78hearts

Rookie
There is no doubt this is the most credentialled bloke out there that we need to take up the charge at our footy club.

2x flags as a player with different clubs, has assisted the current premier coach of the AFL at Hawthorn. Young (like Clarkson is), but also experienced about what it takes to build and coach a premiership side.

Apparently didnt get the Essendon job because he wasnt going to treat anyone with kid gloves, he wanted everyone to get the same treatment, from the best player to the rookies. He wanted entire list control, a massive clean out and start again. Ess went with Knights cos he fed them rubbish about the current crop could make finals under him, which they somehow believed.

I regard the talk of Malthouses, Sheedys and Pagans as laughable when a bloke like this is waiting in the wings to be a Senior AFL coach. But hey, its Richmond, nothing would suprise any more...

Agree 100%

I want a younger generation coach that creates new plays as opposed to negating the new plays other coaches create. I really rate Clarkson as a coach and by simply working under Choco Williams and then Clarkson, I rate him too.

Hardwick will take no $hit and would have no hesitation in dropping players like Brown, Johnson etc etc.

He would also create hardness....I could not imagine him accepting that we lay the least tackles in the whole league.

Agree 100%

I want a younger generation coach that creates new plays as opposed to negating the new plays other coaches create. I really rate Clarkson as a coach and by simply working under Choco Williams and then Clarkson, I rate him too.

Hardwick will take no $hit and would have no hesitation in dropping players like Brown, Johnson etc etc.

He would also create hardness....I could not imagine him accepting that we lay the least tackles in the whole league.

He MAY even instill some MONGREL into the team, which we do not have an abundance of ......:thumbsu:

I would be comfortable with Hardwick as coach and yes he had some real mongrel about him. Very similar to D King who has been an assistant coach with us for 4+ years. The problem is that you can't teach a player to be a mongrel...you either have it in you or you don't. I've played with some of the most talented players who could kick 60m, take speccies all day long but just didn't like the hard stuff. You can teach a player to tackle hard etc... but I don't believe you can teach them to be a mongrel. I do think every good team needs a couple of these types of players though to put the shits up the opposition.

There is no doubt this is the most credentialled bloke out there that we need to take up the charge at our footy club.

2x flags as a player with different clubs, has assisted the current premier coach of the AFL at Hawthorn. Young (like Clarkson is), but also experienced about what it takes to build and coach a premiership side.

Apparently didnt get the Essendon job because he wasnt going to treat anyone with kid gloves, he wanted everyone to get the same treatment, from the best player to the rookies. He wanted entire list control, a massive clean out and start again. Ess went with Knights cos he fed them rubbish about the current crop could make finals under him, which they somehow believed.

I regard the talk of Malthouses, Sheedys and Pagans as laughable when a bloke like this is waiting in the wings to be a Senior AFL coach. But hey, its Richmond, nothing would suprise any more...

I have heard a few rumours as to why he didn't get the Bumbers job from the above to problems with his laptop to being too confident & forcefull.

If any of these rumours have an ounce of truth then his value to us has just gone up in my book :thumbsu:

dare i say, he wanted a 5 year plan just like wallace, thinking the bombers were so desperate they would blindly sign over the club to him..

And that will never happen will it:rolleyes:

Still a long way to go in 09:eek:

Knights is actually doing better with the older brigade out injured, the young blokes ran us off our feet a couple of weeks ago. Maybe Hardwick was right about getting rid of the old and giving the youth a chance. :thumbsu:

Knighter might have though the same way but waited till his foot was in the door and implemented it anyway:confused:.

Yes .. it doesn't help your presentation to a club board when its on a laptop another club owns and wont let you access it.

What’s wrong with that:confused:

Hardwick made his first big mistake by assuming he could take Hawthorns property, with game plans, structures etc, into an Essendon meeting. If he had half a brain he would have transferred his PowerPoint onto his own personal laptop in time. Guess he just didn’t think about that until it was too late. And after he did, he couldn’t get it up and running properly... And the rest is history…. Knighter is the next Tiger to take Essendon into more successful times.

Totally flawed logic.

You say that he is the best credentialled out of all the coaches out there then you dismiss coaches with FAR BETTER credentials out of hand.

So it comes down to youth and no senior coaching experience being worth way more than age and impeccable coaching credentials. I find it extremely difficult to believe that sole distinction makes him 'clearly the best credentialed'.

Mark Harvey had as good a record as Hardwick and look what happened - he is the Spud mark 2.

Too many people are barring up over Hardwick because of this ridiculous notion that he is a 'hard man'. If that's what it takes lets install Glenn Archer or Duncan Kellaway as coach and be done with it.

Totally flawed logic.

You say that he is the best credentialled out of all the coaches out there then you dismiss coaches with FAR BETTER credentials out of hand.

So it comes down to youth and no senior coaching experience being worth way more than age and impeccable coaching credentials. I find it extremely difficult to believe that sole distinction makes him 'clearly the best credentialed'.

Mark Harvey had as good a record as Hardwick and look what happened - he is the Spud mark 2.

Too many people are barring up over Hardwick because of this ridiculous notion that he is a 'hard man'. If that's what it takes lets install Glenn Archer or Duncan Kellaway as coach and be done with it.

Mark Harveys record in no way compares with Hardwick. Yes he played in multiple premierships with Essenson and was an assistant at Essendon in their 2000 premiership. But each and every one of those was at Essendon and under the same coach.
Hardwick on the other hand has played under and been successful under Sheedy but has also assisted Mark Williams and Alistair Clarkson in premiership years. Thats 3 different coaches, 3 different clubs and 3 seperate premiership experiences. How in anyway is Harveys record and resume anywhere near as good as that?

Bring on Damein Harwick.
Fantastic player for the bombers and power, now we need him at Richmond as a coach.
It doesn't matter if Richmond signed him up for five years. We will get good coaching out of him.
We need hardness. He is the right man for the job.

Are there more than one of each of these men?

I just really hope to god we dont get any of our current assistants to take on the job in 2010!, Campbell is only rated because he played for Richmond, That is 75% of the reason NOT to hire him!!!

I think its very hard to rate a coach who has never actually been a senior AFL coach, but they have to start somewhere i guess! We tried Wallace, it didnt work... maybe now we try a rookie? but if we do,i honestly hope it is a man who has been apart of some succesful teams.

If they get Rawlings,King,Cambo or Royal. I am going to scream my lungs out!

How in anyway is Harveys record and resume anywhere near as good as that?

Well for starters, Mark Harvey actually is a senior coach. Hardwick isn't.

That's what gets to me, experience (not to mention proven success in the top job) is given no value by the pro-Hardwick crowd.

You'd think that Hardwick is the most decorated coach in waiting ever by the way everyone is carrying on.

Yet history has showed that some gun coaches have little pedigree, and some coaches with a great pedigree end up complete duds. In addition, coaches that have coached multiple, recent, premierships are being written off as legitimate candidates for dubious, illogical, not well thought out reasons.

I'd rather we get someone with a track record at the top level and surround him with the best names we can poach. Groom one of them to take over 2 years from now when we really know if they are any good, not because they have this reputation of being a 'hard man'. What a load of old crock.

Well for starters, Mark Harvey actually is a senior coach. Hardwick isn't.

That's what gets to me, experience (not to mention proven success in the top job) is given no value by the pro-Hardwick crowd.

You'd think that Hardwick is the most decorated coach in waiting ever by the way everyone is carrying on.

Yet history has showed that some gun coaches have little pedigree, and some coaches with a great pedigree end up complete duds. In addition, coaches that have coached multiple, recent, premierships are being written off as legitimate candidates for dubious, illogical, not well thought out reasons.

I'd rather we get someone with a track record at the top level and surround him with the best names we can poach. Groom one of them to take over 2 years from now when we really know if they are any good, not because they have this reputation of being a 'hard man'. What a load of old crock.

I wouldn't have thought you would bring Harveys senior coaching career into this debate, it hardly adds depth or strength to your argument as we all no that he has had limited success at Freo.
Whether it is by coincidence or not, Hardwick has been involved with successful clubs and successful cultures for most of his career.
Hardwick is not the be all and end all but he and Buckley and Mkenna in my opinion are the types we should be looking for.

If Hardwick gets the Tigers gig, the biggest ever broom will be swept over our list. Surely about a third of our list would be recycled over the first 2 or so years.

Perhaps Campbell may trump Hardwick by stating that he thinks he can take the current list to a premiership.

I wouldn't have thought you would bring Harveys senior coaching career into this debate, it hardly adds depth or strength to your argument as we all no that he has had limited success at Freo.
Whether it is by coincidence or not, Hardwick has been involved with successful clubs and successful cultures for most of his career.
Hardwick is not the be all and end all but he and Buckley and Mkenna in my opinion are the types we should be looking for.

Look I don't want to flog a dead horse, but all I am saying is someone that had huge wraps on them as an assistant ended up being a dud.

If Hardwick gets the Tigers gig, the biggest ever broom will be swept over our list. Surely about a third of our list would be recycled over the first 2 or so years.

Perhaps Campbell may trump Hardwick by stating that he thinks he can take the current list to a premiership.
isnt that the same what wallace did in his 5 years?

G'day all, first time post, but long time reader of BF. Why not give Hardwick a 3 year contract with an option for extension which is performance based. It seems everyone is a little gun shy of giving a new coach a 5 year plan, which is fair enough.

As much as we have been bagged in the media, the last 2 coaches were both given 5 years and both saw into the 5th year before contracts were terminated/not renewed due to their performance. So the new coach should have some confidence they will at least see through to the last year of the contract.

Let's get fair dinkum none of us have a f****** clue.
What makes someone the best credentialed in our eyes?
They can be involved with as many successful teams as they like,be as good or tough a player as there ever was(irrelevant).
They can have all the support of talk back callers or forum posters in the world,but really we have no idea.
Only those who put the candidates through the ringer have any insight....and even then they don't really know if they can coach a team well.
If the Club pull Jack the blind miner off the street because they reckon he will be the best coach then I'm happy with that.

Let's get fair dinkum none of us have a f****** clue.
What makes someone the best credentialed in our eyes?
They can be involved with as many successful teams as they like,be as good or tough a player as there ever was(irrelevant).
They can have all the support of talk back callers or forum posters in the world,but really we have no idea.
Only those who put the candidates through the ringer have any insight....and even then they don't really know if they can coach a team well.
If the Club pull Jack the blind miner off the street because they reckon he will be the best coach then I'm happy with that.

Who's he? Crikey every day a new name is thrown up:(

but yeah you are right:thumbsu: the only ones who will ever know who the best candidates are are the selection committee. They get to see the applicants submissions, examine the physic evaluations, listen to philosophy's and game plans.

We get to speculate though:D

A couple of good calls here in hindsight.

The alternate universe in which Dimma's laptop functioned perfectly in the Essendon meeting is a frightful one.