🧿 🇬🇷 "Goddess" 🇬🇷 🧿
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,23400291-661,00.html

BRENDAN Fevola's first AFL coach, David Parkin, said Carlton would never win a premiership with the troubled forward in its team.

Parkin said Fevola, who was yesterday fined $10,000 and dropped from the leadership group for urinating on a bar window at 4am on Saturday, was a "flawed genius" who had an "incapacity to learn" from his bad behaviour.

Parkin said he took some of the blame for not nipping 27-year-old Fevola's poor behaviour in the bud.

"I've been unhappy with that player in the circumstances for a long time, but I've got to take responsibility for having recruited him," Parkin said.

"I recruited him and was unable, in the more formative years, to bring a permanent change in his behaviour which is a sad reflection of us and sadder reflection of him as a person."

Parkin oversaw the recruitment of Fevola from the Dandenong Stingrays with pick No. 38 in the 1998 national draft.

The Blues' 1995 premiership coach said Carlton would not taste the ultimate success with Fevola in the team.

"You don't win premierships with what's called flawed genius," he said.

"Brendan's just showing his incapacity to learn when the club desperately needs him to show some leadership."

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,23400291-661,00.html

BRENDAN Fevola's first AFL coach, David Parkin, said Carlton would never win a premiership with the troubled forward in its team.

Parkin said Fevola, who was yesterday fined $10,000 and dropped from the leadership group for urinating on a bar window at 4am on Saturday, was a "flawed genius" who had an "incapacity to learn" from his bad behaviour.

Parkin said he took some of the blame for not nipping 27-year-old Fevola's poor behaviour in the bud.

"I've been unhappy with that player in the circumstances for a long time, but I've got to take responsibility for having recruited him," Parkin said.

"I recruited him and was unable, in the more formative years, to bring a permanent change in his behaviour which is a sad reflection of us and sadder reflection of him as a person."

Parkin oversaw the recruitment of Fevola from the Dandenong Stingrays with pick No. 38 in the 1998 national draft.

The Blues' 1995 premiership coach said Carlton would not taste the ultimate success with Fevola in the team.

"You don't win premierships with what's called flawed genius," he said.

"Brendan's just showing his incapacity to learn when the club desperately needs him to show some leadership."

Good call Parkin...

However, I think that the club has taken the correct stand with Brendan... he is a Carlton boy through and through and would be devastated if he was kicked out of the club.

I think that sending him to councilling for his drinking problem is probably the best thing that the club can do for him.

you guys all know what a legend Dave Parkin is. Again, he's right. Just look at Geelong when they had their 'flawed genius' in the team. lotta great stats, great individual feats, but it never did all quite come together.

Geelong still won the flag with the likes of Mooney and Steve Johnson.

silly call by Parkin

Agree with you Parkin is an idiot, does Wayne Carey,Ben Cousins,Steve Johnson,Martin Pike,Mark Harvey ring any bells.

They were all fools off the field, still played in premierships.

I am not defending Fevola at all & still believe we should trade him if the right deal presents, Parkin just gives me the shits.

Also have we backed ourselves into a corner now with his last chance thing.

Are we saying that if he stuffs up we just delist him without a trade.

As all clubs know the situation & he won't be welcome at Carlton I would say his value would be next to nothing, not to mention the option of Fev putting himself in PSD.

Fev will be worth heaps, don't worry about that.
We are in no corner. We have not said we will fire him for no return. Swann is no that stupid. Plus unimportant. He will play hard, and get himself into gear. Winning changes your priorities!

FMD, if you don't win premierships with flawed geniuses, then I guess we have to give back the 68 and 70 flags.

In the last 24 hours I've heard Walls, Dwaine Russell and Parkin all say that we will never win a premiership with Fev in the side. That's as stupid a thing to say as Alan Scott saying Mark Williams will never win a premiership.

Until this current age of political correctness and the football paparazzi there was no such thing as a flawed genius.

There was just young men who played footy. Young men do stupid things. Everybody needs to move on.

Parkin can p*ss off, he loves putting the boots into the Blues these days. He is still in denial that he had anything to do with our poor playing list circa 2002 - 2004. He was the bloke who oversaw the drafting of long term prospects of O'Reily, Mansfield, Devonport, Ben Sexton, McGuane, Charles in the mid to late 90's by giving up early draft picks for hacks.

He is still in denial that he had anything to do with our poor playing list circa 2002 - 2004.

didn't he just say that he picked Fev and so he(Parkin) is to blame?

To be fair to Parkin, he's previously put his hand up for our list management issues during his era. It really did set us up for a disastrous period.

Of course Parko has credit in the bank with 3 premierships, and he could be forgiven for thinking he'd done the right things by the end of 2000.

Parkin can p*ss off, he loves putting the boots into the Blues these days. He is still in denial that he had anything to do with our poor playing list circa 2002 - 2004. He was the bloke who oversaw the drafting of long term prospects of O'Reily, Mansfield, Devonport, Ben Sexton, McGuane, Charles in the mid to late 90's by giving up early draft picks for hacks.
No - miles off the mark mate - actually he has taken a lot more blame for the recruiting issues than he should have and I've never heard him putting the boots into us either.

I think Parko is just honest with the Blues and there has been a lot to criticise us about.
He does stand by that it was the head office ie Jack etc that was most to blame for getting us in the poo ( have spoken to him on a few occasions about this) but admits he went for broke instead of long term.
1995 will always be sweet!

No - miles off the mark mate - actually he has taken a lot more blame for the recruiting issues than he should have and I've never heard him putting the boots into us either.

Obviously I have missed it when he has said this. I have heard him being interviewed on the radio and TV over recruiting blunders in later part of his coaching tenure at the Blues and he said that it this couldn't be blamed for decline in the early part of this decade with the club topping up its list with other clubs hacks.

Could not agree more.
An appology for leaving our list in a sorry state would be the only words I'd like to hear from him these days. He doesn't say too many kind words about us, he's a one eyed hawk these days. Very sad from one of our premiership coaches.