Diet tips

• Thread starter Thread starter dan smith

dan smith

Wondering if someone could offer some diet tips for those of us that would like to lose a few kilos

Any short cuts outside of excersize.

I hear there are actually some foods that help to lose weight.

Any help appreciated.

Go Maggies!

I dont have much luck with diets, mainly because I would need to go on 2 of them as there isnt enough food on just one!! :D:D

I did try the seafood diet though.... that's the one where you "see-food", you eat it!! :D:D

SeinDude

Come on guys I'm serious!

I got some weight to shed!!! Please help me out here.

Ive eaten next to nothing this week. I can't excercize cos my legs bugger up. Bad ankle.

The latest one is to not eat foods high in carbohydrates after 4PM. Stuff like potatoes, pasta, rice, bread are a no-no after 4PM. Instead you might have fish or a steak or some chicken with vegies for dinner. Save your stir-fry meals for lunch!

The science of it seems to make sense - carbos can turn into fat unless burnt off by the body, which is less when you sleep.

It has been used to great effect by a number of AFL stars and Aussie cricketers. Damian Martyn is one who swears by it. I haven't tried it myself though...

Take up smoking? That tends to keep the weight down on me...

but seriously, I think exercise is the best thing, and if your legs are a problem, try swimming or water exercises. My ex-housemate had two knee recons and he exercised in a pool for ages, and it fixed him up.

Originally posted by Briedis
The latest one is to not eat foods high in carbohydrates after 4PM. Stuff like potatoes, pasta, rice, bread are a no-no after 4PM. Instead you might have fish or a steak or some chicken with vegies for dinner. Save your stir-fry meals for lunch!
The Germans have it right....big lunches are it and a bit! You never see fat people that eat big lunches as their main meal!

I hope you really havn't eaten next to nothing this week mate....that won't help in your cause...you need the food to keep your metabolism chuggin along, you just need to be careful what food you do eat, i gotta agree with what Briedis said about the carbs...try to eat them earlier in the day..makes sense really when you think about it, you'll be able to burn them off easier in the daytime, and as Pete said, exercise of some sort has to help.
Best of luck Dan!

Cheers

Originally posted by dan smith
Wondering if someone could offer some diet tips for those of us that would like to lose a few kilos

Any short cuts outside of excersize.

I hear there are actually some foods that help to lose weight.

Any help appreciated.

Go Maggies!

ask Play On or Dr Alfred Andrews

As PeteLX says there is only one way to lose weight: exercise. Your weight is determined by your metabolism: your rate metabolic rate is known as your set point. Regardless of what diet you go on, your set point remains the same. The only way to change your set-point is to exercise.

So jump in a pool (little to no stress on your body): it is the only exercise which ensures all muscle groups are exercised.

I don't believe in diets, really I don't. For the past two months I've been exercising every night, eating totally healthy, doing the no carbs after lunchtime, and guess what? I feel great, I have a lot more energy, but I've put on 2kgs. I don't get it.

This has worked for me...I follow the Weight Watchers rules, but don't actually do it. (I have one of the books). I just do not eat any crap, like take away food, chocolate, soft drink (only diet coke), lollies, biscuits, cake, etc, and I DO NOT EAT if I am not hungry!!! (Something I used to do a lot :() Sometimes if I can't avoid it, I have take away, but only if it's completely unavoidable. I don't go places where I know food is easily obtained (ie school canteen, just don't take money!) or in the kitchen. I also exercise regularly, you gotta do that. I play sport a couple of times a week and also go for walks sometimes. So far I've lost about 5kg in about 8 weeks (lost motivation there for awhile!). I also just think about my goal (my deb in July) and the guys I like...and voila! I don't eat that chocolate!! And even though I haven't lost heaps of weight yet, I have soooo much more energy! I don't get stuffed running, (well not as quickly :D) and I can play netball for much longer periods of time, and I get to hard shots in tennis so much easier!

Originally posted by aggels
I don't believe in diets, really I don't. For the past two months I've been exercising every night, eating totally healthy, doing the no carbs after lunchtime, and guess what? I feel great, I have a lot more energy, but I've put on 2kgs. I don't get it.

Throw away the scales, muscle weighs more than fat, so when you first start dieting & exercising you can weigh more, but are actually slimmer.

The best way to tell if you are losing weight is by your clothes & looking in the mirror.

If anyone is interested, I have an excellent eating program from the gym I worked at, you eat 5 to 6 times a day, but it is very low fat, no carbos after 2pm & does work, PM me if you want & I can email it to you.

I used to be a fat bastard but I trimmed down a lot last year. Lost around 25kg - but unfortunately there's no quick fix. Regular exercise is a must. Rain, hail or shine; go out and walk for a half-hour walk twice a day. 7 days a week, no exceptions ever - even if there's a wild thunderstorm outside, or you're sick or hungover or you're busy - no excuses. It's the only way.
I'm down to 80kg now, which is OK for my height (I'm fairly tall). My weight's stabilised this year and I haven't lost any more weight, but I've dropped a shirt size. Don't know how that's possible.

I use to be a large person. I had a knee reconstruction last year as most of you know and well, it has caused me to lose a lot of weight and be a more sporty person. I will soon know how well it reflects on my football, but people have been saying I will be a better player.
Anyway, I can give you some ideas that I did. As I did my knee and wasn't very active, I cut everything out of my diet. I had no soft drink, no junk food whatsoever. I even had no carbohydrates, or if I did, not many. I ate brown bread instead of white bread and brown rice instead of white rice. Anyway as I wasn't active, I lost weight because of what I ate. And ever since I have had my reco, I have been doing exercise a fair bit.
If you want to lose weight, exercise is the way to go.
The Christmas holidays came and I decided, well I may aswell do everything. I did physical activity twice a day in the holidays, morning and afternoon. I don't know how much weight I've lost, but shirts are too big for me and so are the school shorts I wore last year.
I have no idea how much I've lost as I've done a lot of strength work aswell so as the fat has been rapidly disappearing, the muscle has been building up. But yeah, I know i've lost a lot because I'm much thinner around the stomach than what I was last year and I don't have a gut anymore.
There are some ideas in which you could use if you want to lose weight.
Physical activity is a must. Here are some ideas. Exercise sessions should be 30-45 minutes 4-6 times a week with a rest day or 2. Try and alternate it around a bit. One day go for a ride, then another day go for a swim, and another day go for a run or walk. Its best not to do just one thing.
After 2 weeks once you are active, boost up the intensity in the exercise a bit, a gradually increase it up. If you are walking, start running. If you started running, start doing short sprint work aswell.
But I went crazy in the holidays when we had no school lol and did a whole lot of work which payed off. I only had a few rest days over Christmas, then a week in January and thats all.
Also, eat right aswell. Cut out soft drink and any junk food that you are having now. You can probably make a day in a week where you can have junk food, but cut most of it out and follow the simple guidelines of physical activity that has been mentioned.

I lost a bit weight in the summer holidays without even realising it. I didn't mean to, I don't think I felt like eating much. I ate most of my food after 1am and went to sleep very early in the morning. Most of what I ate were sandwiches (like heaps! :D) and I only did a little bit of exercise...I must of lost the weight because I wasn't eating right. That's not healthy...but recently I've done a fair bit of exercise and have been eating better and I've stayed the same weight. I feel a bit thinner though.

Originally posted by Rohan_
Losing weight is all about variety and if you do the same thing the body will adapt and fewer inroads will be made.

Being more active will help you lose weight as it will ignite the bodies furnace, you metabolism. The more you exercise the greater the rate of burning when you exercise and when you are at rest. What will also increase is your muscle mass and as muscles demand more kilojues to maintain themselves, the more muscle you have the more you will burn at rest and at exercise.

It doesn’t matter what foods you use. Protein and Carbohydrate diets are fads and it all relates to how many calories you take in and how many calories you burn. If you burn more than you take in you will lose weight.

Aerobic activities such as walking, running, cycling and swimming all facilitate fat burning. This is because the heart is worked to such a degree that it burns fat and is normally 60 to 70% of your maximum heart rate.

However the more you exercise the more you will want to eat. Muscles that have been used require fuel to maintain themselves and they derive this energy from foods such as Carbohydrates (fuel for muscle) and protein (maintenance for muscles).

Always drink 8 cups of water per day as it facilitates weight loss and it also cleans out your system.

This may seem like a dumb question rohan - however......if I don't want to lose weight (in actual fact I wouldn't mind putting a bit on) is it a problem that I drink LOTS of water each day? Will that stop me putting on weight?

Originally posted by Rohan_
Always drink 8 cups of water per day as it facilitates weight loss and it also cleans out your system.

I was reading somewhere that the '8 cups a day' has not been scientifically proven, a dietetican made that figure up. However it is proven that water is the best thing to drink. Cut out soft drink NOW if you want to lose weight, drink water instead. If you love the carbonated stuff, buy mineral water. It is amazing how many calories in Coke, in fact Sprite has even more sugar.

Avoid junk food. Maccas etc is disgusting for the amount of fat and calories, you can get your entire daily allowance and then some from one serving.

Alcohol is a contributing factor, however if you are sensible in your day to day food intake, you can get away with a sesh on the weekend with no damage to the diet.

And the other thing:

Exercise!!! There is no short cut. Weight lifting combined with cardio work is the only way to. Building up muscle increases metabolism and the cardio work burns up excess calories. I prefer cycling and walking, running is too hard on the joints IMO, unless you're cool with hip and knee replacements in later years. If you have to run do it on the beach.

I'm currently reading a book on eating foods based around your blood type. The theory behind it is that each blood type indicates how your body handles different food types, and there are certain weaknessess in your body depending on blood type. The author (a nutritionist) had recognised that you could put a handful of people on exactly the same food diet and some would lose weight, others wouldnt have any effect and some would gain. So he set out to work out why this happend. And it all pointed towards each persons blood type.

The theory centers around the development of each type. Type O blood was the type of early man who mainly ate meat. Once the population started increasing and meat supply's started becoming scarser, man starting spreading out to other regions of the world (mainly Asia and the middle east) to find food. It was at this stage where type A develop, as these people began eating a lot of fresh fruits, vegies, grains and nuts.

Centurys later, man began migrating through India and later Europe, and began farming animals, and living of their products (meat, dairy etc)

AB has been a "recent" adaption of the mingling of type A and type B blood.

So basically the theory is that each blood type still carries these distinct characteristics, and thats how you should be eating.

Its all very interesting. Before reading this, I've found that I was pretty much eating how the book sets out for my type A blood. Since reading, I've been cutting out a lot of the foods that don't agree with type A's and I've been feeling fantastic.

Its well worth the read

Another tip that has worked for me: sit ups. Since I built up my abs, I have notice that I cannot eat as much as I did previously.

Originally posted by Sly77
I'm currently reading a book on eating foods based around your blood type. The theory behind it is that each blood type indicates how your body handles different food types, and there are certain weaknessess in your body depending on blood type. The author (a nutritionist) had recognised that you could put a handful of people on exactly the same food diet and some would lose weight, others wouldnt have any effect and some would gain. So he set out to work out why this happend. And it all pointed towards each persons blood type.

The theory centers around the development of each type. Type O blood was the type of early man who mainly ate meat. Once the population started increasing and meat supply's started becoming scarser, man starting spreading out to other regions of the world (mainly Asia and the middle east) to find food. It was at this stage where type A develop, as these people began eating a lot of fresh fruits, vegies, grains and nuts.

Centurys later, man began migrating through India and later Europe, and began farming animals, and living of their products (meat, dairy etc)

AB has been a "recent" adaption of the mingling of type A and type B blood.

So basically the theory is that each blood type still carries these distinct characteristics, and thats how you should be eating.

Its all very interesting. Before reading this, I've found that I was pretty much eating how the book sets out for my type A blood. Since reading, I've been cutting out a lot of the foods that don't agree with type A's and I've been feeling fantastic.

Its well worth the read

That sounds really interesting Sly, what's the book called? :)

I didn't have much choice with all my weight loss, so yeah there's a tip folks, inherit Irritable Bowel Syndrome, it does wonders as far as losing weight goes. :confused: lol. I've had to cut out a lot of foods from my diet just to keep the illness under control, so yeah. I can't say I feel fantastic, but I feel a lot better than I have for many months. :) I've even managed to put on a kg, which is nice coz I found myself a little bit underweight. The best part though is that I did lose weight, but I'm not like a stick. YAY.