Mervyn Beasley

Hibs FC, Blackburn Rovers
When a fan is banned from the footy, be it AFL/VFL/Local etc, can somebody please tell me how the hell this is policed??

Outside of your attendance being discouraged by major league fines I cant see how it can be stopped.:confused:

When a fan is banned from the footy, be it AFL/VFL/Local etc, can somebody please tell me how the hell this is policed??

Outside of your attendance being discouraged by major league fines I cant see how it can be stopped.:confused:

What did you do to get banned??

Just try to sneak in & let us know if you got away with it!! :D

What did you do to get banned??

Very good:)

If it was me, I reckon i'd just get a beanie and a pair of sunglasses and go about my business as usual.

If you were a member you would obviously lose the ability to use your card but that's obviously still not gonna stop you.

I've always wondered that myself. Do they have a photo at every entrance? Can't see - apart from cancelling your membership - how they would police it either.

When somebody has a driver's license suspended, there's nothing to stop them from driving, is there?

Have a think about how the police/courts may attempt to dissuade such individuals from driving, and you have your answer.

VFL or local you'd get recognised either at the gate or by other regulars, at least for a few months until they forget about you. It's not like there would be loads of banned people to remember in most leagues.

Run for president in your club's election

Once you're the top dog, you are above the rules

You can act like a complete prat and pick fights with other spectators, then point the finger and try to get security staff to kick them out of the stadium.

Best of all, the media will applaud your noble stance and thank you for putting this important issue on the table

It's a good question, other then your membership being cut up, you could probably still get in, but they probably have ways to get you somehow.

There's obviously nothing they can physically do unless it is brought to their attention. They don't have photos up at the turnstiles of people who are banned (I'm sure there's more then one) as it would be like finding a needle in a haystack, and a complete waste of time making your staff look out for somebody in a sea of thousands coming through who may or may not turn up.

I'd say that the person would be able to enter the ground and watch hassle free, but if somebody recognised that person (eg: another supporter/member, afl/club official, security that removed them from stadium etc) and it was brought to the officials attention, then the person would be arrested and charged with trespass. I imagine for the average punter, going to a footy game constantly keeping a lookout to ensure nobody recognises you would be enough to deter you from going. But then again, the average punter doesn't get banned from the footy... :cool:

there's obviously no way of enforcing a ban on a supporter at afl games. you would just go about your business as normal, except for using your cancelled m/ship card if you were a member. can always just get a members card in someone else's name tho, it's not like they ask for proof of identity when you become a club member

and it was brought to the officials attention, then the person would be arrested and charged with trespass.

Really? I would assume they would just escort you out. I know if you are banned from a retail store, all they do is kick you out. Obviously different situations, but didn't think you could trespass in a public place.

I'd assume so...It'd be much like a pub...Legalistically, if you're thrown out, you're told you're not welcome on the premises, and if you fail to depart in a timely manner, you're trespassing. If you're banned, then you weren't welcome to enter in the first place. (As explained to me by a mate who runs a security firm)

You can trespass in a private place, however, like certain football grounds.

The G and Etihad are not public spaces, they are alll private, a restraining order would be enough, violate it and go to gaol. there is such a thing as facial recognition software that can be used with the security\surveillance system. This is used by the casinos to keep out banned punters\winners.

Restraining Orders can't be used as they relate to people but banning notices can be enforced if they have sufficient reason to do so under the Major Evnts Act. In the case of the Majak Daw guy, it only relates to VFL and I think he admitted to it or no contest to it because they had him hook line and sinker. If there is conjecture over it then you are allowed to take it to an independent tribunal and have it heard, as this is a key provision of natural justice. If they still ban you refuse entry after you have successfully defended the claims then you can take civil action against them and seek restitution or damages.

hahahaha

Just knocked over a 7-11 , dumped the car in a full MCG car park, and still got to watch his team play........sounds like a plan...............oops you left the mask on

Guy next to him is thinking...."**** if the cops storm down the aisle im a hostage here".