jikost

Oct 9, 2003
Anyone got any advice on which ones to get. Just got a new comp the other day and i can finally buy new games that will actually work and run properly without getting 300 pop-up messages telling me how sh*t my computer is. Well anyway, any sport will do except for NHL. Any help will be much appreciated.

Madden 2004 is the best NFL game on any format (and its the only NFL game on PC here in Oz).

PC version of Madden 2004 has better graphics than the xbox and ps2 versions, but you would definitely need a decent control pad for your pc (which is the case with any sports game really). You will need a control pad with 2 analog thumbsticks to make use of the playmaker features.

Thanks for the help but after downloading most of the demos the only one that was really good was Tiger Woods. So i bought that today and have now been playing non stop for 10 hours.

BTW does anyone know if there is an AFL EA game coming out shortly or is there only the acclaim one?

Originally posted by Abaddon
Madden 2004 is the best NFL game on any format (and its the only NFL game on PC here in Oz).

Damn straight.

Brilliant game, so far ahead of it's competition, it isn't funny.

Also love NBA Live 2004, although a few will argue that it's not as good as it has been.

Originally posted by go team
yeah cause the last time EA made an AFL game it fantastic... completley bug free... the greatest thing since sliced bread

Point taken, but EA were making ridiculously buggy games for more or less everything back then.
They have gotten significantly better, and right now, they make better sports games than anybody.

I haven't got any 2004 ones yet (why bother when you can get 2002 or 2003 ones for $20) so I can only recommend older ones.

Tiger Woods 2002 is a really good game, haven't noticed many bugs, and the gameplay is good. Doesn't bother me that there aren't heaps of players to choose from, but it may bother some.

F1 2001 is a load of crap. Avoid at all costs.

Cricket 2000 is a game I used to bag out...but now that I play using the keyboard rather than the mouse I am all for it. Does get a tad boring though because you can't play Tests or create players (to replace the redundant ones like the Waughs, Shane Lee etc)

NHL 2003 is an awesome game, but I won't continue because you have said you don't want it. :p

Am thinking of getting Cricket 2004 soon even though the one time I have played it I noticed plenty of bugs.

Originally posted by Swarbs
FIFA 2003 (not 2004)

For 2003 to be any good it would have to be a lot better than 2004 because the demo was laughably bad. iss pro evolution 2 on playstation was a fantastic soccer game a few years ago. Don't know if there is a new one for ps2 but that one was a beauty.

Originally posted by ViperV10
I haven't got any 2004 ones yet (why bother when you can get 2002 or 2003 ones for $20) so I can only recommend older ones.

Why bother? Because otherwise you're playing with horribly outdated rosters.

I know if i were playing an AFL game, i wouldn't want to have Squib Murphy, Brett Spinks and Leigh Colbert in the hoops. Would you?

Fifa 2004

I know there’s a lot of negativity surrounding this game but I really love it. The “off-the-ball” play (Moving the player with the ball at the same time as moving a loose player) isn’t too bad once you get used to it. I really hadn’t played any of the Fifa series since 98 (I loved indoor matches :D) so maybe its just a breath of fresh air for me. ;)

I havent played Tigerwoods yet, a mate had it on PC and loved it though.

FIFA 2003 is one of the best games i've ever played, especially 2 on 2. I reckon it's real good coz its really hard to master at first (which made me think it sucked for a few days) You need full concentration or else your buddies will goal. It's really hard to get the hang of scoring actually but it's so satisfying once you do get a goal. It's way faster and I think it has more realistic (tv esque) graphics than 2004.

Originally posted by phatandphreaky
Why bother? Because otherwise you're playing with horribly outdated rosters.

I know if i were playing an AFL game, i wouldn't want to have Squib Murphy, Brett Spinks and Leigh Colbert in the hoops. Would you?

AFL games...yes I would get the 2004 one if it was any good.

Other sports such as NHL don't bother me so much because I hardly know any of the players to start with.

I don't really care if I am missing a few new players.

EA Sports Games