occy437

Gday guys,
this is a first post in a while and definatly the first on the freo board just seeing what you guys think of dylan because my mum works with his mum and ive followed him recently. i think he is a very good player and could fill peter bells shoes when he retires but needs to be given some actual game time to devolp. another interesting fact is his sister plays cricket for the australian womens cricket team

Some freo BF members give him big wraps.
He is probably in the our top 28 players. At 23 years old you'd expect the next two years see him hit his straps fully.

Good to know his sister is also handy at sport. Her playing for Oz must make her parents very proud.

He's fantastic in hard ball gets and his game thrives when the play is tight, so wet weather suits him down to a T. Although he's been lacking game time, he's one of the reasons we've won in the past 2 weeks in my opinion!

2nd to Cookie at being hard at the ball, especially in packs.

i second that , i think his hardness at the ball makes up for his skill a little but still a fine player to have on our list.......

P.S does anyone think that schammer has started really slow this year after his pre season injury???

tico said:
2nd to Cookie at being hard at the ball, especially in packs.

i second that , i think his hardness at the ball makes up for his skill a little but still a fine player to have on our list.......

P.S does anyone think that schammer has started really slow this year after his pre season injury???

yeah i rekon, maybe back to WAFL?!

Yeah I reckon Schammer needs a couple of full games in the WAFL to get some touch. I thought bringing him straight back into the side underdone was a compliment to him, but also a gamble. He will be a good player for us but I think some of the WAFL players doing well deserve a go.

Must agree with most of the sentiments already posted. Smith is hard at the footy, and puts his body on the line. He may not have the skills quite there yet, but they can be taught and tuned. Being hard at the footy is worth far more, we don't need another Dessy Headland!

Belnakor said:
Must agree with most of the sentiments already posted. Smith is hard at the footy, and puts his body on the line. He may not have the skills quite there yet, but they can be taught and tuned. Being hard at the footy is worth far more, we don't need another Dessy Headland!
i don't think think skills can be taught, especially kicking skills

http://fremantlefc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=200344

Connolly was also full of praise of the efforts of Fremantle’s pinch hitters coming off the bench including midfielder Dylan Smith. The tenacious on-baller played his role to perfection with two standout efforts in the second term that included a smother and tackle to stop a couple of opposition attacks.

“We have a well credentialed midfield now with Josh Carr, Peter Bell, Paul Hasleby and Heath Black and Dylan deserves to be in the mix. When he’s come onto the field he’s performed well particularly in tight situations and in the last few weeks he’s been our best inside player in the way he’s controlled the ball and given it out to sweeping wingman and he’s played an important part,” said Connolly.