Dan Gilmore

• Thread starter Thread starter fraser25

Is he playing or not??

Anyone know?

Well there's a big article in today's West Coast Australian blowing smoke up his butt, so maybe.

Is this a dreamteam question? I think it might be.

We have two fit and healthy ruckmen. He'll definitely play in the ruck when the other two are tired and rest in the back pocket or on the bench in the meantime and he usually comes on with 2 mins left in each quarter, but he probably won't get a possession.

Edit: Actually I know a friend of a friend of a friend who knows Mark Harvey. He's named as the starting ruck.

lol cant fool me mate.

keep talking him down.

geez lockout is at 4:10 your time, looks like i might not get my answer

lol cant fool me mate.

keep talking him down.

geez lockout is at 4:10 your time, looks like i might not get my answer

Darn. Serious question though...aren't teams names at 5PM EST? Which would be 3 WST? I think maybe some sort of rift in the time space continuum may be hitting Perth this arvo.

Does anyone actually call him Dan Gilmore? I always thought he was a Daniel.

A bit like Matthew Lloyd is always Matthew Lloyd, and never Mat Lloyd.

Unless, of course, we have a new recruit down at the club. Some sort of bionic man-like creation using the heart and skill of Dan Parker, merged with the footy smarts and generous tackling ability of Daniel Gilmore. Now that player would be a shoe-in for the Brownlow...

Why would there be any doubt that Gilly will play?
He was one of our most valuable players last seasonand will continue in the same vein this year.
With him being in the side it will allow the Two Towers to take turns in resting in the forward line stretching the Pies defence.

Why would there be any doubt that Gilly will play?
He was one of our most valuable players last seasonand will continue in the same vein this year.
With him being in the side it will allow the Two Towers to take turns in resting in the forward line stretching the Pies defence.

I agree with you 100% on Gilmore. Unfortunately we are in the minority on this forum - many still hold him to his early career form.

I think another reason most dont think he should play is he isnt exactly a ruckman,isnt exactly a midfielder, defender, or even a forward so in any position he pkays hes not the #1 or 2 pick to play there.

But that is why i like the guy an think he needs to be in the team every week.
Starting on the bench (hes 4 players in 1) If our rucks arent performing you throw him in there, if midfielders arent performing u throw him in there etc etc
Awesome utility player why put a specialist midfielder or defender on bench when u can get someone who can do everything.

Problem is jacks of all trades are usually masters of none.

*(I made that up all by myself)

**(Except Pav - but it's unfair to compare mere mortals to Pav)

I'd still like to see us try turn Gilmore into a proper dashing midfielder. He has no problem getting clearances whenever he's in the middle, but we only ever really seem to use him in there as a pinch hitting ruckman.