Dane Swan

Boomer would play wherever the money led him to, even if Humphrey B Bear was coach.

Well, yes, if we were the only club who offered, he probably would.

But that won't be the case.

And honestly, Rodney, playing solely for money?

I loathe Norf to the point where I'd like to see WanKing Carey have to speak every word he uttered for the rest of his life come with the loudly spoken disclaimer that he is the epitome of a miserable, arrogant, flawed human being, and David King offered up as an example to juniors about how to not be the biggest flog on earth on a football field, but I can't stretch myself to say that Boomer isn't playing on mostly for reasons which have nothing to do with money.

Those things being the things we admire in opposition footballers.

Well, yes, if we were the only club who offered, he probably would.

But that won't be the case.

And honestly, Rodney, playing solely for money?

I loathe Norf to the point where I'd like to see WanKing Carey have to speak every word he uttered for the rest of his life come with the loudly spoken disclaimer that he is the epitome of a miserable, arrogant, flawed human being, and David King offered up as an example to juniors about how to not be the biggest flog on earth on a football field, but I can't stretch myself to say that Boomer isn't playing on mostly for reasons which have nothing to do with money.

Those things being the things we admire in opposition footballers.
He's been a great player Boomer but money drives him and is the reason he won't be playing at Norf next year.
They called his bluff.

I'd take him. Everything I have heard from him is common s3nse. Skiĺs coach mentor what ever role, he could be very good. An escape from robotic norml anyways. Tak a chance. Take a ****ing chance.

He's been a great player Boomer but money drives him and is the reason he won't be playing at Norf next year.
They called his bluff.

And next year they'll be also-rans again, except with even less heritage or culture to fall back on.

Called his bluff - by cutting off their nose to spite their face.

I think he had every right to ask for compensation 80% in line with his not diminishing output.

Norf probably felt 50-60% was better, so they could overpay all their other past and future dumb trades and pretend they're still in the hunt. They're bluffing their supporters and I wouldn't doubt there's a lot of them furious about the decision.

If Richo was still in such fine nick at 38, would he deserve to be 'bluffed' by our club for asking 80% worth of his output for the past year?

And next year they'll be also-rans again, except with even less heritage or culture to fall back on.

Called his bluff - by cutting off their nose to spite their face.

I think he had every right to ask for compensation 80% in line with his not diminishing output.

Norf probably felt 50-60% was better, so they could overpay all their other past and future dumb trades and pretend they're still in the hunt. They're bluffing their supporters and I wouldn't doubt there's a lot of them furious about the decision.

If Richo was still in such fine nick at 38, would he deserve to be 'bluffed' by our club for asking 80% worth of his output for the past year?
I'm not saying norf did the right thing. He's still one of their best players hands down.
Just saying that he stood firm on his price and got the shock of his life. There was a very big gap between what he wanted and they offered.
Was a disrespectful offer but also an unrealistic expectation on his behalf.

Boomer would play wherever the money led him to, even if Humphrey B Bear was coach.

I heard he was only on 200 plus match payments surely that can't be right

FWIW I reckon this one club player sentiment is rubbish too.
Players are entitled to make what they can and its incumbent on clubs to assemble their best list possible regardless of age and history.
It's time we moved in step with other sports.
It's all fairy tale rubbish.

I'm not saying norf did the right thing. He's still one of their best players hands down.
Just saying that he stood firm on his price and got the shock of his life. There was a very big gap between what he wanted and they offered.
Was s disrespectful offer but also an unrealistic expectation on his behalf.

I think we all underestimate the level of respect contracts confer amongst a playing group.

As far as I'm concerned, the day a dozen from Norf's massive puddle of blah footballers legitimately knocks him off the value of his contract, that's the day he deserves to get paid less.

Teasing players at the end of their career to go to the club or to stay on, watching them play well compared to all the other dumb decisions you made, then screwing them over on the next contract because of age despite their amazing output, well it's all just a bit too Norf for me to endorse.

The fact that they couldn't meet half way speaks volumes about both parties, I suspect.

Swanny was keen to give it all the ass when he finished playing, he made that clear again at the end of his final interview.

The guy will never give less than 100% and has given it away because he knows he will never again be able to play to a level which satisfies his own high standards.

If he wanted to get into coaching or club management it would certainly be with Collingwood.

He might come down for a few beers and even watch a few of our games because Dusty is a good mate but don't expect anything beyond that.

Part of me is excited by what a fit Swan could give us but another part thinks it would be a slap in the face to the club he does love in Collingwood. Unlike boomer who should go to another club,win himself a premiership and maybe even a brownlow, Swanny either plays for Collingwood or nobody.