Don't dwell

What a season you guys have had. Coming from where you sat at round 22 last year, to where you guys are now, today did not do you guys justice.

I've kept a very close eye on the tigers this year, and something special is in the works. Your youth is coming through and your forward line will look very mean in the next few years.

Sure, you got belted today, but inconsistency comes with a young side. Look at the ups and downs of Carlton, i think we went win/loss/win/loss for a good 8-9 weeks. You guys have managed to string wins together, and you've won the games you were expected to win.

You made Carltons big off-season look like crap in round 1, you were the first side to draw blood V the dogs, you came within a few points on the saints, not to mention that magnificent first half over the dons earlier this year.

Who thought the tigers would be playing off for the 8? 9/10 people had you guys (or Carlton) sitting 16th at seasons end, you've proven a hell of a lot of people wrong.

Richmond have made extremely good progress in one season, and it will only get sweeter.

I watched the game today, and it wasn't the same Richmond i've seen over the past 18 weeks.

2009 will be a great year for our clubs that have copped so much crap over the past 6-7 years! :thumbsu:

Thanks mate, and positivity is needed here sometimes.

We played the worst game I've seen us play all season - and it's deflated a lot of supporters who though we were better than that.

When the heat was on - we melted. We overpossesed the ball, and started to hold onto the ball instead of running it, despite the fact we don't have the footskills to hold onto it, and we have the pace to make other teams hurt on the break.

We need to back ourselves, just like our supporters back the Tiges.

We all love the Tigers, but performances like that make you want to screw up your membership.

We hope to see the Tigers in the 8 with the Blue Boys next year.

Well anyone who has a go at you is an idiot.
I agree both Carlton and Richmond have enormous upside and will make a huge rivalry in the close future. Today just gave us a dose of reality - we are not ready for finals and who can blame us? We got killed everywhere last year:thumbsu:

If we don't make finals in 2009 I will get really pissed but I am fine with ninth in 2008.

It's not that we got beat but rather how we got beat that is the problem.

I can accept losses, years with no finals and a ninth place finish. As long as the team on the park digs deep and has a red hot crack.

Unfortunately every team has one of those days, or in younger sides case, a few of those days where the team just isn't there to play, or they're playing at 50% and you wonder how it happens in a professional sport, but in modern day footy it seems to happen more often, even to the best of them.

Look at Geelong when they turned up V Collingwood - or rather, didn't turn up.

We'd all love our sides to rock up and play 100% week in week out, but it just doesn't happen. Look at the blues, we're in the same position as you guys and we fail to rock up nearly every 2nd or 3rd game.

You guys have had a stellar year in your own books, and as a young team days like today happen more often - where you think to yourself "how?". Just look at that light at the end of the tunnel, it's looking a hell of a lot brighter than 365 days ago - and more so than a fair chunk of those other bottom 8 sides.

Exactly, would be alright with the loss if they put up a fight but loss, but when there is little to no fight, it hurts alot more.

It sure was on of those days, nothing seemed to go right for the Tigers.

But it has indeed been a teriffic season for Richmond, but not unexpected.

Wallace said that the 4th year of his plan would set the foundations for the Tigers to become finals aspirants, and he has delivered.
2009 should see us making the finals, and pushing for a top4 spot.

Wallace is delivering on his plan, which is great for the Riuchmond football club.

Well done, just a big all round well done to TW and his team for their magnificient long term plan that will make the Tigers an AFL superpower :thumbsu:

I said it to TigerGlory at the start of the year and Ill say it again, underestimate Richond at your own peril. Yep they copped a beating today but that happens to young teams, inconsistency is the reason.

Carlton vs Richmond next year will be a belter:thumbsu:

I have said before that Richmond has been developing, but as a young side would always run the risk of the occasional terrible game that shakes the faith of the supporters.

A little like Geelong circa 2003, the young bodied midfielders would be taken apart by the likes of the Crows, the Lions or the Port Adelaides of that era. But the young bodies will develop, and will strengthen in time.

Geelong in 2006 had got the season back to an even-ish keel at 8-8 when we played the Kangaroos at Canberra. A terrible game saw the Roos kick the opening 5 goals of the game, and Geelong was made to look silly. That loss set our finals chances on their heels, and we stumbled away to a 10-11-1 season sin the end, with a shocker of a loss to Hawthorn in Rd 22.

If the Tigers say lose to Hawthorn and beat the remaining sides, you also will be 10-11-1. The same base we were in 2006. I seriously believe that with a little more development, a full pre-season in some of the young blokes, and the fact that Foley, Deledio, Tambling will be 22 with 4 full seasons behind them, your midfield will be starting to develop a powerful young core. They will be entering the demographic that most good sides require. I reckon the 2011 plan may be on track, next year definately finals, 2010 a chance for top 4, and 2011 a serious crack. A few bad losses in a development year isn't the end of the world. Consistency comes with experience.

I ask one thing. Picture Deledio, Tambling, Foley, Cotchin, Reiwoldt, Thursfield, Moore, McGuane, Pattison etc with 100-150 games under their belt. That's the time your side will shine.

Just that i see similar things at the Tigers to what i have seen at Geelong. In all honesty, after 1999 when Cook, Costa and Thompson came to the club the talk of maybe being a chance for a flag by 2005 seemed far-fetched. After 2003 when we had a 7-14-1 season though there seemed to be some positive signs. 2004 was good, 2005 we somehow came to the cusp of beating the Swans in a final despite actually losing 9 of our last 15 games! 2006 was terrible, the start of that season, the close losses to the Eagles, Demons, Dogs killed us, and it all looked like the talk was just that. We were miles away from a serious threat.

But then 'it' happened. Like a switch in a way, the win against the Tigers in Rd 6 last year has seen 37 wins from 39 games eventuate. I suddenly believe that if Geelong could do it, then other clubs can too. And Richmond are developing their side with a midfield bent, like Geelong did by getting blokes like Corey, Kelly, Bartel, Ablett, Chapman etc as most of their earlier selections. The Tigers picked Deledio and Tambling, and have grabbed Cotchin and also gained Foley off the rookie list. That will be a pretty strong midfield engine in time to come, they are all no older than 22 or so now.

You haven't tanked either like Carlton, or even the Pies in 2005, and have done things the hard, but noble way. I just hope good karma comes and your side developes the belief to start playing the way that will gain you success. Not sure whether it will happen with the flick of a switch, but i certainly see the 2011 time-frame being an accurate representation of where your club is likely to be. I am sure that most Tiger fans would agree that even if you made finals this year, it would be premature. You have drawn with the Dogs, but haven't won against any other side in the 8. Better to miss out, and have a bigger crack next year, it may be better than suffering a big defeat in an elimination final had you got in to play say a 5th placed Collingwood or Crows side that would be fully wound up in finals mode.

Keep the faith, and i also sort of agree with Peter Sassegum even, your side is on the right track. And i reckon the midfield will be the engine that will drive the Tigers to success in the following years.

Why is it that you make so much more sense about Richmond than so many supporters of the club? Please don't go.

Outsiders see what the Insiders don't. Hell i feel like absolute crap after a Cartlon loss, it sits with me for days - it's the big picture no one looks at after a loss, especially a thrashing.

As Catsace said, imagine Deledio, Tambling, Foley, Cotchin, Reiwoldt, Thursfield, Moore, McGuane & Pattison in 1-2 years time.

I posted this on a different thread earlier tonight but don't seem to be getting a response out of anyone from it and also i figure its more relevant to this thread so i'm going to repost it. I'd appreciate peoples comments either good or bad! And can i add how sad i think it is that a Carlton supporter has more support for Richmond than some of our own supporters! Anyway, this is what i posted earlier...

Don't think i can sit back and read anymore!

I'm only new to this board and for the most part just tend to laugh at some of the comments people make on here. I've been a very passionate Tiger supporter for all of my 20 years in life and am now starting to get fed up with some of the crap i read on here. So here goes for my 2 bobs worth after watching the game today.

I seem to notice that alot of people comment on how TW has been at the club for 4 years and we should be in the top four and look at how hawthorn and bulldogs are doing, etc etc. People who make these comments i believe have got no idea! Richmond hasn't had an elite champion in my time watching Richmond. The closest to it would have to be Richo but lets face it he has plenty of flaws! When Hawthorn and Bulldogs where down the bottom they still had some champions in they're team who you can build and develop young kids around until those kids surpass those champions! I refer to the likes of Brad Johnson, Scott West at the bulldogs and Shane Crawford at Hawthorn! Richmond had no one! Not one!!!

The team that is out there playing at the moment was built from scratch, almost every position, which brings me to my next point.... Terry Wallace!

Now i know that many won't agree with this, but in my opinion we would be making a very bad decision if we decided to sack Terry Wallace! Some of the things he has said throughout his time at Richmond have put supporters off because they sound like excuses, but i believe he is spot on with most of the things he says. For example he's assessment that we won't be real contenders until about 2010,2011. This year we have made some improvement from last year even though there have been some very bad performances. Next year i would expect us to make the lower parts of the eight, and after that i think we should be pushing for top four.

The one i always love to debate with people is the Buddy Franklin over Tambling choice! I agree with most others, bad choice! Buddy is going to be a superstar and tambling at best an average to good player! But who would've known this back at the time when they were chosen! I recall hearing that we apparently picked up Tambling for a steal when we got him considering how well he was playing in U18's. Buddy was injured most of the time in U18's and that there were some real concerns about his behaviour, committment, etc.

So at the end of the day we lost out with that pick, but i wouldn't be hanging TW or the recruiters too much over it. You can only judge a player by how he's playing at U18's. Hindsight is a wonderful thing and in most drafts after about pick 3 it turns out to be a lottery. If you're lucky you'll get a good one if not well bad luck!

Playing finals would have been great this year purely just for the experience! Todays performance was very bad, but we haven't beaten Adelaide in the last 5 years because the kids just aren't big enough against they're much bigger bodies! The time will come though.

So rather than being a typical bandwagon supporter i'm sticking by whats happening at the tiges and believe that we're on our way! Still a while off the big time but on our way which is far more than i could've said a few years ago.

Stick by the club we all love! Don't do whats killed the club ever since i've been alive and constantly pot it everytime something goes bad!

There's my 2 bobs worth, i'd love 2 hear what you have 2 say in reply...

I think that most people here need to understand that the level of frustration comes from not the fact the side lost but the manner in which it did. It doesn't matter if you are a 1st or 10th year player you have got to have a red hot go week in week out. Especially in a season defining game such as today.

I don't question the fact that the club is in much beter shape now than it was 4 years ago. However forget this plan projection for a moment. The club today had a golden oppurtunity to make a statment about its playing future and set up a real chance to play finals football and came up terrible short. Having said that if history tells us anything the club will most likely come out and beat the Hawks next week only to lose the Melbourne round 22.

Like the Tigers of Old yes, just not the Tigers of Old enough just last 25 years old today.

Toppstar, I read your post earlier, and I agree with it completely.
Seconded. As always, JSFish.

Great post Toppstar. I don't agree that Richo isn't a champion...I think most impartial fans would agree that Richo is at least equal with Johnson and Crawford, if not better. But its your opinion, your entitled to it :p;)

Most people here do understand that it was the manner in which we lost which was disappointing. Most people here are disappointed. Just because we still see a bright future for the team doesn't mean we aren't disappointed with the effort today.

Seconded. As always, JSFish.

Great post Toppstar. I don't agree that Richo isn't a champion...I think most impartial fans would agree that Richo is at least equal with Johnson and Crawford, if not better. But its your opinion, your entitled to it :p;)
Very nicely played.

And yes, I should mention that the Richo part was the one section I didn't agree with. He is an absolute legend. The rest of it I still agree with though:thumbsu:

I think that most people here need to understand that the level of frustration comes from not the fact the side lost but the manner in which it did. It doesn't matter if you are a 1st or 10th year player you have got to have a red hot go week in week out. Especially in a season defining game such as today.

I don't question the fact that the club is in much beter shape now than it was 4 years ago. However forget this plan projection for a moment. The club today had a golden oppurtunity to make a statment about its playing future and set up a real chance to play finals football and came up terrible short. Having said that if history tells us anything the club will most likely come out and beat the Hawks next week only to lose the Melbourne round 22.

Like the Tigers of Old yes, just not the Tigers of Old enough just last 25 years old today.

Very good point! Today was shocking! No other way to explain it! The skill level in the first half was hopeless to say the least! And because of how bad it was i think the players were just shell shocked and the effort went with it in the second half.

I just can't stand the negativity! I'm very disappointed with today like everyone else but overall happy with some of the things i've seen this year! Can't stand when as soon as we have a horrible game people seem to forget all the good things that have happened this year and just focus on all thats bad! To those people all i can say is that i hope they don't live the rest of their lives in the same way they follow their football team!

Very nicely played.

And yes, I should mention that the Richo part was the one section I didn't agree with. He is an absolute legend. The rest of it I still agree with though:thumbsu:

I probably should have rephrased what i said in regards to Richo. I love Richo and believe he's the best player we've had in the last 20 years! I believe Richo is a champion but slightly below those other guys simply due to his reliability. You never know what you're gunna get with Richo! No 2 kicks are ever the same! The players i love in teams are the ones who when they get the ball you know they're going to do the right thing with it!

As highly as i think of Richo, sadly he's never been Mr Reliable in the pressure situation!