Dear Opposition Supporters

Seems to be a lot of flack being thrown at us by opposition fans whose teams were not good enough to make it. So let’s break it down club by club.

West Coast - You were magnificent as were we. We threw everything at you and you stood up. Deserving winners. Enjoy the celebrations. A new rivalry has been built between these two great clubs.

Richmond- We know we embarrassed you last week and we know you want to be us. You just can’t be. We finished higher than you on the ladder, we have played you in 6 Grand Finals and lead 4-2, we lead you in the head to head by a significant margin and we own just about every crowd record. By the way you haven’t beaten us in a final in nearly 40 years.
You are like our jealous little step sister who wants to be us. You never have been and never will be, We own you.

Melbourne-Copping flak from Demons supporters is amusing seeing as they haven’t won a Premiership under the decimal currency system. You are the laughing stock of football. At least you have 2022 in Beijing to look forward to. For a club that spends so much time in the snow you would think you would learn to ski uphill.

Carlton - Footballs biggest embarrassment and quickly becoming irrelevant. Once you celebrated your own successes and were a club I admired. Now your only success is hoping other clubs lose. You have not won a Premiership this millennium. You make me laugh now and you are so bad that I don’t even consider you a worthy rival. At least you will make cash over summer opening up a souvenir shop with all your insipid wooden spoons. Thanks for making me smile.

Essendon- You Finals victory drought is becoming the stuff of legends. Jaidyn Stephenson has won twice as many Finals in one year as you have in the last 14 years. Time we looked for a new ANZAC day opponent because we are sick of propping you up. Maybe a merger with Carlton may work.

Geelong and Hawthorn - You have earnt your keep in modern times and still have a right to be proud. A leave pass granted to you both.

North, Bulldogs, Adelaide, Port, Lions, Swans, Saints - You are are so hopelessly underwhelming and irrelevant to the AFL that you don’t even deserve your own comment.

GWS and Gold Coast - Like Maccas, you are an over rated franchise. Give me a fish and chip shop hamburger any day.

Dockers - Your ok. Haven’t learnt to hate you yet like the other 16 sides but your time will come.

Proud of you Pies. Side by Side. It’s us against the rest. Always has been. Always will be. Would’t have it any other way.

Floreat Pica.

Think WCE v Coll already had a pretty epic rivalry finals wise...

My dad was a Collingwood fan and Ive always had a soft spot for the pies.

If I didnt go for WCE id go for you blokes.

Cracking game [emoji106]

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Cracking game [emoji106]

Cheers mate. We have indeed already built a great rivalry. Greatest respect to you today.

Don’t waste your time or energy with it mate.

Everyone loves to hate Collingwood because it’s the cool thing to do.

All I’ve seen on social media since the game is “f*** you collingwood, f*** you Eddie”. This is mainly people who barely follow footy. It’s embarrassing to be honest.

Seems to be a lot of flack being thrown at us by opposition fans whose teams were not good enough to make it. So let’s break it down club by club.

West Coast - You were magnificent as were we. We threw everything at you and you stood up. Deserving winners. Enjoy the celebrations. A new rivalry has been built between these two great clubs.

Richmond- We know we embarrassed you last week and we know you want to be us. You just can’t be. We finished higher than you on the ladder, we have played you in 6 Grand Finals and lead 4-2, we lead you in the head to head by a significant margin and we own just about every crowd record. By the way you haven’t beaten us in a final in nearly 40 years.
You are like our jealous little step sister who wants to be us. You never have been and never will be, We own you.

Melbourne-Copping flak from Demons supporters is amusing seeing as they haven’t won a Premiership under the decimal currency system. You are the laughing stock of football. At least you have 2022 in Beijing to look forward to. For a club that spends so much time in the snow you would think you would learn to ski uphill.

Carlton - Footballs biggest embarrassment and quickly becoming irrelevant. Once you celebrated your own successes and were a club I admired. Now your only success is hoping other clubs lose. You have not won a Premiership this millennium. You make me laugh now and you are so bad that I don’t even consider you a worthy rival. At least you will make cash over summer opening up a souvenir shop with all your insipid wooden spoons. Thanks for making me smile.

Essendon- You Finals victory drought is becoming the stuff of legends. Jaidyn Stephenson has won twice as many Finals in one year as you have in the last 14 years. Time we looked for a new ANZAC day opponent because we are sick of propping you up. Maybe a merger with Carlton may work.

Geelong and Hawthorn - You have earnt your keep in modern times and still have a right to be proud. A leave pass granted to you both.

North, Bulldogs, Adelaide, Port, Lions, Swans, Saints - You are are so hopelessly underwhelming and irrelevant to the AFL that you don’t even deserve your own comment.

GWS and Gold Coast - Like Maccas, you are an over rated franchise. Give me a fish and chip shop hamburger any day.

Dockers - Your ok. Haven’t learnt to hate you yet like the other 16 sides but your time will come.

Proud of you Pies. Side by Side. It’s us against the rest. Always has been. Always will be. Would’t have it any other way.

Floreat Pica.

Geelong have won 4 flags since 1960....hawthorn have won 4 in the last 10 years and 13 since 1960...they will always be in our shadow and are never to be mentioned in same breath as Hawthorn (neither are swans who have 5 in 120 years)...commiserations on the loss too

I am so glad for this post, it made me laugh harder than I have all weekend, I’m gonna trot out a few of these one liner gems I think to a choice couple (well not couple, there seems to be ppls in the double digits coming out of the woodwork on my fb and sms’s who I haven’t spoken to for ages let alone knew they even followed footy) of people who feel compelled to provoke me to the point of wanting to go around to their house and start pulling fingernails out with pliers. Thankyou for saving my clean criminal record with this tome of hilarity and wisdom

As good as place as any - my thoughts on the other clubs in 2018

West Coast - pass
Were expected to drop down the ladder at the beginning of the year, however despite key injuries they were clearly in the best 2 sides all year along with 9th. Losing their forward line late cost them a chance at the minor premiership, but they won the one that matters.
9th - fail
Credit for not doing a bulldogs, but with minimal injuries throughout the year and ultimately being standout minor premiers they should have made the GF at the very least. Should rue a rare chance at back-to-back that got away.
Melbourne - pass
After the disappointment of missing finals in 2017 at the final hurdle they would have been expected to redeem themselves and they did just that with some terrific H&A form and a prelim final.
Hawthorn - pass
Were expected to drop after being up for so long and list management suggesting a rebuild was on the cards. Even though they went out in straight sets finishing top 4 was a fair effort.
GWS - fail
Yep, they had injuries however that didn't stop Collingwood and WC from making the grand final with a similar amount and the giants arguably have more talented depth. With more departures likely have they missed their gift?
Sydney - fail
They manage their list to be always be there and thereabouts and while they made finals it's rare for a Sydney side to fall after week one.
Geelong - fail
Much hype after the return of Ablett created a vaunted midfield trio. Just snuck into the 8 when they were expected to finish much higher. A a mighty percentage suggests they were more than capable of that.

North Melbourne - pass
After failing to land a big fish in the offseason they were expected to battle for the lower rungs of the ladder. Instead they nearly and possibly should have finished inside the 8. While there could be some disappointment finishing 9th I think they had a pretty positive year.
Port Adelaide - fail
Like Geelong recruited to have a crack at the flag. Even though most didn't come off they were top 4 with four rounds to play, so it would be a massive disappointment to drop the remaining month and miss.
Essendon - fail
Perhaps a harsh assessment given they finished the year full of run despite the loss of Daniher and were arguably the best of the non-finalists, but they're better than losses to the likes of Carlton. Win those matches and a finals spot wasn't out of the question. Given they defeated WC and gave us a good run in round 16 there will be a fairly big air of disappointment of what may have been had they managed to sneak into the 8. Positive signs for 2019 though.
Adelaide - fail
The biggest fail of the year for mine. Choked the grand final in 2017 and continued the choke throughout 2018 on the back of the preseason camp and mind training debacle.
Western Bulldogs - even
Difficult one to rank, while it's not fair to judge them on 2016 they fell further down the ladder. Only 8 wins and 4 of those came about the bottom four, however there was also some signs they could turn it around though with narrow victories against Geelong and NM and a narrow loss to 9th.
Fremantle - even
Held their place again finishing 14th with 8 wins.
Brisbane - pass
Promising signs for the future and made winning at the 'gabba difficult. Their young talls look good and they seem to be putting some good mids around them. One to watch.
StKilda - fail
Fell from 11th to 16th when they would have been expected to contend for a finals spot. Undoubtably the retirement of Riewoldt and Montagna hurt and I think they undervalued the difference their late career contributions made. Reportedly going hard to address things in the offseason via recruitment.
Gold Coast - fail
Two less wins, but they had a couple of close losses. Would have ranked them even given it was Dew's first year in charge, but the reported offseason departures to more key players suggests they have some way to go to correct off field deficiencies.
Carlton - fail
Just 2 wins, which equals their worst ever season. Still too reliant on their ageing stars and role players despite the continued rise of Cripps and Curnow. A stark contrast to Brisbane. I'm yet to see how they can replace their veterans while at the same time building greater depth of talent.​

Don’t waste your time or energy with it mate.

Everyone loves to hate Collingwood because it’s the cool thing to do.

All I’ve seen on social media since the game is “f*** you collingwood, f*** you Eddie”. This is mainly people who barely follow footy. It’s embarrassing to be honest.

It is us against the rest. Always has been. Always will be.

Not sure that's really the case

Everyone seems to have been cheering for the Pies to beat the Tigers last week

I wasn't expecting you to do much in finals but you were fantastic over the month and unlucky on the day

Geelong have won 4 flags since 1960....hawthorn have won 4 in the last 10 years and 13 since 1960...they will always be in our shadow and are never to be mentioned in same breath as Hawthorn (neither are swans who have 5 in 120 years)...commiserations on the loss too
Even on another club's board a Hawthorn supporter has to mention Geelong :rolleyes:.....On topic, I really feel you guys deserved yesterday.... It's been a great rise from 13th & the injury run you've had this year crueled you IMO.... One of Dunn & Scharenberg in yesterday & you win :(.....Commiserations & good luck next year!

Minnows always take shots at the big boys. Your fans have been all class in three games we've played this year and should hold your heads high for the season.

So incredibly true. I have a new found respect for the Eagles as well. Very gracious and humble winners.

Have never understood the generic Collingwood hatred. I have a few mates who support the Lions and they have this pathological hatred of Collingwood - so much so that I’ve asked them if they remembered that it was they who won in 2002-03.

When I did a bit of reading into it, there’s a theory that the hatred stemmed from the early stages of the VFL where Collingwood were dominant and putting the rich clubs like Carlton and Melbourne in their place - and there was a level of detest that this working club side was doing it. From this the generic hatred was born.

If that’s where it was born, it’s not something I want to be a part of. On top of that, you guys have mutual traditional foes in Carlton and the filth of *. Why anyone would waste the energy in hating Collingwood when Essenscum exist is just beyond me.

The trendy Collingwood hate is for lemmings. As I always respond to the folk who revel in telling me they hate Hawthorn, I always retort with a banner I saw at Manly Sea-Eagles game (the NRL side that people love to hate) that said ‘Manly hates you too’. If a flog with no clue says they hate Collingwood, just tell them Collingwood hates them too.

Note that my non-hatred will evaporate pretty quickly if you ever beat us in a grand final!

And that’s exactly why you have become the sad club you have. You have just brought the biggest smile to my face. Thank you. The more you post about Collingwood the more I realise just how pathetic your club is. Please keep it up. Bob Chitty would turn in his grave at what you have become.

Richmond is the last Victorian team to win a flag, and we did it by 8 goals , so don't be disrespectful.

Richmond fan talking about respect. Hahahahahaha. Piss off flog.

Richmond is the last Victorian team to win a flag, and we did it by 8 goals , so don't be disrespectful.

You are not us. You never will be and you want to be so badly. The Bulldogs have won as many flags as you in the modern era. Run back to your own board and sook about gastro or some insipid excuse of why we humiliated you. Might be worth burning your back to back shirts.

Mate go easy on them.........did you know they had gastro?

Minnows.

Mate go easy on them.........did you know they had gastro?

Minnows.

Absolute minnows mate. So insignificant. Funny how they keep coming to our board but I wouldn’t waste my time visiting their board.

Love the rivalry

Cracking game [emoji106]

Reckon you could apply for the job of footy god? Seems that lot of w****** have it in for us - perpetually so.