Tazzytiger

Ford
I was listening to the saints and crows game today and Nathan Brown was on.
He was asked after the game how he thought we were positioned for 2009 and he said we were only an elite midfielder short. The way he said it sounded like he knew something. Thoughts?

I think the elite mid = Kerr is on the list for sure+ a ruck = Warnock

I remember people thinking Brown was hinting that we would get Judd last year too.

In that case he has probably heard whispers, unless he didn't mean anything by it...

I think he meant ELITE!
Lids is/will be elite. Cotchin will be the best player ever. Foley will become the Joel Corey, escaping the tags because of the other two and racking up 30 touches a week. Like RT said, maybe if it was a tagger, but I can't see who that would be, and Polo and Jackson are showing a bit. Plus Tuck could have a bit of potential as a tagger. Midfield is looking alright.

why would warnock want to go to melbourne if a team like richmond want him at punt road, in 2 years will ceryainly be our no1 ruckman & im sure we can offer him what the dees are offering.

im also sure that freo would rather deal with the tigers than melbourne after the power point episode.

hyde , pettifer + 3rd rounder should get the deal done.
even though the stupid flogs on the freo board still think they will get a 1st rounder for him, the most deluded supporter base in afl/vfl history.

trade for warnock
take cousins in psd
add vickery & trengove or mckernan or hurley

As much as i would like Kerr,i think we area key forward,2nd ruckman & small forward (maybe Collard) away

We're a small backman short - ideally Raines can recapture decent form and fill the role.

Key forward short - Riewoldt not there yet (still does disappearing acts during games ala young Schulz), and Hughes is a one-trick pony. Our main deficiency.

If Kerr had an extra gear of speed, I'd say have a look, but we can't possibly fit Kerr, Johnson, Polo, Tuck, Coughlan and Foley in the same midfield - too many extractors whilst Foley is the only one with speed.

Not all doom and gloom though, by the end of this season all deadwood should have officially been cleared out.

If you cant see you need another strong KPF then you are all incredibly stupid. But I suppose I wouldnt put that past you lot.

Your midfield is fine.

Backline with Moore and Thursfield, with Mcgaune as a third tall option is ok.

Richo wont live forever and after him it's pretty slim pickings. :thumbsu:

hyde , pettifer + 3rd rounder should get the deal done.
even though the stupid flogs on the freo board still think they will get a 1st rounder for him, the most deluded supporter base in afl/vfl history.

trade for warnock
take cousins in psd
add vickery & trengove or mckernan or hurley
I dunno if you were being sarcastic or not, but...
If you seriously reckon Hyde, Tivendale and a 3rd rounder will get Warnock I think you'll find its you thats deluded.
Apologies if I missed the sarcasm ;)

We still need to find 2 ruckman, FB, CHB, CHF, FF and 3 more tough midfielders with skill.

You want two talls to add to Moore, McGuane, Thursfield and the promising Rance? We already have excess in tall backmen - the one place on the ground in which I'm absolutely sold.

Also, Coughlan, Tuck, Johnson and Foley all have knackers. So maybe 1 more tough mid.

We have picked the right players in the past 2 drafts.

Then Putt should be at least a satisfactory back-up ruckman if we've drafted the right players. Only need to look for one more ruck on the proviso Pattison and Graham show nothing next year.

Agree with the rest. CHF the biggy.

I don't quite understand why we need another mid.

Because thats the way the game has developed. Talls dont win games, it's the midfield rotations that win footy games. Look at North, Dog's and even the Cats... they win by attacking from defence with a hard running midfield. No big named forwards at those three clubs.

You want two talls to add to Moore, McGuane, Thursfield and the promising Rance? We already have excess in tall backmen - the one place on the ground in which I'm absolutely sold.

Also, Coughlan, Tuck, Johnson and Foley all have knackers. So maybe 1 more tough mid.

Then Putt should be at least a satisfactory back-up ruckman if we've drafted the right players. Only need to look for one more ruck on the proviso Pattison and Graham show nothing next year.

Agree with the rest. CHF the biggy.
When I say we need to find them doesn't mean they aren't on our list. I feel confident that Riewoldt will take CHF.

Regards to defense, Thursfield as a 3rd tall and Moore as a rebounding defender would be ideal. That means Rance needs to take a key post and we need to find another. McGuane has too many deficiencies and I'd like to find someone better.

With mids I'd say 1 more genuine class midfielder would be great with our first pick and add Coughlan. Edwards, Deledio, Cotchin will be great midfielders.

Regarding rucks well we really are getting disperate in that department. Pattison is not a ruckman, Graham is still so raw and Putt as well. May be forced to upgrade Cartledge because we have no other options.