D3 D3 2009

Round 4 Preview:

Uni High over Hawthorn by 16Pts (The much vaunted clash of early season strugglers has me scratching my head like many others. Even more so when I am leaning towards selecting the boys from Brens Oval. However, the home ground advantage coupled with Hawthorn's awful form thus far has me leaning towards the home side).
SFX over the Gryphons by 48Pts (This game looks a no brainer as Monash are up against a confident young side full of run and skill, and are an outfit who simply are not kicking scores anywhere near necessary to win games of football).
SMS over Powerhouse by 11Pts (Match of the round with two hard at it sides who are full of vigour. The game, like many at this level will be won in the midfield. I favour the Saints because they are the home side but would not be suprised if the Piranah's get the Chocolates).
Bentleigh over West Brunswick by 29Pts (The Demons can't afford to be complacent against the rejuvenated Magpies, but the simple fact remains Bentleigh's depth is uncomparable in this section and they are yet to lose).
Wicks over Joc's by 38Pts (Lock of the week. Yes I admit I gave Elsternwick no chance this season and a one/two scoreline portrays much the same. However, they really tested Bentleigh at home and look far to accomplished up forward for the Joc's).

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Round 4 review

Pretty much business as usaul, save for the Joc's who had an upset win over a lacklustre Wicks. It is true that Quasi is having trouble with the respective formlines of the previously mentioned clubs. 4/5 to make it 14/20 for the season.

Round 5 Preview

Bentleigh over The House by 35pts ( I expect a bold showing from the boys from Ross Gregory as Sosoc and Edwards are quality contributors, however, the depth of the Demons will be enough to see them home comfortabnly in the end. Coles to star for the home side)
Uni High over Wicks by 11Pts (As long as the Wicks continue to be inconsistent, i cannot have them. Only problem is I have to pick UHS-VU. No confidence in either team to win this).
SMS over West Bruns by 28pts (Danger game for SMS, but their relentless attack on the ball will be enough to get them the points. Darren Hill to continue his good form for the Saints).
SFX over Hawks by 78pts (Surely this one can only go one way. The Hawks are low on confidence and even lower in the skill department. Xavier Gargan to star for SFX).
Jocs over Monash by 38pts (The Gryphs couldn't fight their way out of a wet paper bag at present and can expect no favours from a young and revitalised St Johns unit)

Good luck to all

Quasi

If you are so frustrated and have that much genuine concern why bring it up on this froum...when attending one of your many games why not go up to him introduce yourself and ask him....
You ask would he have won the B&F last year? From my recollection he played in about 4 or 5 different positions every game...so the answer would be "yes". I would imagine every onballer would play a couple of different roles during each game...
His name is Mark by the way....
This is to anyone who responded. As I said, just a question. Only a little one and out of interest.Correct, sorry, I meant Mark had to look and see what name I wrote.. As to why ask on this forum, why not. Sometimes you just can't find the answer for looking or asking especially within a club. Answers can be bias soooo, or come with the answer why not, that's why on this forum. I thought about the playing anywhere, sometimes people are just more suited to certain playing positions and in reality you can't argue with that. I believe he took himself out to other positions in a running game but I believe center was his position most of the time. I would like him to play as he was good and hard at the ball. Question was partially answered but not really. Thank you to all who responded.

On behalf of those who responded:

Rubbish mate, it seems like you've got a hidden agenda here. You obviously don't like the current coach at Hawthorn & have a problem with him (which you'll strongly deny in your next post).

So instead of hiding behind a username on a public forum, approach him face to face & relay to him what you have on your mind. Or next year put your hand up to coach the side yourself.

Didn't realise so many people came to watch us play!!!

On behalf of those who responded:

Rubbish mate, it seems like you've got a hidden agenda here. You obviously don't like the current coach at Hawthorn & have a problem with him (which you'll strongly deny in your next post).

So instead of hiding behind a username on a public forum, approach him face to face & relay to him what you have on your mind. Or next year put your hand up to coach the side yourself.

:thumbsu::thumbsdown::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsdown::thumbsu::thumbsu::cool:

Bentleigh over Powerhouse by 88 points - Demons might go 18-0 this season.

Elsterwick over Uni High by 33 points - Zoo boys could be back in D4 next season.

St Marys Salesian over West Brunswick by 99 points - The combine are coming good.

St Francis Xavier by 74 points over Hawthorn - Hawks might go 0-18 this season.

St Johns over Monash Gryphons by 78 points - Monash struggling big time at the moment.

As you can see from my tips it is going to be a round of big margins.

That made no sense at all....
Here's a tip, the best way to find the answers you are looking for, is to ask someone who might be in the best position to answer them....ie: the coach....

The Bentleigh player tried to block #2 run at one of your players, pity he was not man enough to put on a real sheppard. Hate to see what happens if a man of any decent size runs into him, he cried like a girl.

Do you own a guide dog or were you just at a different game to the rest of us?:confused:

Bentleigh over Powerhouse by 88 points - Demons might go 18-0 this season.

Elsterwick over Uni High by 33 points - Zoo boys could be back in D4 next season.

St Marys Salesian over West Brunswick by 99 points - The combine are coming good.

St Francis Xavier by 74 points over Hawthorn - Hawks might go 0-18 this season.

St Johns over Monash Gryphons by 78 points - Monash struggling big time at the moment.

As you can see from my tips it is going to be a round of big margins.

So much for the 18-0 - no chance now. House over Bentleigh by 21 points

Good hitout against the Hawks today, can't for the life of me figure out how they haven't won a game yet. Gunna stick my neck out and declare they won't be relegated this year, good running side with plenty of blokes who can take a grab.Will certainly get their act together soon.

Saw the second half of the UHS v Wick game today. Not a contest for the light hearted! Very willing game but I've seen better footy at a Moorabbin Saints Junior Football League game to be honest. Pretty sad park footy! Both sides will not trouble the top sides on todays performance IMO.
From what I saw of SMS v WB, the combine have a good unit running at present.

Now let me see, did I pick the 'House? Gosh, I hope so. Boy, they are tough.

The Special Effects have beaten the Hawks. Thought so.

The Joccas beat the Gryphs, just. Hmmm.

Goning on last weeks call about #44 from Bentleigh, anyone worried about him probably shouldn't be playing football.. a bit hard to know if he ran anywhere near it from what I saw.

Interesting comments by the Bentleigh Ass. Coach after the game in the clubrooms. He must have been a good footballer in his day....

You kidding me.
The contest was at least 20 metres away #2 ran past and hit him. Coward.

Kellaway was ok, nothing special, Bentleigh certainly don't need him or any other ring-in. Played across backline, got some cheap kicks, always seemed to pick up the small forwards. He did take a pretty good mark over I guess one of the smaller blocks on the ground.
Was interesting the different names players were calling him, obviously the old fella hasn't been around training much.

Pretty good game, did not think score really reflected game.

One unsaviour incident involving a Bentleigh player #44, shame shame shame, you will get what is coming to you.
He has trained a decent amount.
It's probably more the fact that he's an already known face, so it's not like any new bloke who rocks up. Any normal person you'd ask "What's ya name mate? Got a nickname?" but with AK we already know his name so people are just calling him whatever they can say easiest when calling out in the heat of the moment.

Well done to Power House knocking us off yesterday, kicked straight and probably used the wind better than our boys did. Kellaway would've been a handy player but was a late withdrawl on the day. Would've been good to see how he went in the close contest after his only game was in an easy win.
Well done to StFX as well who remain undefeated!!

Good hitout against the Hawks today, can't for the life of me figure out how they haven't won a game yet. Gunna stick my neck out and declare they won't be relegated this year, good running side with plenty of blokes who can take a grab.Will certainly get their act together soon.

Great game on the weekend against SFX. They are the best team I have seen at this level and have certainly raised the bar in D3. Would like to thank them on behalf of the Hawks for their hospitality after a very tough and hard fought game - the meal they put on for us was fantastic.
Lastly, the boat race between the two sides was one of the funniest things I have seen in a long time.
We look forward to the rematch when you venture out to Rathmines later in the year (both the footy and the boat race!).

Great game on the weekend against SFX. They are the best team I have seen at this level and have certainly raised the bar in D3. Would like to thank them on behalf of the Hawks for their hospitality after a very tough and hard fought game - the meal they put on for us was fantastic.
Lastly, the boat race between the two sides was one of the funniest things I have seen in a long time.
We look forward to the rematch when you venture out to Rathmines later in the year (both the footy and the boat race!).

Thanks for the wrap get a kick. Though, I am at a loss to how you blokes have not won a game this year??? There is no way in the world that the Hawthorn AFC is a 0-5 side. Really pushed us on the weekend. Some really good quality players in your side, very impressed with number 11, solid as a rock down back or even across the half back line.

I'll stick my neck out and say that The hawkers will make a late charge for the D3 finals this year!!!!

Goning on last weeks call about #44 from Bentleigh, anyone worried about him probably shouldn't be playing football.. a bit hard to know if he ran anywhere near it from what I saw.

Interesting comments by the Bentleigh Ass. Coach after the game in the clubrooms. He must have been a good footballer in his day....

Pretty much starts at the top at bentleigh....what a bunch of ....... (sorry couldnt put that word in). For the assistant coach to come out after the game and say that his team was disgraceful and the senior coach was outside about to 'top' himself... i think all the early season talk has gone to their head....have a bit of respect for the opposition. What a pathetic thing to say - you got beaten by a harder and more committed team on the day.

And to the Bentleigh ruckman in the last quarter who decided to not contest the ruck but instead not look at the ball and put the knees in..... one of the weakest acts i've seen on a footy field for a long time. Hope your happy putting a bloke in an ambulance and ending up having emergency surgery.....coward!!

For all other teams....bentleigh are a bunch of front runners if i've ever seen..Watch your backs if you are beating them!!

Pretty much starts at the top at bentleigh....what a bunch of ....... (sorry couldnt put that word in). For the assistant coach to come out after the game and say that his team was disgraceful and the senior coach was outside about to 'top' himself... i think all the early season talk has gone to their head....have a bit of respect for the opposition. What a pathetic thing to say - you got beaten by a harder and more committed team on the day.

And to the Bentleigh ruckman in the last quarter who decided to not contest the ruck but instead not look at the ball and put the knees in..... one of the weakest acts i've seen on a footy field for a long time. Hope your happy putting a bloke in an ambulance and ending up having emergency surgery.....coward!!

For all other teams....bentleigh are a bunch of front runners if i've ever seen..Watch your backs if you are beating them!!

That was actually pointed out in no uncertain terms during the post match speech by the assistant coach. The older guy is the President.

Shame you only hear what you want to hear.

So what are you saying here FootyFan??? Are you saying that Bentleigh are very sore losers and if its not going there way, they then try and inflict pain on unsuspecting players???

Was the ruckman reported?? Or did the umpires turn a blind eye????

So what are you saying here FootyFan??? Are you saying that Bentleigh are very sore losers and if its not going there way, they then try and inflict pain on unsuspecting players???

i think you'll find that it was just a ruck contest where one ruckman jumped higher that the other. Nothing in it to warrant anything further. Its bad luck that the player got injured, and i'm sure everybody at Bentleigh wishes him a speedy recovery.

Re; FootyFan27's comments above. The assistant coach directed comments at his team that were along the lines of Bentleigh being disgraceful, but in the very same breath also credited the Powerhouse team on a great performance.

Please try not to be so selective when recounting events. It just makes you look like a fool.

Another inaccurate recount of events. Let me paint the picture a little better for you, and maybe re-jog your apparent short memory.

The ball was kicked towards a 2 on 1 contest in West Brunswicks favour. #2 and #15 (unsure if it was 15) were the two players. As the ball was maybe 15 metres away, #2 punched the Bentleigh player in the thyroid. As you know, when a man is hit here, it is near on impossible to breath. Want me to punch you there and see what noises your body starts to make?

I would love to see you run head on with this Bentleigh player in question. Unless you are a brick wall i'd expect him to steamroll over you. But hey, you just hide on BigFooty under a pseudonym while throwing incorrect cheap shots at people who just want to play a fair fair game of amateur football.

There's no need for you to reply to this, because anything you do say has already been proven to be wrong.

Well, well. Bentleigh have a player sitting on the sidelines for a couple of weeks for striking an opponent! It was to the back of the head, not the jaw as the umpire reported. It happened when Elsternwick were 7 points down in the last Qtr. Bentleigh replaced that player. Elsternwick had one of the Mahoney boys reported soon after and not replaced. Playing 1 man down for the rest of the qtr. might have something to do with the result. (James Robertson excluded)
Do the crime, do the time. That said, Power House are double hard and play above their status in the VAFA comp. If ya can't stand the heat, get out of the kitchen. Any more rhetorical quotes and my post will self destruct. G'day Nikko!

The only blind ump was the house's goal umpire in the magoos!