Dealing with a Crows loss

• Thread starter Thread starter CrowHop

all depends on how we lose

generally, I tend to focus on the next opponent and look forward to the next game

When the Crows lost to the Eagles in the Prelim I was so weak and devastated that I slept and woke up the next day ! :(:(:(

OHHHH HELL!

That day was terrible. The worst!

I was at the local footy listening to the radio an we were up. I was pumped. Me an all my crows mates were buzzing, I had GF tickets. I was telling my West Coast mate that WC are shit an Cousins is a homo. The works

I drove home. Turned on the telly. We are down. 2 mins to go.

We lost.

I cried.

Had a 2 hour shower.

Devo

My hubby won't sit in the same room as me when we watch the footy.... I'm ahem... rather vocal. When we lose I'm shocking... particularly if there's been some ordinary decisions by both players and umpires. Have teared up a few times (prelims) but I get over it pretty quickly. Hubby may not be as vocal as me, but he wears a loss like a little black cloud over his head for a few days then spends hours on the phone to his dad in Adelaide as they do the post mortem. At live games I'm a lot more controlled. LOL

2003 R7 loss to Collingwood sent me into the kitchen and I smashed the chopping board into two pieces. Half of it is still in the kitchen!

After losing to Fremantle by 1 point in R16 2003 I sat in the car in tears for over an hour after watching the game at a friends house. And was more furious when we lost to North Melbourne in R21 2003 which ended our top 4 hopes.

2006 prelim final was pretty awful, I sat there in front of the TV speechless. Took me 3 weeks to get over it. It ruined the way we played in 2007. Nuff Said!

Most our losses in 2007 were nothing short of frustrating.

2008 vs Hawthorn at AAMI was an awful night, a great effort by the team wasted.

Nothing gets worse than losing the top 4 spot last year, we beat the Bulldogs in R22 to get into 4th spot and the next day St Kilda thrashes Essendon which costs us the Top 4 and we have to play Collingwood at home in week 1 of the finals. I was devestated all week long when this happened and almost had a mental breakdown. It was awful.... trust me! - I tipped Collingwood to beat us because of our poor home record against them. It was awful! - And all the no shows at AAMI for that game, it was our smallest home crowd of 2008.

2003 R7 loss to Collingwood sent me into the kitchen and I smashed the chopping board into two pieces. Half of it is still in the kitchen!

After losing to Fremantle by 1 point in R16 2003 I sat in the car in tears for over an hour after watching the game at a friends house. And was more furious when we lost to North Melbourne in R21 2003 which ended our top 4 hopes.

2006 prelim final was pretty awful, I sat there in front of the TV speechless. Took me 3 weeks to get over it. It ruined the way we played in 2007. Nuff Said!

Most our losses in 2007 were nothing short of frustrating.

2008 vs Hawthorn at AAMI was an awful night, a great effort by the team wasted.

Nothing gets worse than losing the top 4 spot last year, we beat the Bulldogs in R22 to get into 4th spot and the next day St Kilda thrashes Essendon which costs us the Top 4 and we have to play Collingwood at home in week 1 of the finals. I was devestated all week long when this happened and almost had a mental breakdown. It was awful.... trust me! - I tipped Collingwood to beat us because of our poor home record against them. It was awful! - And all the no shows at AAMI for that game, it was our smallest home crowd of 2008.

It only took 3 weeks to get over??? I'm STILL not over it :mad: haha. I still get teary when I think/talk about it long enough and all I can see is Bassett falling to the ground in tears. And now when I think of the elimination final, all I see is Mackay walking past me with tears running down his cheeks :(.

Why weren't we given the Saturday night final?? The AFL would've known that Sydney were going to get next to no one at their game and with the Adelaide Show on, very warm weather, the crowd would've been almost, if not, sold out if it was a night game.

It only took 3 weeks to get over??? I'm STILL not over it :mad: haha. I still get teary when I think/talk about it long enough and all I can see is Bassett falling to the ground in tears. And now when I think of the elimination final, all I see is Mackay walking past me with tears running down his cheeks :(.

Why weren't we given the Saturday night final?? The AFL would've known that Sydney were going to get next to no one at their game and with the Adelaide Show on, very warm weather, the crowd would've been almost, if not, sold out if it was a night game.

2006 preliminary final is now gone. What was so upsetting is because I knew it was our last chance for a few years and I knew in 2007 we'd have no chance. West Coast dominated us in that game except for on the scoreboard and we could have stolen it in the last minute if not for a f****d up umpiring decision, even though we got more free kicks in that game. We should have indeed played our game against Collingwood on Saturday Night, it would have sold out but I doubt we would have won. But the AFL love to give us Saturday arvo home finals and have more night games at the MCG because they are stupid, it should be the other way around, Saturday arvo MCG games involving teams like Collingwood or Essendon would draw bigger crowds in finals. I think Collingwood play better at AAMI stadium than any other venue and play their best football there especially in finals, their record in finals here is perfect (2-0). So to get a home final vs Collingwood after missing the top 4 by 0.2% was very dissapointing (for me) after the team gave it its very all. I felt terrible that week leading up to that game, our first 25 minutes of the second quarter was sensational best footy we have played all year long and then the team lost its confidence and quickly fell behind for good. And there I was booing Scott Thompson when he kicked it out on the full late in the game, he gave no effort into that shot at goal and just rushed it. There were probably 30% Collingwood supporters in the non sold out crowd.
The coach is getting all the blame for this, which is unfair. Its all about a team performance. I'm now moving on to this season and hopefully we can improve on things, get a top 4 and we really need to play a finals game at the MCG for the first time in many years, we play our best on that ground in September and it brings back memories from the 1997-98 and 2002 semi.