Votes: 20 41.7%

Carlos

Went and had lunch before. Was really in a quandary as to what to get but the decision was pretty much made for me as the local death shop cookie launched a fresh batch of mystery bags into the hot tray under the window of pain. Couldnt help myself and grabbed a few those skewers with the 4 little mystery parcels, commonly referred to as death on a stick.

Anyway, I went for the steamed first. Went down a treat so i got confident and went another couple of sticks but they only had fried left. Not being overly fussy, i indulged. Must say they didn't go down as well, but perhaps this could be attributed to the heart burn that was kicking in as a consequence of the litre of soy sauce i marignated them in.

So people, what is it? Steamed or Fried?

Its the important issues that get discussed here on Bigfooty.

ahhh the humble dimmie. golden hand-made parcels of joy, staple of the bain marie or steamer, and curer of hangovers. oft confused as chinese fare, but nevertheless accepted as such in the best aust-chinese tradition.

without a doubt, the best of these tasty morsels can be had at Dragon Wok, Shop 25, South Melbourne Market. There, they are lovingly stuffed with roughly cut cabbage, onion and minced pork, first steamed, then fried. 80c for a dimmie that is as big as your fist. the shop has been there for donkeys years and dimmies and springrolls are all they sell, and they sell out real quick each day.

as for the method of mastication, it HAS to be fried. the glistening hot oil seals in the mystery meat goodness, so that each bite unleashes a burst of flavour, followed by the textural crunchiness of the golden hued skin. flavour country!

steamed is not bad either, but the skin has the tendency to turn to mush real quick. accompanying soy is good, but better is a little chilli sauce for that spice kick that sets the taste buds tingling.

the fish and chippy staple - Marathon - is OK, but nothing beats the hand made stuff! and BTW, the worst dimmies I've ever had at the footy were at Colonial Stadium....they were dried almost to the point of desiccation, expensive and totally devoid of flavour.

As a vegetarian, steamed dim sims with soy sauce have been one of my biggest weaknesses. No, in fact my biggest weakness. Never liked fried dim sims much, maybe because my mum used to cook us steamed ones or maybe just because I don't like fried much of anything.

Definitely fried. I lived in Canberra during the seventies, for three years. Dimmies were impossible to get. Everytime I'd come back to Melbourne, I'd do a Dimmie crawl down the Hume. Apparently, they're as rare as hen's teeth in Tassie too.

Originally posted by sussudio
ahhh the humble dimmie. golden hand-made parcels of joy, staple of the bain marie or steamer, and curer of hangovers. oft confused as chinese fare, but nevertheless accepted as such in the best aust-chinese tradition.

without a doubt, the best of these tasty morsels can be had at Dragon Wok, Shop 25, South Melbourne Market. There, they are lovingly stuffed with roughly cut cabbage, onion and minced pork, first steamed, then fried. 80c for a dimmie that is as big as your fist. the shop has been there for donkeys years and dimmies and springrolls are all they sell, and they sell out real quick each day.

as for the method of mastication, it HAS to be fried. the glistening hot oil seals in the mystery meat goodness, so that each bite unleashes a burst of flavour, followed by the textural crunchiness of the golden hued skin. flavour country!

steamed is not bad either, but the skin has the tendency to turn to mush real quick. accompanying soy is good, but better is a little chilli sauce for that spice kick that sets the taste buds tingling.

the fish and chippy staple - Marathon - is OK, but nothing beats the hand made stuff! and BTW, the worst dimmies I've ever had at the footy were at Colonial Stadium....they were dried almost to the point of desiccation, expensive and totally devoid of flavour.

Yeah, what he said! :D (Who am I to argue with an obvious expert in the culinary delights of a dim sim!)

Originally posted by sussudio

the fish and chippy staple - Marathon - is OK, but nothing beats the hand made stuff!
Preach it brother!

This post moved me.

Steamed!!! Tried to fry some at home once just cos i was bored... it made the most disgusting smell in the house, and my stomach churns just from the thought of them and the oil!!

Originally posted by Sly77

Really? Any reason?

Not sure. Could be something to do with there not being a distributor. As I think about it though, I recall there may have been something in the health regs about importing processed food into the ACT. As for Tassie, I think lack of distribution is the problem there. Now there's an opening for a bright entrepreneur.

Another thing. Has anyone noticed the huge variations in the consistency of soy sauce. I prefer it as black as poss. I reckon some places must water it down.

Definetely fried!

You can really get them to kick as you pitch them just short of a length - positively fizz through to the keeper!!

Get them to hoop through the air into the wind as well!!

Steamed just explode when they hit the deck :(

Cheers

Gonzo