Favourite non-premiership Collingwood side

Melbourne City & Tottenham
Thought that this would be an interesting thread. What is your favourite non-premiership Collingwood side. Might just be an underrated team or it contained your favourite player.

My favourite is the 2007 side. It was a great year making the Prelim final and it was the mid-period between the old generation and the new generation.

Buckley, Clement, Licuria, Rocca & Burns playing with Toovey, Thomas, Pendlebury, Clarke, Dawes, Brown, Reid and O'Brien.

The 2002 side for me, it had been so long since we played finals, and there were so many beloved players in that side.

Same Here. This was when I really started me Following the Footy,

That team deserved a Flag but the AFL(Wayne Jackson) and Umps Screwed that

1992 team for me by a long way,finished equal top and shot out the first week of finals,in that year there was an uneven number of teams in the comp so each week one team had a bye and we played the Saints who finished below us on the table but had the week off prior to our game and beat by 8 pts.

I think the finals changed after that but it was shattering I felt if we had off got through that 1st week we would have been hard to beat,that was the 1 st year after "Pants" death and I think the players really set themselves for a big go.Quite a few of the boys were crying after that match and I did not blame them I felt that way too,we were unlucky we had won the close matches and we beat the Eagle over in Perth after being down by 7pts with less than a minute to go,we kick one and then swept it down for a pt after the centre bounce.

It hurts now to even think about our end that year.

1992 team for me by a long way,finished equal top and shot out the first week of finals,in that year there was an uneven number of teams in the comp so each week one team had a bye and we played the Saints who finished below us on the table but had the week off prior to our game and beat by 8 pts.

I think the finals changed after that but it was shattering I felt if we had off got through that 1st week we would have been hard to beat,that was the 1 st year after "Pants" death and I think the players really set themselves for a big go.Quite a few of the boys were crying after that match and I did not blame them I felt that way too,we were unlucky we had won the close matches and we beat the Eagle over in Perth after being down by 7pts with less than a minute to go,we kick one and then swept it down for a pt after the centre bounce.

It hurts now to even think about our end that year.

Thanks for bringing back those memories. Pert on Plugger at Waverley if I remember correctly Kelly had done his knee. That was a huge loss to us! I had a huge man-crush on Scooter those days. :)

Emotionally though that 2002 side, it still chokes me.

The much maligned '70 side was pretty powerful actually.

Consider it had Price, Greening, Wayne and Max Richardson, Thompson, Dunne, McKenna and Tuddenham.

A very powerful unit really, and on its day totally unstoppable - gf day was wrong day unfortuntely.

And that little f@cking pr1ck Hopkins played the best game - and just about the only good game - of his life :mad:

The 2002 side is great - and I especially loved Jarrod Molloy. But the Ray Shaw teams of '79 and '80 also stick with me - Wearmouth, Magro, Picken, Barham, Kink, Banksy, Moore, etc.

Due to personal reasons, that was the most shattering game of my life, although if we had have gone further, I wouldn't have been able to go to any more games. I took that loss hard BUT good things come to those who wait and that's why the 2010 flag was so much sweeter for me :D

I remember that Ronnie McKewon and Scott Russell played blinders that day and it really was so sad that our season ended in that way..

We were unlucky we had won the close matches and we beat the Eagle over in Perth after being down by 7pts with less than a minute to go,we kick one and then swept it down for a pt after the centre bounce.

Yes that was awesome too.. Troy Lehman kicked the winning point!

..........that was the 1st year after "Pants" death and I think the players really set themselves for a big go.Quite a few of the boys were crying after that match and I did not blame them I felt that way too..........

they werent the only ones. i can honestly say its the only time ive shed a tear at the footy. :(

Thanks for bringing back those memories. Pert on Plugger at Waverley if I remember correctly Kelly had done his knee. That was a huge loss to us! I had a huge man-crush on Scooter those days. :)

Emotionally though that 2002 side, it still chokes me.
Sorry mate in fact sorry to everyone who still remembers that year well it is hard to forget it.

Well, I am going to set the way back machine here: 1970, for those that can remember, Such a team of absolute stars:
Peter McKenna, The Richardsons, Tuddy, Thommo, Terry Waters, Barry Price, John Greening, Robert Deane, Twiggy Dunne. Still cannot believe we lost that one, it was almost un-lose-able.

Several players have said many years after that even though we had a team packed with stars Bobby Rose didn't train the lads hard enough and get them fit enough and that was why we fell away in the second half.

That team we had in 90 should have won more than one flag we missed the boat with them,they were worthy of at least 1 more flag.

Satisfaction factor was very high ippy, throughout the club and membership. It's not just the players and coaching staff to blame.

We learned from that lesson in '10 and barring the most incredible 2 year run of injuries and a petulant sooking senior coach we would have been lining up for our third in a row this year.

C'est la vie :oops:

Well, I am going to set the way back machine here: 1970, for those that can remember, Such a team of absolute stars:
Peter McKenna, The Richardsons, Tuddy, Thommo, Terry Waters, Barry Price, John Greening, Robert Deane, Twiggy Dunne. Still cannot believe we lost that one, it was almost un-lose-able.

Several players have said many years after that even though we had a team packed with stars Bobby Rose didn't train the lads hard enough and get them fit enough and that was why we fell away in the second half.
That was before my time as a Pies fan I did not come to Aus till 74 so thank christ I missed that one but like every one else have had enough disappointments to last a lifetime.

Satisfaction factor was very high ippy, throughout the club and membership. It's not just the players and coaching staff to blame.

We learned from that lesson in '10 and barring the most incredible 2 year run of injuries and a petulant sooking senior coach we would have been lining up for our third in a row this year.

C'est la vie :oops:
Full agreement from me Jonb and they are so hard to win,that the one,s that you know in your heart that you could have won if we had a reasonable amount of luck and if we were all on the same page.

I can understand 90 to a certain extent 32 yrs is a long time for a successful club to wait for further success I know how I felt in 90 so goodness knows the players felt,I don,t think about last year too much I get too angry and injuries have just killed us this year but where there,s life there,s hope mate.

Full agreement from me Jonb and they are so hard to win,that the one,s that you know in your heart that you could have won if we had a reasonable amount of luck and if we were all on the same page.

I can understand 90 to a certain extent 32 yrs is a long time for a successful club to wait for further success I know how I felt in 90 so goodness knows the players felt,I don,t think about last year too much I get too angry and injuries have just killed us this year but where there,s life there,s hope mate.
Fair do ippy, I haven't given up hope. I can remember sitting in the stands GF day '90 with my sister and son, and feeling the utter relief and euphoria of that win produced in us all.

Looking back on it, its no real big surprise that another slipped past us.

Fair do ippy, I haven't given up hope. I can remember sitting in the stands GF day '90 with my sister and son, and feeling the utter relief and euphoria of that win produced in us all.

Looking back on it, its no real big surprise that another slipped past us.
We had the team to win in 91 no doubt but 92 was the killer for me and the past 2 seasons just when when you think we have a real chance here some other shit hits the fan.