DOBBING and SQUEALING

K guys i'm talking about petty instances not serious crimes.

I think of a person more highly if they choose to get even themselves rather than dob bitch moan and complain like a baby and make it someone elses problem.

Look at the AFL players at the Tribunal some of them still go by the code of silence and big ups to them for doing it.

I think it depends on the circumstances, for example if someone was going to get seriously hurt if you didn't speak up, or something along those lines.

If it's just something minor, then it's up to the person who does the dobbing, because they'll have to face the consequences if anyone finds out it was them. And if they do it just to be a pest then they also run the risk of not being taken seriously when they tell someone something serious and no one cares because the person dobs all the time. ;)

Originally posted by KiNgCliVe26
K guys i'm talking about petty instances not serious crimes.

I think of a person more highly if they choose to get even themselves rather than dob bitch moan and complain like a baby and make it someone elses problem.

Look at the AFL players at the Tribunal some of them still go by the code of silence and big ups to them for doing it.

If it is something minor, then yep I think it's probably better not to say anything. One of the problems with the tribunal though, is that in the old days there was the code of silence but you could square it up later on the field. A bit more difficult to do these days, so I'm not sure if the code should be as rigorously enforced. This is particularly the case when someone, for example, gets his jaw broken and says something meaningless like "Yeah nah, I felt a sight tap to the face, seemed to brush off my shoulder, nothing too serious, didn't really see who it was and I carried on giving it 110%."

Originally posted by bunsen burner
Brett Burton anyone?

Role model in my view

The players code of silence is a joke.

These blokes are supposed to set the example for kids and yet they lie at the tribunal almost without fail.

Lying should not be condoned.

If players feel the need to break the rules then they should face up to their actions.

Brett told the truth that a bloke smashed him in the face at the bottom of the pack.

The fact that Burton is the villain here, is a clear example of why our society is going down the toilet.

Honesty is a virtue.

Originally posted by Jars458
Role model in my view

These blokes are supposed to set the example for kids and yet they lie at the tribunal almost without fail.

Lying should not be condoned.

If players feel the need to break the rules then they should face up to their actions.

Brett told the truth that a bloke smashed him in the face at the bottom of the pack.

The fact that Burton is the villain here, is a clear example of why our society is going down the toilet.

Honesty is a virtue.

Thoroughly agree. When asked a question it should be answered honestly.

As for observing something minor and then dobbing is pretty lame. "Oh no that Port supporter in the Torana is doing 70 in a 60 zone" *writes down rego* etc.

Dean Lupson did that after he was suspended for 5 matches in the Ballarat Football League. He copped an indefinate ban which means that he can't play any footy at all until he can prove that he can play proper footy. His team, Sunbury, has also been suspended from the 2004 season.

Originally posted by Jars458

What goes on the field, stays on the field. No need to take it off the field and dob someone in out of spite. That is being childish. There are cameras for that.

Role model for kids? Sorry, but no kid of mine is going to be a little snitch.