Opinion Done Better?

Looks like the Do Better report activities have come to a bit of a conclusion …

Seems as though the expert panel has now been disbanded. And the final recommendation left open as a sign that we see that our own house is in order, and we work to be a positive influence on the rest of the competition.

What about lumumba, still outside? Surely we can do better?
Michael Scott No GIF

What about lumumba, still outside? Surely we can do better?

At worst he’s unpopular, at best he’s divisive …

… but being reasonable about it, it’s not good for the club to have such a difficult relationship with an ex-player.

But reconciliation can’t come at any cost. Sometimes these things are too far gone. If anything, it’s become a pertinent reminder that any issues need to be dealt with at the time, and not be left to fester for years.

and we work to be a positive influence on the rest of the competition
As shown by Sizer calling out the AFL I sense this is the beginning of a much more vocal Collingwood regarding racialist behaviours and racial education / processes. A Collingwood that wants to be leader in this area. I suspect it won’t be confined to footy or sport either.

It’s good that the club wants to share the learnings of having gone through this process.

As shown by Sizer calling out the AFL I sense this is the beginning of a much more vocal Collingwood regarding racialist behaviours and racial education / processes. A Collingwood that wants to be leader in this area. I suspect it won’t be confined to footy or sport either.

It’s good that the club wants to share the learnings of having gone through this process.

Hmmm …

… perhaps I’m a little more cynical about all this.

When was the last time Collingwood preached publicly on a topic and the AFL / other clubs thought ‘yeah, we need to be more like Collingwood’? SSM maybe, but can’t think of any others.

I reckon all this stuff - Sizer’s comments, Browne’s comments on Tassie, Wrapping up Do Better with a bow on top - is all about ensuring the upcoming AGM is a calm, polite and cordial event.

(Nothing wrong with that by the way)

We did the wrong thing, we mucked up the response, we've done something about it.

We have a system in place for future stuff ups. Hopefully not needed.

Good luck to Lumumba, fine player who played his guts out for us. No need for a racist nickname.

I'm glad he spoke up despite flogs sniping at him, otherwise we'd be in Hawthorn territory still. Anyone who hates him, maybe black and white isnt for you? Loyalty is a Collingwood virtue, racism isnt.

Id love him to come back to the club, but if hes sick of it I'd understand, the crap he puts up from flogs makes me sick, cant imagine how its been for him.

We did the wrong thing, we mucked up the response, we've done something about it.

Good luck to Lumumba, fine player who played his guts out for us. No need for a racist nickname.

I'm glad he spoke up despite flogs sniping at him, otherwise we'd be in Hawthorn territory still. Anyone who hates him, maybe black and white isnt for you? Loyalty is a Collingwood virtue, racism isnt.

Id love him to come back to the club, but if hes sick of it I'd understand, the crap he puts up from flogs makes me sick, cant imagine how its been for him.
Each to their own. Count me in as one of those flogs. I cannot abide the man and would not be unhappy if he never again sets foot in the club.

Thank you

Hmmm …

… perhaps I’m a little more cynical about all this.

When was the last time Collingwood preached publicly on a topic and the AFL / other clubs thought ‘yeah, we need to be more like Collingwood’? SSM maybe, but can’t think of any others.

I reckon all this stuff - Sizer’s comments, Browne’s comments on Tassie, Wrapping up Do Better with a bow on top - is all about ensuring the upcoming AGM is a calm, polite and cordial event.

(Nothing wrong with that by the way)

76, I’m usually the cynical one!

I’m proud of how our club has dealt with this. And if people like Sizer and Leon Davis are happy with our progress, then I’m happy too.

I’m not sold on Jeff Browne, so I won’t comment on his comments other than to say we see and hear very little from him, which is a good thing.

At worst he’s unpopular, at best he’s divisive …

… but being reasonable about it, it’s not good for the club to have such a difficult relationship with an ex-player.

But reconciliation can’t come at any cost. Sometimes these things are too far gone. If anything, it’s become a pertinent reminder that any issues need to be dealt with at the time, and not be left to fester for years.
I am not up with the details here, never saw a clear apology from the club when the report came up - probably missed it. Nor do I know why there was some angst when the report came out from him, krak & Leon. Now the latter two are on-board I wish he would join. Not criticising the club, not sure what they can do. My truth is the nickname wasn't cool & the Eddie stuff justifiably hurt a lot more than was recognised at the time. Then there was the further racism when Ed & bucks said there were worried about him. I think the hate for HL is a sign of how damaging systematic racism can be.