mantis

Hall of Famer
30k Posts 10k Posts
Bombers
When will a WA government have the balls to introduce it, forget the referendum crap, everyone knows they always get defeated.:mad:

OK, we get woken up at 5am by the sun & the ****ing birds, so why can't it be 6am, total waste of an hour, then you get to work at 9, ring a company over East & hello, they are at lunch,
eventually you get a phone call back, then deal with your people here, have lunch & then try to contact the eastern states again, they have gone home.

Forget the curtains & the cows, bring in daylight saving. :mad:

Originally posted by Bee
I reckon that all states should have it at the same time. Tassie has it 3 or 4 weeks before the mainland. Why can't it be uniform?

Yep, make it uniform and don't have it at all:)

Originally posted by Bee
I reckon that all states should have it at the same time. Tassie has it 3 or 4 weeks before the mainland. Why can't it be uniform?

I worked on the Bass Strait Ferry the Spirit of Tasmania a few years ago. I was onboard when Tasmania went to daylight savings a month before Victoria. Well for that month when we sailed to Tassie, we changed our clocks by 1 hour, then the next night we would change our clocks back to the original hour. So every night for a month we had clock changes with people having to get up at differant hours everyday. It caused people to suffer fatigue and actually got pretty dangerous near the end, which you don't want on a passenger ship.

WA will always be a couple of hours behind the eastern states, but I can't believe that Queensland still hasn't gone over to daylight saving.
Daylight saving's great. No point in being woken by the birds at 5am, and not having to turn the lights on straight away after getting home from work is a good thing - keeps the electricity bill down a bit.
The only real down side is that the English Premier League's on far too late to stay up to watch.

Originally posted by Bomber Spirit
WA will always be a couple of hours behind the eastern states, but I can't believe that Queensland still hasn't gone over to daylight saving.
Daylight saving's great. No point in being woken by the birds at 5am, and not having to turn the lights on straight away after getting home from work is a good thing - keeps the electricity bill down a bit.
The only real down side is that the English Premier League's on far too late to stay up to watch.

Don't you think Queenslanders get enough sun already, or have you got a franchise on skin cancer research?
:(

Perth is right on the western edge of the timezone. they don't need daylight savings. The people of Brisbane should feel ripped off. They are the most eastern city on any timezone so the sun sets very early anyway, yet they dont get daylight savings.

Originally posted by mantis
When will a WA government have the balls to introduce it, forget the referendum crap, everyone knows they always get defeated.:mad:
:
yeah, stuff democracy :rolleyes:

and the constitution :o

I think its time we had daylight savings up here in Queensland. The frig gen cows know when to get milked even if the farmers can't work it out. It would be great for the tourism industry.

Originally posted by Bomber Spirit
Yes, by far the biggest problem. How much better if we lived somewhere where EPL came on at a decent time (Peth, Asia, South Africa). I reckon I'm going to get in the habit of taping games and watching them Sunday morning.

Re: Re: Daylight Saving again

Originally posted by nicko18

my sentiments exactly. it's like the republic referendum, i wasn't happy with the result (thanks honest johnnie for f***ing that one up mate) but you just have to accept it, it's what the people voted.

Originally posted by red+black
Yes, by far the biggest problem. How much better if we lived somewhere where EPL came on at a decent time (Peth, Asia, South Africa). I reckon I'm going to get in the habit of taping games and watching them Sunday morning.

Yeah, couldn't agree more, I hate the soccer being on so late. Unlike yourself I can't stand watching replays, dunno why, just doesn't interest me when I can go on the net and get the scores instead of watching it. But if there two big teams playing I would tape it.....

Re: Re: Re: Daylight Saving again

Originally posted by red+black
thanks honest johnnie for f***ing that one up mate

How so, he wanted to stay the way we were, I felt the republic got rejected because people didn't like the format that was proposed (which was the politians pick the president, not the people)

So if anyones to blame, its the people running the republian movement (Melcolm Turnbull and Eddie McGuire)

On daylight savings, change it I need new blinds

Re: Re: Daylight Saving again

Originally posted by nicko18

I agree, I want it & that's all that matters. :D

Weird thing is, I have never heard one person I have spoken to in WA, say they don't want it, they all say it's stupid we don't have it, so what I want to know is, who were the people who voted against it?

Also, can anyone remember "when" the last referendum was held on daylight saving, might be time for another.

Seems to be the same thing in Queensland. When I was up there recently I was talking to someone about it, and they said the Premier up there says that due to some referendum in 1992 where people said they didn't want daylight savings then, means they don't want it now. 11 years ago!!!!!! :o

I think it should be brought in for WA, if for no other reason than to give businesses that extra hour to trade with the Eastern States.......and I definitely think Qld should have it, would like to hear from some Queenslanders on that one actually. What do you think?

I agree, I want it & that's all that matters. :D

Weird thing is, I have never heard one person I have spoken to in WA, say they don't want it, they all say it's stupid we don't have it, so what I want to know is, who were the people who voted against it?

No referendum has been held for daylight saving:)

1 January 1917 to 25 March 1917. The Commonwealth also implemented daylight saving during World War II, from 1 January to 29 March 1942, from 27 September 1942 to 28 March 1943 and from 3 October 1943 to 26 March 1944. Exceptionally, Western Australia did not use daylight saving during this last period. In 1967 Tasmania experienced a drought which depleted their reserves of water. Since the bulk of their electricity is generated by hydroelectric stations, the State Government introduced one hour of daylight saving from the last Sunday of October to the first Sunday of March as a means of saving power and hence water. Tasmanians reacted favourably to daylight saving and the Tasmanian Government has declared daylight saving each summer since 1968. After persuasion by the Tasmanian Government, all States (except Western Australia and the Northern Territory) passed legislation in 1971, for a trial season of daylight saving. The following year New South Wales, South Australia and Victoria joined Tasmania for regular daylight saving. Queensland, however, decided to maintain standard time during summer months.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I voted in the last WA referendum on the subject, but as I recall I hadn't been old enough to vote for very long, so it must have been around 1989 or 1990ish. We did actually have daylight saving for a year or two prior to that referendum also.

Scmods, I think you're right, it must have been about 89, as it was only just after I moved here that it was held, still along time ago, time for another one, or JUST DO IT Labor, or next election I will vote Liberal. :mad:

Only joking about voting Liberal. :D

One of the few bad things about WA.

I think most people in the city want it but it is the country people that kept getting it defeated. Guess the cows wouldn't know when to produce milk and the roosters wouldn't would know when to crow.

It is a great thing that WA doesn't have Daylight Savings.

They are already 2 hours behind when the Eastern side of the country don't have Daylight Savings.

i dont know what surfers is on but the sun is up at 4.30am and the sun goes down around 6.00pm

it ****ed my time clock right up

Originally posted by goaldrush
It is a great thing that WA doesn't have Daylight Savings.

They are already 2 hours behind when the Eastern side of the country don't have Daylight Savings.

So they are then 3 hours behind when the eastern stats have daylight savings?

Ever tried to call a business over east after 3 in the afternoon Perth time, normaly shut at 6 their time.