footyman

Gold Coast
We heard all about the star U18 footballers last week in the National Championships, but what about the outsiders for the draft. Who are the players who you think might be a chance for the draft that don't have the high profiles already? With the draft not being too deep there are still some very good footballers running around in the TAC Cup, SANFL and WAFL that will be drafted in November.

I have been impressed with a few of the blokes from Calder this year who didn't play for Vic Metro. Jarrod Silvester is a tall, athletic defender who will no doubt be attracting interest at the end of the year. Brent Hartigan continues to impress, played a very tight game on the leading goalkicker in the TAC Cup yesterday and held him goalless (Luke Herrington). His height may count against him, but he can play tall and gives the Cannons a lot of drive into the forward line as well with his good foot skills.

From the VFL a bloke I like the look of is Josh Rudd now at North Ballarat. I think he might end up at an AFL club next year, and I have heard rumours about Kemperman from Frankston as well who was a high possession player at Dandenong Stingrays last year but was overlooked by AFL clubs.

Victoria provides a lot of talent every year. I know GOALden Hawk and weaver see a bit of TAC Cup, who are your smokies boys?

mattyc2422---- Daniel Chidlow from WA.

I dont share the same optimism here Matty, impressive at the carnival but i dont think he'll cut it at AFL level.

I only think about 7 odd WA players will get drafted this year as well.

Adam Edwards WA (dean laidleys cousin, mad north fan) he is one of the top colts players in the WAFL this year, top 5 in the coaches voting awards,plays for East Perth Colts

Busustow (South Fremantle) will probably go under father son rule.....something I've heard around the traps.

Also heard Surjan is related to Glen Jakovich somehow

I have a soft spot for Ryan Brown at Frankston. He played most of his junior footy at CHF, swung to CHB at the tail end of last season and played well. I like that he has a mean streak, plays with a temper and occasionally swats someone. A little slow, but might be a handy late round pick.

Rudd is another who lacks a little pace and mobility. More and more clubs want their key defenders to be running guys who can rebound the ball. Most clubs are reluctant to carry too many 'pure' defenders.

One who might have been a little unlucky last year was Leigh Treeby who had a good under-18 finals campaign. He is apparantly doing OK in the SANFL.

Cayden Beetham might get a 2nd chance if he shows some form at Old Xavs. Carlton will be desparate to find a smokey or two.

travers seems like a great player at geelong falons , have not seen him play but his stats are great and gets in best players alot.

Rowan Bonson from the NT has already been talked about alot here at bigfooty. On the Eagles board, Adam Rowles from West Perth has been mentioned as a smokie as well.

???????Rudd is another who lacks a little pace and mobility. More and more clubs want their key defenders to be running guys who can rebound the ball. Most clubs are reluctant to carry too many 'pure' defenders.????????

Rudd plays as a CHF/HFF for Nth Ballarat and is swapped into the midfield or to FB occaisionally. Could someone who watches TAC confirm that he played on the ball for the Falcons last year? He is a big kid (190cm) who runs all day.

Another to watch is Thurley from Tassie.

Just off the top of my head:

Hartigan and Silvester already mentioned by footyman - Hartigan has impressed me in both games, he gave Herrington a bath on Sunday, great effort. Silvester is the perfect size for AFL once he fills out.

Another from the Cannons who has struggled with injury is Iacobucci. Might be a bit small, but when he is fit he is a very good footballer.

Darren Mizzi from Dandenong was good last year, but has been injured most of this year. He was excellent when I saw him in Round 1, and played well on his return on Sunday.

Mungara Brown from Northern has the flair that makes him stand out, might be looked at. And although he is Jan 85, Rowan Williams has really come on at CHB this year - I'm a bit biased but I reckon clubs should be looking at him for a rookie list at least.

Grant Schultz (NB) and Adam Jordan (Nor) have both impressed me this year in the ruck. They are both athletic and genuine tap ruckman, but probably an inch or two too short for AFL. They deserve to be looked at though, especially Jordan.

Travers I have been talking up all year - deserves to be drafted. Kayler-Thompson has a sensational raking left foot, plays well off half-back.

Adam Morrow is a smart footballer from Jets. Plays in defence, caught in that in-between size unfortunately. Another I really like from there is Chiu, the little terrier back pocket. Might be too small, but the way he goes about his footy is brilliant.

Ryan Brown from Frankston and Leigh Treeby have already been mentioned, should be looked at. From Box Hill Matthew Ball has been superb this season, will be in the mix, and if the rookie rule gets changed Hawthorn will take Doug Scott. Stevie Kenna is a gun, but too small, and Michael Rix hasn't done enough. Nick Gieschen is going OK at Coburg.

Originally posted by dasler
Busustow (South Fremantle) will probably go under father son rule.....something I've heard around the traps.

To Carlton I take it? Do you know if one of the WA clubs are eligible to pick him up?

Originally posted by Sera
To Carlton I take it? Do you know if one of the WA clubs are eligible to pick him up?

Buzz played alot of games for Perth, but I'm not too sure if it was above 150.

I remember seeing Buzz interviewed last year and he said his son would love to go to Carlton.

Originally posted by dasler

As things stand under the father and son rule, a son needs his father to have played 100 VFL/AFL games to qualify. Peter Bosustow played 65 games for Carlton. The two sons of the famous 'Buzz' are unavailable to the Blues because their premiership-playing dad did not manage the magic 100.

Originally posted by Weaver
One who might have been a little unlucky last year was Leigh Treeby who had a good under-18 finals campaign. He is apparantly doing OK in the SANFL.
Treeby started off OK with the Eagles but has been dropped from the league side in round about Rd 5 and has been at reserves since. Frankly he has been srtruggling in reserves ever since.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Treeby started off OK with the Eagles but has been dropped from the league side in round about Rd 5 and has been at reserves since. Frankly he has been srtruggling in reserves ever since.

There could be a few teams willing to take the risk with players that missed out on being drafted last year as the draft pool wont be too deep

Originally posted by pazza
If that Adam Rowles from West Perth (who was posted on here yesterday) is anything to go by...get him!!!

He was injured earlier in the year so he had no chance of making the u18 team. Apparently he is about 185cm and an outside ball magnet. Some people still don't rate him but his figures are hard to ignore. If he is the same Adam Rowles that played for the Kingsley Football club then I saw him play a few years ago against my brother's team but I haven't seen him play recently.

Doug Scott.

Son of Don, who plays for Box Hill. Could be a smokey to be picked up by the hawks. It is interesting also, that the hawks support the proposal to install a place on the list for a mature players, similar to a rookie listing.

Also from Box Hill for Kangaroo supporters, who seem to love pinching players from there, Steve Kenna aint a bad little goalsneak, but he's too one-sided in my opinion.

Farren Ray, 20/03/86, 182cm, 75kg, Peel
Ray continued his super year in the championships and he now leapt right up as one of the most promising players from Western Australia. Hailing from Peel Thunder, the same club as Daniel Wells, Ray is also quite capable of making the step up like his former teammate. He played a lone hand in Western Australia’s final game, as he won 27 disposals around centre wing, while he is a creative player with great vision, who uses both feet well and is courageous in the air with his contested marking. He finished third in the Larke Medal with Symes on 12 votes.

Cheers

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Similar thing happened to Matthew Lokan last year started the year in the Port Magpies seniors before ending the season in the reserves and ended up getting drafted. So there is still some hope for Treeby.

Originally posted by MadEagle
Farren Ray, 20/03/86, 182cm, 75kg, Peel
Ray continued his super year in the championships and he now leapt right up as one of the most promising players from Western Australia. Hailing from Peel Thunder, the same club as Daniel Wells, Ray is also quite capable of making the step up like his former teammate. He played a lone hand in Western Australia’s final game, as he won 27 disposals around centre wing, while he is a creative player with great vision, who uses both feet well and is courageous in the air with his contested marking. He finished third in the Larke Medal with Symes on 12 votes.

Cheers

How can a player that finished 3rd in the National Championships, watched by every scout in the country and shown on Foxtel be considered a "smoky" :confused:

Originally posted by kretchy
Similar thing happened to Matthew Lokan last year started the year in the Port Magpies seniors before ending the season in the reserves and ended up getting drafted. So there is still some hope for Treeby.
The difference is that Lokan was playing as a KPP (FF from memory) and was doing OK from memory. Treeby is used as a running player and is struggling. He might get drafted but i thnk he will be overlooked again.