Kooley

arsenal
I understand that there are alot of people on this board who love David Teague so I will try to be as respectful as possible, but unfortunately he has become a liability in our backline and unless he can somehow find a new dimension to his game his future at Carlton his bleak. Hopefully he is just having an off year but to me he is just far too slow and surprisingly weak in the one on one contests to be an effective medium sized defender for us. On Saturday night when Buckley chopped T-Bird up the ideal next choice would have been to go to Teague for the job but there is no way in Teague's current form that Pagan would have even thought of such a move. I watch Teague closely and he is reluctant to stay with his man preferring to zone off and look for that high ball coming into the backline so he can take one of those trademark grabs he was so good at last year. Against Port Adelaide Pettigrove destroyed him to pieces because he continually led Teague up the ground. He just hasn't got the leg speed to go with most forwards whether they are big or small.

He is a real concern!

Kooley said:
I understand that there are alot of people on this board who love David Teague so I will try to be as respectful as possible, but unfortunately he has become a liability in our backline and unless he can somehow find a new dimension to his game his future at Carlton his bleak. Hopefully he is just having an off year but to me he is just far too slow and surprisingly weak in the one on one contests to be an effective medium sized defender for us. On Saturday night when Buckley chopped T-Bird up the ideal next choice would have been to go to Teague for the job but there is no way in Teague's current form that Pagan would have even thought of such a move. I watch Teague closely and he is reluctant to stay with his man preferring to zone off and look for that high ball coming into the backline so he can take one of those trademark grabs he was so good at last year. Against Port Adelaide Pettigrove destroyed him to pieces because he continually led Teague up the ground. He just hasn't got the leg speed to go with most forwards whether they are big or small.

He is a real concern!

Hey Kooley,

You must have esp. I was going to start a post and say virtually the same things you have said above. The guy has heaps of courage but is really down. The pace issue is especially worrying.

I am also wondering if his head is in the right place. There was the incident earlier in the year where he was out at 2 or 3 in the morning and after the Richmond win he was evidently out again until 2 or 3 and very drunk. I know that many young guys drink and are out to this time in the morning. However I dont believe that it is appropriate for an AFL player especially one who is struggling.

Lance was also there but left very early and did not drink very much at all. Interesting to note that he is in far better form.

teagues role is to float off his man and help out the other defenders, the problem this year has been opposition have been getting into their 50 so quickly teague and others do not have a change to leave their man and help out the likes of livo and thornton

also teams have tried to expose teagues lack of leg speed as mentioned

in a team that is playing well and making it hard for oppostition to move the ball quickly into the FWD 50, teague is very valuable and would not be exposed as he has this year

we must remeber teague has been given jobs on blokes 1/2 a foot taller than him and also on blokes who are much quicker than him.

bibi01 said:
teagues role is to float off his man and help out the other defenders, the problem this year has been opposition have been getting into their 50 so quickly teague and others do not have a change to leave their man and help out the likes of livo and thornton

also teams have tried to expose teagues lack of leg speed as mentioned

in a team that is playing well and making it hard for oppostition to move the ball quickly into the FWD 50, teague is very valuable and would not be exposed as he has this year

we must remeber teague has been given jobs on blokes 1/2 a foot taller than him and also on blokes who are much quicker than him.

Agree with that...but I suppose that is the problem...too short for the talls and too slow for the smalls. I think guys like McGrath and Carazzo will cement the roles of holding down the short forwards. I can see Thornton playing more of floating role next year with Hartlett/O'Hailpin/Livo played as pure stoppers..this means more competition for Teague current roles...he might want to start doing some extra sprint training in the offseason.

av76 said:
Agree with that...but I suppose that is the problem...too short for the talls and too slow for the smalls. I think guys like McGrath and Carazzo will cement the roles of holding down the short forwards. I can see Thornton playing more of floating role next year with Hartlett/O'Hailpin/Livo played as pure stoppers..this means more competition for Teague current roles...he might want to start doing some extra sprint training in the offseason.
exactly i can see his role at Carlton becoming redundant just like it did at the Kangaroos.

If you are interested in an observation from a Roo fan, you are on the money, which is part of the reason is was traded from North.

Carlton have had the better of the deal (mcKernan was a big gamble that has not paid off for us) as Teague can be a very good player IF he is able to float loose and take a bag of courages marks. When he was at North I made the comment that in terms of courage, he reminded me of Archer.

But his mid size and lack of spped means he can only be played on certain players, he is too small to play tall effectively, and too slow to play small.

Hence we have recruited Daniel Pratt - almost the same mould as Teague, but Teague is probably cooler in the crisis, but Pratt is faster.

Seems like a great bloke, and has buckets of courage and gives his all. But is quite limited. If you can afford to have him as a loose man in defence he can be a valuable assest.

his role is best suited for a team with a real strong defence- someting carlton do not have.

he is effectivly our 2nd best defender when he should be 4th or 5th best.

bibi01 said:
his role is best suited for a team with a real strong defence- someting carlton do not have.

he is effectivly our 2nd best defender when he should be 4th or 5th best.

For sure.. Teague tries hard, but because of our poor defense, is made to man up on players that he'll struggle with.

Not big or quick enough to be a top line defender, but would be excellent value as a free running back-flanker

Teague was so good last year because of his toughness and courage around the high ball. He hasn't done that at all this year. To be honest, I reckon Bowyer could play that role better ATM.

Kooley said:
I understand that there are alot of people on this board who love David Teague

Sure do. :)

Kooley said:
he has become a liability in our backline and unless he can somehow find a new dimension to his game his future at Carlton his bleak.
Is that why he played the whole game against Collingwood? :rolleyes:

Kooley said:
Hopefully he is just having an off year but to me he is just far too slow and surprisingly weak in the one on one contests to be an effective medium sized defender for us.

Unfortunately he does not have the luxury of playing on other 'medium sized players', and is instead thrown almost impossible assignments to which he still performs admirably in.

Kooley said:
as our backline is in On Saturday night when Buckley chopped T-Bird up the ideal next choice would have been to go to Teague for the job

Well Buckley isn't exactly your regular forward.

Kooley said:
but there is no way in Teague's current form that Pagan would have even thought of such a move.

Who knows if Pagan had such a thought?

Buckley is an amazing athlete, and few players can effectively match up on him.

Kooley said:
I watch Teague closely and he is reluctant to stay with his man preferring to zone off and look for that high ball coming into the backline so he can take one of those trademark grabs he was so good at last year.

Yes, the team sacrifice.

The amount of contests and spoils he makes are invaluable.

Kooley said:
Against Port Adelaide Pettigrove destroyed him to pieces because he continually led Teague up the ground.

Why would it affect us if Pettigrew was taking his marks up the ground?

Kooley said:
He just hasn't got the leg speed to go with most forwards whether they are big or small.

Delivery of the footy can make any defender look bad.

Let's face it, Teague's been up against some quality forwards this year without adequate support and has had to battle his way through. His approach to the footy is certainly a nice change from the attitudes of some other players.

Kooley said:
He is a real concern!

No, the real concern are people who criticise players who have been subjected to extreme pressure throughout the year!

Teague's one of the last players we should be concerned with.

I actually thought Teague played one of his better games on Saturday night... He was up the ground a bit more and on a number of occasions had the ball on the wing and used it to our advantage. I think he was playing a different role to what he has been.

Teague is suffering a similar fate to what Cloke has experienced over the past couple of years. Opposition teams do their homework and drag these "floaters" such as Teague and Cloke away from the action and force them to defend their direct opponents. Due to their lack of pace, they struggle to contain smaller type players and both are not big enough to take on the KPP.

Teague is tough and courageous, no question about that, but if Pagan wants him to continue in years to come, then it's up to the coaching staff to come up with something to counteract these tactics.

As much as I love the way Teague plays his footy, I also have grave doubts about his long term role in the side............purely a pace issue at his size.

For his and thr clubs sake, I hope he can regain his 2004 form, sooner rather than later.

Teagson said:
Sure do. :)

Is that why he played the whole game against Collingwood? :rolleyes:

Unfortunately he does not have the luxury of playing on other 'medium sized players', and is instead thrown almost impossible assignments to which he still performs admirably in.

Well Buckley isn't exactly your regular forward.

Who knows if Pagan had such a thought?

Buckley is an amazing athlete, and few players can effectively match up on him.

Yes, the team sacrifice.

The amount of contests and spoils he makes are invaluable.

Why would it affect us if Pettigrew was taking his marks up the ground?

Delivery of the footy can make any defender look bad.

Let's face it, Teague's been up against some quality forwards this year without adequate support and has had to battle his way through. His approach to the footy is certainly a nice change from the attitudes of some other players.

No, the real concern are people who criticise players who have been subjected to extreme pressure throughout the year!

Teague's one of the last players we should be concerned with.

No need to be so defensive. You obviously have a bias for Teague which is fine. As a financial member of the club and someone who has been to all games this year (excluding interstate) I'm entitled to criticise players if i believe they are not up to scratch.

I like everyone at Carlton would like to see Teague be a very good player with the Blues and a productive member of our team but unfortunately some flowing blonde locks, a pretty face combined with an occasional gutsy mark everynow and then doesn't "do it" for me.