LAK, NUFC, SAS, SFGiants, 49ers,
Nice article in the AGE about the progression of Dawes, and his new nickname. (thread title).:)

Interesting that he also played injured during the finals last year, and he struggled through the drawn Grand Final due to knee soreness.

Sounds like he has all the help in the world he needs, with big Anthony Rocca as his "mentor".:thumbsu:

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...et-in-magpie-forward-line-20110310-1bpqo.html

HIS name is Chris Dawes, but at Collingwood he is now only known as Dawesy's Ball."The boys just call him Dawesy's Ball now.
Someone will come into the room and say 'G'day Maxy, G'day Dawesy's Ball'," captain Nick Maxwell said of the young forward. "More than anything, it just shows what a competitor he is. He just demands the ball and we love that about him."

Up there with Pendles as my favourite Magpie. How fast he improved last year, I've never seen anything like it!

Interesting that he also played injured during the finals last year, and he struggled through the drawn Grand Final due to knee soreness.

Well would explain why his kicking was off during that 1st GF

I must also admit I had my reservations on his future.

Do yourself a favour and watch him extremely closely in the GF replay... Played extremely well, didnt get a million kicks, but was very smart in what he did. A quality full forward in the making.

I must also admit I had my reservations on his future.

Do yourself a favour and watch him extremely closely in the GF replay... Played extremely well, didnt get a million kicks, but was very smart in what he did. A quality full forward in the making.

Yep. Some of the tap ons, quick handballs and aggressive tackling (in both games) were crucial.

Yep, Dawes was clearly the most influential key forward on the park in the replay, he made something out of every touch and his work off the ball was fantastic. He had many little highlights though out the game that were crucial in our victory.

Very pleased with how he has come on. He's a monster of a lad who just happens to have quick fire football smarts, a great combination. Hopefully he can continue to improve, which would bring him into the category of a consistent 3-4 goal a game key forward -- which given our game plan and midfield production on the scoreboard, is comparable to a 5-6 goal a game return.

He's looked pretty ominous so far this preseason, let's hope he carries on with it.

I think he's a pretty smart bloke, which is great on two fronts. One he will definitely improve his game with more experience. And two he will always have that great awareness and creativity on the fwd line. All he has to do in my opinion, is have more confidence in his kicking to teammates, learn to play on with a bit more speed but at the same time use some poise.

Love his effort and in a couple of years, if he remains sound injury wise, he will have an even bigger presence on the field.

He has improved on last year going by the NAB cup matches, his marking out infront of his eyes would be just about the best in the league, so strong.

He took some ripper grabs tonight, his over the head work and one on one work has stepped up. Pity he accidentally played on tonight with one of his marks, would have added another goal to the haul.

He is one of my favorites. Thought his Gf reply was super and probably underated by most.

He is a bit of an Aaron Hamill type I reckon. The small forwards must love having him in the forward line.

Very pleased with how he has come on. He's a monster of a lad who just happens to have quick fire football smarts, a great combination. Hopefully he can continue to improve, which would bring him into the category of a consistent 3-4 goal a game key forward -- which given our game plan and midfield production on the scoreboard, is comparable to a 5-6 goal a game return.

I think this is a good point. He keeps kicking bags of 3 or 4 but given our gameplan that's pretty good output. I think MM would probably prefer to see him kick 60 goals this year rather than 80+.

What he does with his contesting and attack once the ball hits the ground suits us perfectly with Didak, Macaffer, Sidebottom and now Krakouer at his feet.

I think this is a good point. He keeps kicking bags of 3 or 4 but given our gameplan that's pretty good output. I think MM would probably prefer to see him kick 60 goals this year rather than 80+.

What he does with his contesting and attack once the ball hits the ground suits us perfectly with Didak, Macaffer, Sidebottom and now Krakouer at his feet.
Don't overlook the possibility of (Dead Eye) Dick also being at the drop of the ball as well. The biggest thing about Dawesy(s ball) with his attack at the marking contest is that the ball does not just "hit the ground", frequently it is directed by Dawes in much the same way that Very Good ruckmen direct the ball at hit outs. The better Dawes becomes the more players like; Dead Eye, Dids, Sidey and Krak, are going to look like goal kicking machine themselves. That's in addition to the mountains of goals Dawesy will get himself.

I'm impressed that a guy of his size can consistently play as high up the ground as he does. You do not expect a big guy like that to have that kind of tank.

Yeah his marking does look a lot stronger, wonder how much of that is from confidence of being a regular player now? His groundwork is top notch too, one of the better key forwards in the comp once the ball is on the ground.

Love his attack on the contest and players who sit in the whole in front of him are getting smashed which is what the old FF used to do to combat that tactic.

Dawesy should do a lockett to the next bloke who does it go up and whisper in his ear "I wouldn't stand there much longer son" and then if he doesn't move the next time the ball comes down put him into the stands!

Must say the voice is an asset you never fully appreciate when going to the AFL. I remember going to my first VFL match ever in 09 during the split round and I remember Dawes voice being one of the most prominent things during the match whether it was calling for the ball, directing traffic or telling some opposition player that he "just shit himself"

One good thing and one bad thing that I learnt in this article. The good thing is his voice on the field. The bad thing is his continuing problems with his knee. i just hope that they settle down in the next few years. I think he has the chance of being a champ

It was always going to take some time to get confidence up on his reconstructed knee. even last year you could see he was wary of leaving the ground or crashing packs really hard. All that is history now.

I always had faith.