Dolemite

Adelaide Crows
Do you think he would be worth getting involving Watts. The dude is huge and has shown a bit. Thoughts?

I would like to see Daniel Merret as a focal point up forward for the Crows, but as Watts wants to go back to Victoria, it is highly unlikely given that Merret is at Brisbane... unless a three way club deal can be brokered.

I very much doubt it, Brisbane see Merrett as a player of the future and unless a three-way-deal can be struck I doubt it.

Besides we have a bloke called Chad Gibson coming up who is actually quite similar to Merrett. :)

Fergus and Pick 16 to Carlton
Adam Hartlett and Pick 4 to Adelaide

I like this idea better :)

We get SA key forward in return and pick 4 which gives us a chance to pick up bunga hurn :D

Besides we already have a similar player to Merrett (and possibly a hell of a lot more aggresive) in Chad Gibson who we MUST develop into a key forward.

Stiffy_18 said:

We get SA key forward in return and pick 4 which gives us a chance to pick up bunga hurn :D

Besides we already have a similar player to Merrett (and possibly a hell of a lot more aggresive) in Chad Gibson who we MUST develop into a key forward.

Isn't Gibson along way off? I love his physical presence but does he have the footy smarts. I hope and pray that he can develop into a powerful forward. Does anyone know if he has played KP before or just ruck and resting forward? I mean if he hasn't then it does take time to learn.

Stiffy_18 said:

Yum yum, but I just can't see it...Pick 16 in this draft isn't too much. Plus we get pick 4 (which is a ripper) and a promising SA KPP. I reckon Blues get a little ripped off, but only just.

Here's another one...

Watts + 2nd rounder (32 or 33)
for
Didak + 2nd rounder (21)

Didak a fast, skillful midfielder who was born in 83 and is from SA.

Or do we get screwed in that one??? :o

Bockchoy67 said:
Yum yum, but I just can't see it...Pick 16 in this draft isn't too much. Plus we get pick 4 (which is a ripper) and a promising SA KPP. I reckon Blues get a little ripped off, but only just.

Here's another one...

for
Didak + 2nd rounder (21)

He wouldn’t go to Port Power why would he come back to the crows. Lets be real

Dolemite said:
Isn't Gibson along way off? I love his physical presence but does he have the footy smarts. I hope and pray that he can develop into a powerful forward. Does anyone know if he has played KP before or just ruck and resting forward? I mean if he hasn't then it does take time to learn.
Gibson played all over the place this year and probably played his best footy in the ruck and in key defensive positions.

If you stick him up in the forward line as a FF, he doesn't have to be footy smart. Just lead in the right spots and crash into packs like he normally does :D.

He is a project player thought and I suspect he is another couple of years away from AFL footy. I am happy to wait as long as he develops into a quality AFL player either as a defender or as a forward. If he develops into a good key defender then we can play Rutten forward and give Gibson the FB position.

Stiffy_18 said:

If some how the AFC can pull of this deal then it’s a yes all the way.

Watts and pick 16 for Carlton’s pick 4 would be appealing but to also add Adam Hartlett would be a win.

Stiffy_18 have you heard something in the pipelines about this deal or is just a wish you are hoping like hell could come true>? :thumbsu: if so

Bockchoy67 said:

Here's another one...

for
Didak + 2nd rounder (21)

Carlton get slightly dudded :D

I don't think Collingwood would do that deal involving Didak. IMHO, Didak has been a major disappointment with Collingwood. He was an absolute gun youngster who was exceptional midfielder. For some reason Colligwood are not giving him much of a run in the guts.

I wouldn't mind getting Didak but I don't think Magpies woudl do it and I am not in favour of trading KPP for a small forward/midfielder.

crows98 said:
If some how the AFC can pull of this deal then it’s a yes all the way.

Watts and pick 16 for Carlton’s pick 4 would be appealing but to also add Adam Hartlett would be a win.

Stiffy_18 have you heard something in the pipelines about this deal or is just a wish you are hoping like hell could come true>? :thumbsu: if so
I wish like hell this would come true :D

Without having a crack at people – why does everyone on this board always fall back to the “be a great defender” tag

Just cause a guy plays well in defence early on doesn’t mean he can’t be a forward – look at McGregor and Hentschel – learning how to be a good forward in the AFL is a lot harder than a good defender – being a GREAT defender IMO is as hard as being a GREAT forward.

Stiffy_18 said:

im sure we can trade for a better pick than pick 16...somehow...maybe chris ladhams mite just eventuate into gold over the next week.

Henry White said:
im sure we can trade for a better pick than pick 16...somehow...maybe chris ladhams mite just eventuate into gold over the next week.
Chris Ladhams signed a 2 year deal with North Adelaide and he refuses to be traded by Adelaide.

we already have pick 16. We trade pick 16 and Watts to carlton for Pick 4 and Adam Hartlett. Thats unlikely to happen though considering Carlton is already in Fergus ear about going into the PSD.

Stiffy_18 said:
Chris Ladhams signed a 2 year deal with North Adelaide and he refuses to be traded by Adelaide.

we already have pick 16. We trade pick 16 and Watts to carlton for Pick 4 and Adam Hartlett. Thats unlikely to happen though considering Carlton is already in Fergus ear about going into the PSD.

oh stiff, you were the one saying yesterday that we had pick 17, not 16. but yes i was implying that we already had 16, but could include it in a package (jokingly chris ladhams) to improve pic 16 to say...pick 10, to hopefully get hartlett and hurn to the crows. if we keep pick 16, then i hope we use it on varcoe. love him.

Stiffy_18 said:

The Adam Harlett profile -
http://carltonfc.com.au/default.asp?pg=players&spg=playerprofile&personid=352293

Sounds like a good prospect. How has he performed this year?

Jerome said:
The Adam Harlett profile -
http://carltonfc.com.au/default.asp?pg=players&spg=playerprofile&personid=352293

Sounds like a good prospect. How has he performed this year?
Apparently he has been reasonably good in the VFL and was in line for selection before inuring his knee. Apparently he played at CHB for the Blues VFL side.

As I said, I very much doubt that sort of trade would happen but I reckon its the sort of trade that we should try and pull off. At least we get back a reasonable KPP prospect (albeit less talented than Fergus) and improve our first round draft pick.

if gibson isnt the type, then we need to get a meritt type FF imo, but unless it was for nothing (3rd rounder ish) you wouldnt trade watts for him. Was interesting that james came out and said what he wanted for Ferg today, considering clubs always aim higher than what they know they will get i am even less confident that we will get good value for ferg.

Just for the uninformed - Merrett is going to be a GUN

We have as much chance of getting him as I have of playing for the Crows next year (although Iam available :D )

Stiffy_18 said:
Apparently he has been reasonably good in the VFL and was in line for selection before inuring his knee. Apparently he played at CHB for the Blues VFL side.

As I said, I very much doubt that sort of trade would happen but I reckon its the sort of trade that we should try and pull off. At least we get back a reasonable KPP prospect (albeit less talented than Fergus) and improve our first round draft pick.
Hartlett - good average player nothing more

We overlooked him in 2 drafts - why all of a sudden would we chase his in a trade - crazy stuff :confused:

Wayne's-World said:
Just for the uninformed - Merrett is going to be a GUN

We have as much chance of getting him as I have of playing for the Crows next year (although Iam available :D )

he wont be a gun you twit, just a big focal point which is what we need. From a footballing point of view he has a long way to go. Very much a project player.

A gift from above said:
he wont be a gun you twit, just a big focal point which is what we need. From a footballing point of view he has a long way to go. Very much a project player.
:p :p :p when did you see him play - good judge of horse flesh you are

by the way he has a ruckmans staure, is one of the quickest on Brisbanes list, has a leap and a vice like grip - project player you say - I think not!!!