Cmarsh

GWS
Recently I was watching a show I hardly ever watch, The Ellen DeGeneres Show.

She had a segment explaining that Mattel, the makers of Barbie, were crafting their doll range to reflect a more "normalized" perception of real world female body types. A picture was then shown of the new doll range which was met with the rapturous applause of her audience.

Ellen the proceeded to suggest the Ken doll could also do with a makeover to reflect more real world male body types. At first I thought that this suggestion sounded promising and refreshing but to my disappointment Ellen then displayed pictures of stereotyped and caricatured Ken doll models such as the "Dad bod Ken" with an exaggerated abdominal area, and the "ponytail Ken" which was meant to make fun of a man suffering hair loss. So all she did was play on male stereotypes, to the raucous laughter of her audience.

Two segments later, she unleashed two topless male exotic dancers on her predominantly female audience to their howling and screaming approval. Then I remembered another time she had another male exotic dancer on her show playing the role of her gardener which she insisted he go topless, again to the screaming approval of her female audience.

As I hardly watch this show and have yet seen two instances of this blatant sexism that objectifies and sexualizes the male body, I figured she has probably been doing this for years.

In short, how is she able to do this and get away with it?

I think it's an informal way of righting wrongs. I once said that political correctness is societal overcorrection working in favour of the previously discriminated against. But it's also a mechanism which enables those who are presently discriminated against to feel less discriminated against.

One thing that's ironically left out of political correctness is the propensity for all and sundry being politically incorrect towards the most privileged demographic; the white, English-speaking male, predominantly in the broad middle class subset of society, generally between the ages of 18 and 65. Being politically incorrect towards this demographic is not frowned upon, because it's only one thing that they've apparently ever had to endure. A good mate once said to me: "You and I; we're in our twenties, we're white, we're male, we speak English as our first language, we're financially stable, we have good jobs, and we're well educated. We can't call discrimination for shit!".

It's why African-Americans can call white guys "cracker" without so much as a "how do you do?".

It's why Belinda Heggen was able to emasculate Ten News Adelaide's Mark Aiston by making a joke about his dick size on the air, without any action being taken, because it was apparently light-hearted banter. Caro, anyone?

And it's why Ellen DeGeneres, as a universally-admired woman, who also happens to be lesbian, is able to make politically incorrect asides about men.

Do I think it's wrong? Well, I think it goes against the minority groups main dictums of fairness, equality and non-discrimination.

Ellen's show is a show made for women so men shouldn't be sticking our bibs into it and calling it sexist.

Although that still doesn't stop women sticking their bibs into shows made for men like Top Gear and The Footy Show and calling them sexist.

It's the double standards of sexism.

Sounds pretty tame. Why wouldn't she get away with it? I could put on a ton of shows that do similar things to women.

I wonder why female fighting sports don't use scantily clad attractive men to hold up the round cards instead of the girls.

Sounds pretty tame. Why wouldn't she get away with it? I could put on a ton of shows that do similar things to women.
Don't exactly know what you are talking about, but if you think you can put scantily clad female exotic dancers on your daytime tv talk show among a male audience and not get hounded by every feminist in the media, then good luck to you.

Wait, Top Gear is sexist?

When Clarkson was hosting it, although most of the complaints were about him making racist comments rather than sexist comments.

Now most of the complaints are about how shit Chris Evans is as host and how much better Clarkson was.

I don't think that's what he means.

We all know Two and a Half Men and Top Gear are misogynistic and racist respectively, and they rightfully get called out on it.

However shows like Black-ish and Ellen, as well as characters in other TV shows don't get called out on racism and sexism because they come from minority groups. They get away with it because there are inherent double standards within the flawed notion of political correctness.

Don't exactly know what you are talking about, but if you think you can put scantily clad female exotic dancers on your daytime tv talk show among a male audience and not get hounded by every feminist in the media, then good luck to you.

Plenty of channels dedicated to blokey shows that have stuff like that. Sounds like another case of Murdoch media just sucking.

Ellen's show is a show made for women so men shouldn't be sticking our bibs into it and calling it sexist.

Although that still doesn't stop women sticking their bibs into shows made for men like Top Gear and The Footy Show and calling them sexist.

It's the double standards of sexism.

Yeah I know personally, as a woman I'm always jumping up and down about how sexist Top Gear and TFS is.

Everyday.

It's the top of my to do list.

/endsrcsm

PS. Have always hated Ellen. Unfunny rubbish show.

Yeah I know personally, as a woman I'm always jumping up and down about how sexist Top Gear and TFS is.

Everyday.

It's the top of my to do list.

/endsrcsm

PS. Have always hated Ellen. Unfunny rubbish show.

I'm not saying all women do that, in fact some of them probably enjoy watching Top Gear and The Footy Show but if you watch them you have to expect a bit of bawdy sexist humour at times.

Just like if men tune into Ellen they should expect a show that can be sexist to men at times where the women drool over guys like George Clooney.

If you don't like that stuff then you should just avoid watching those shows rather than complaining about them or trying to change them.

Problem with Ellen is she's just a populist and pushes a lot of rubbish. That combined with her audience of wailing women makes the show unbareable. Honestly I think grown women who scream like that at a shitty television show have mental problems. As an interviewer I actually reckon she's not bad, but it's putrid television.

Yeah I don't mind Ellen herself but all the screaming women in her audience make her show unwatchable.

PM me pics.

It was in the lunchroom at work, all eyes where peeled on the telly! Another time, Keanu Reeves was banging Cameron Diaz in car. It was like daytime TV programming was taken over by a randy house husband who doesn't have internet access.

Sent from my Lumia 800 using Tapatalk