Edwards Rising star Chances?

• Thread starter Thread starter Truetiger

he shouldve got one against adelaide if your talking about nominations. Played a great game there and was extremely exciting to watch.

:eek:

he wuold have to get close
if he plays out the year will he still be eligable next year if he doesnt get a nomination this week?

yeah everitt did play well

That everitt goes alright doesnt he? He is one of the least likely looking league footballers i can remember, yet he has some courage and a bit of dash. Needs to work on his disposal but u can tell he's got what it takes.

Edwards has been ok, but i wouldnt get too excited about that rising star stuff.

its all corporate/media driven waffle anyways.

Can you be nominated 2 years in a row if you are still elligible?

If you can't then I hope Edwards does not get a nomination this year because the way he is going he could win it next year.
He has some real zip and seems to get to the right place and at this stage his decision making is pretty good, and it will only get better with time.

He needs to eat gnocchi for brekkie every day, but he's probably earned a nomination.

He earned his nomination vs Sydney as well as Port Adelaide. I dont care if Spider from the dogs played well. Edwards should bloody get it from his last effort vs the swans.

ahah yeah :o

keep on flying under the radar Shane:)

Agree. I don't get what the fuss is about this award. What's it worth to the winner, about ten grand? That quite pitiful compared to the amount of coverage it gets for its sponsor. Ten g's would hardly cover a couple of wrestling fines for these blokes.

Slipping under the radar works much better. Blokes like Knights, Malceski, Stokes etc are setting the world on fire despite hardly getting noticed by the Rising Star judges. Took a couple of seasons before opposition coaches even started manning them up.

I'd reckon it'd be good for a highlight, especially in this terrible season we've had.

And it'd be good for Shane too, even given the state of the award...

Raines's runner up last season has me caring less about the validity of this award.
Come off it - Raines DID have a marvellous season last year and IMO he is only falling down this season with his kicking and his decisions on where to kick. And is he the only one in the team with this affliction? Hell no.

I still rate Raines - he just needs to work his arse off on kicking and making decisions under pressure and he'll be bloody marvellous again.

These two skills (kicking and decision making) are things that the entire Richmond Football Club should be working on. Yes - from Gary March to the cleaner's assistant. Everyone. I reckon the bloody fans should work on it too.

Perhaps if we all started working on our kicking and decision making under pressure, we could really enhance our club culture. I've got a footy...I reckon I might bring it to work tomorrow and go for a kick at lunch time. I'll see if I can get some security guards at the local outdoor food court to chase me while I kick. ;)