful in the long term.

People are just saying to exercise caution.

It’s completely ridiculous if you just think crypto will be such a big money maker for infinity.

It’s the sort of logic many newcomers to the crypto world are coming in with and it’s scary that many are now thinking this way.

It doesn’t hurt at all to exercise caution.
where did i say its a money maker for infinity? Calm down man geez. All im saying is to not get impatient with the last 7 days of the market being down. Smoke a joint or something.

Don't have it at hand, but I liked the post on Twitter where a respected crypto person tweeted:
"Seriously guys, if you're not using 2FA it's an immediate unfollow", or something along those lines.
Then one of the first responses, not tongue-in-cheek, from a person with no picture attached to their profile:
"What's 2FA?? Is it the next XRP and what exchanges???"

cmon peeps. This correction only started 6 days ago. The December 21st correction took until Jan 2nd until the marketcap got back to its original point. Thats 12 days. The only annoying thing right now is i dont have any extra cash lying around to buy right now. QTUM and Ripple down 40% for the week... thats a hell of a discount. About the only move i could do right now is sell off some Neo and buy some of the above, but man Neo has been like a rock for me since i got it after Xmas. Doesnt get much love in youtube videos or even on here but its the one alt i wish i had more of.
Hold ya neo bro... neo is just as likely to have big gains as qtum and ripple..

NEO, would be surprised if it doesn’t have a big 2018.

And which coins do they think best tackle this issue?
I've done plenty of reading and truthfully a lot of it resembles reading either the main board or Bay 13. Developers really believe in what they are doing so promote and defend their own product akin to a footy supporter and the team they support. Then there are the guys (some might call them conspiracy theorists) that just continually post about how the real bitcoin idealogies have been lost and a lot of the coins are now actually centralised, rather than de-centralised which was the point of the whole thing in the first place. Bitcoin Cash now being the real Bitcoin has a lot of traction. And those that argue against that point are usually called shills and propagandists and sheeple. I am looking to and still need to learn a lot more, but there are very good arguments for and against every single one of the main coins. One thing that is very evident is that you won't want to be a bag holder of coins/tokens when that project fails.

There is a lot of discussion/argument about this between developers currently, and it's a key part as to why people think certain coins will be successful in the long term.

The best tech doesn't always win though. Sometimes, actually in a lot of cases, the most successful companies are the best imitators of the true innovators. All the great artists are thieves, as it's said. Luck also plays a big part, and connections, like with anything.

Investing in crypto (as an individual) requires multiple and not always 'aligned' skill-sets, I reckon.

Still interested to hear of these moon coins you speak of! :D

I got some OMG and SUB which I have made some money on but looking to move.

Looking at just putting it straight into NEO. At near its highest at the moment but legit company and will be huge in 2018 i think.

Or should i be looking to hold the SUB and OMG?
Why are you lookin to move those two?
Both pretty good coins...you could get better % gains on those than NEO.
I'm all for NEO, just curious as to why you want out of the other two.

Why are you lookin to move those two?
Both pretty good coins...you could get better % gains on those than NEO.
I'm all for NEO, just curious as to why you want out of the other two.

To be honest there is no other real reason apart from i want more NEO.

And these are the 2 that i would probably get rid of to get it.

I got on SUB at about .24c and OMG at $8 so i have made some good profit. Probably better off holding.

Could always sell my XVG.....

To be honest there is no other real reason apart from i want more NEO.

And these are the 2 that i would probably get rid of to get it.

I got on SUB at about .24c and OMG at $8 so i have made some good profit. Probably better off holding.

Could always sell my XVG.....
You have a mild case of fomo... of those you mentioned i would suggest getting rid of Verge as it's on some wobbly territory at present with support.
You make the call though mate...I'd hate for you to to trade out of Verge and then it moons!

You have a mild case of fomo... of those you mentioned i would suggest getting rid of Verge as it's on some wobbly territory at present with support.
You make the call though mate...I'd hate for you to to trade out of Verge and then it moons!

Haha same!

I got in at .07c with verge and should of told when it hit .30c. Very worrying signs to be honest however i like their idea and i think it actually has a big benefit over Monero etc.

But Monero is professional run and more importantly not being run by a former graffiti artist who trolls everyone on twitter.....true story

Haha same!

I got in at .07c with verge and should of told when it hit .30c. Very worrying signs to be honest however i like their idea and i think it actually has a big benefit over Monero etc.

But Monero is professional run and more importantly not being run by a former graffiti artist who trolls everyone on twitter.....true story
I've got Verge as well...although I got in at 0.006 so I've got a fair amount of patience to see how it goes.
It has good tech, but outside that it appears to be a bit of a mess.

I'm an ex-graff artist (still do it but not like I used too)...so I can't hold that against him.

Cryptocurrency mega-thread