Favourite Recipes

Port Adelaide
Port Adelaide - SANFL
I'll start this off with the Laksa recipe that got mentioned in another thread and I'm sure we'll have quite a few others adding their favourite dishes:-

I generally have a laksa for brekkie on Saturday mornings at the Parap markets.......with plenty of various temptations for the taste buds and some of the best fresh fruit in town.

Chicken Laksa (10 serves) from Rendezvous Cafe - Star Village Arcade Darwin (and Parap Markets up til this year)

If Darwin has a signature dish it has to be curry laksa. You can sip it under a startingly technicolour sunset at Thursday night's Mindil Beach markets or start the day with it at Saturday morning's Parap markets.

But the laksa by which all other laksas are judged is Annie Teoh's marvellous caurry laksa, redolent of coconut milk and alive with spice and flavour.

Process 1 large onion, 3 candlenuts, 2 trimmed stalks of lemon grass and a 5c, piece of peeled galangal in a food processor until smooth. (This is the paste that can be kept sealed in a jar in the fridge for 1-2 weeks).

Heat 4 tablespoons oil in a large heavy saucepan and cook 3 curry leaves and blended ingredients over medium to high heat until aromatic.

Add 3 heaped tablespoons curry powder (preferably Ayam brand) and cook for 30 seconds longer.

Add six 400g cans of coconut milk and 600ml of good homemade chicken stock and bring slowly to the boil.

Season to taste with sugar and salt.

Blanch 1kg fresh yellow noodles in a large suacepan of boiling water. Drain and reserve the water.

Soak 350g vermicelli (preferably Bee Hoon brand) in hot water until soft. Darwin and set aside.

***Blanch 3 green prawns, 2 fish balls and 3 pieces of scored squid hood per person.***

***remove skin and bones from 2/3 roast chickens and break up chicken meat into strips.***

Divide noodles and vermicilli among 10 serving bowls and top each with some bean sprouts and the seafood/chicken.

Ladle over sauce and garnish with green onions, chopped red chilli (add to taste), chopped coriander (optional) and a spoonful of sambal oelek.

If you leave the sauce for a while before dividing into individual dishes ensure you give it a good stir to ensure the flavours mix through..........

Looking forward to seeing others add their favourites........

I'll start this off with the Laksa recipe that got mentioned in another thread and I'm sure we'll have quite a few others adding their favourite dishes:-

I generally have a laksa for brekkie on Saturday mornings at the Parap markets.......with plenty of various temptations for the taste buds and some of the best fresh fruit in town.

Chicken Laksa (10 serves) from Rendezvous Cafe - Star Village Arcade Darwin (and Parap Markets up til this year)

If Darwin has a signature dish it has to be curry laksa. You can sip it under a startingly technicolour sunset at Thursday night's Mindil Beach markets or start the day with it at Saturday morning's Parap markets.

But the laksa by which all other laksas are judged is Annie Teoh's marvellous caurry laksa, redolent of coconut milk and alive with spice and flavour.

Process 1 large onion, 3 candlenuts, 2 trimmed stalks of lemon grass and a 5c, piece of peeled galangal in a food processor until smooth. (This is the paste that can be kept sealed in a jar in the fridge for 1-2 weeks).

Heat 4 tablespoons oil in a large heavy saucepan and cook 3 curry leaves and blended ingredients over medium to high heat until aromatic.

Add 3 heaped tablespoons curry powder (preferably Ayam brand) and cook for 30 seconds longer.

Add six 400g cans of coconut milk and 600ml of good homemade chicken stock and bring slowly to the boil.

Season to taste with sugar and salt.

Blanch 1kg fresh yellow noodles in a large suacepan of boiling water. Drain and reserve the water.

Soak 350g vermicelli (preferably Bee Hoon brand) in hot water until soft. Darwin and set aside.

***Blanch 3 green prawns, 2 fish balls and 3 pieces of scored squid hood per person.***

***remove skin and bones from 2/3 roast chickens and break up chicken meat into strips.***

Divide noodles and vermicilli among 10 serving bowls and top each with some bean sprouts and the seafood/chicken.

Ladle over sauce and garnish with green onions, chopped red chilli (add to taste), chopped coriander (optional) and a spoonful of sambal oelek.

If you leave the sauce for a while before dividing into individual dishes ensure you give it a good stir to ensure the flavours mix through..........

Looking forward to seeing others add their favourites........

I will try that and give you a full report as i am a foodologist

It's the most popular laksa in Darwin and has been that way for more than 20 years - this recipe was in Aust Gourmet Traveller in the early 80's and I was lucky enough for someone to give me a copy when I came to Darwin in the late 90's.

I've made it a number of times and if you stick to the ingredients for the sauce it will taste exactly like it does in the restaurant/cafe.......the only real trick with it is if the soup has been sitting for a while make sure it gets a good stir to ensure the flavours are spread throughout.

Now we just need a few other people adding some of their favourite recipes as I'm sure we have some good ones amongst us.............I'll be adding a banana cake favourite on the weekend.

Sour Crow Stew

Ingredients:
3 artificial colorings
118 players
100s’n 1000s of feral supporters
Tonnes of fake tradition
A swath of self importance
Quantity of big/serious chokes
2years of false hope

Method:
Mix the 4 coaches with the 118 players and sprinkle in the 3 artificial colors. Pour on the tonnes of fake tradition and the swath of self importance, remember to add the quantity of chokes at regular intervals; slowly stir the 100s’n 1000s of feral supporters. Place the mixed ingredients into a borrowed shed (never pay for or return shed to owner) add the 2 years of false hope after 7/8 years let stand and ferment for another 8 years until the appropriate bitter or sour taste is acquired.

Will serve 70 to 80% of state for 7 months but still leave them hungry.

Here is a simple one, but tasty as.

Slice some plain tasting ham really really thin. Any ham will do I s'pose but not a spicy one such as Smoked, Virginia, Honey, Prosciutto etc.

Melt a fair dab of butter in a frying pan. Butter that is kids, not the stuff made from mechanical cows. If you are on a diet and want to avoid butter cook something else.

Warm the ham in the butter for a while (in other words fry the damn thing) then add some white wine. Any ol wine will do as long as it is dry and not sweet. If you want to use a $5 or $50 one it is up to you, food wise it will not make much difference at all.

Once the wine has pretty well disappeared add a generous amount of thickened cream and warm it till just before it goes yellow. Do it a few times and you'll see what that means as the flavor totally changes, and again if you are on a diet and do not want to eat cream then ... cook something else.

When done pour it on ravioli and grate some Italian made Parmesan Cheese over it. Italian made stuff does not smell and has plenty of flavor, locally made stuff smells like week old dirty sox and has no flavor plus it's salty as.

Works on pasta as well but heaps better with ravioli and the likes.

What do you drink with it? Whatever you like but a very young pale red goes very very well with it.

Savoury Snacks

INGREDIENTS

300 box of Nutri Grain
300 Pack of peanuts
1 Pack of Cream of chicken soup
1 Pack of French onion soup
3/4 Table spoon of curry powder
3/4 tablespoon of mustard
3/4 cup of oil

Put Nutri Grain and Peanuts into bowl [you will need a lid]add packs of soup and mix till all Nutri grain and peanuts are well coated best way is to put on a lid and roll and shake.

Then add Mustard and Curry Powder once again put on lid and roll and shake

Add oil slighty warmed pour evenly over contents put lid on and mix throughly.

Spread out over a flat surface [tray will do] leave to dry about 24 hours

Finally got around to posting the banana cake and smoothie recipes with a few extras that may tempt the sweet tooth's amongst us.....:D

Chocolate and Banana Cake (Chocolate is optional but makes the taste even better)

50 g very soft butter
1 cup sugar
1 egg
3 ripe bananas, mashed
1½ cups self-raising flour
½ teaspoon cinnamon
1 tablespoon milk
75 g (3 rows) Cadbury Dark Cooking Chocolate, finely chopped
50 g pecan nuts, chopped (optional)
1 teaspoon cinnamon sugar

Preheat the oven to 180°C.

Mix the butter, sugar and egg together in a bowl.

Stir in the mashed bananas.

Add the flour, cinnamon and then the milk. Stir through the chocolate.

Pour into a greased and lined loaf pan.

Sprinkle with the nuts(if used)

Bake for 40–45 minutes until a skewer inserted in the cake comes out cleanly.

Remove from the oven and sprinkle with the cinnamon sugar, then cool in the pan for 10 minutes before taking out to cool completely.

Banana and Raspberry Muffins

2 cups self-raising flour
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 cup light banana yoghurt
1/2 cup skim milk
2 ripe bananas, peeled and mashed lightly with a fork
1/2 punnet raspberries (or 100g frozen raspberries)
Instructions

Pre-heat oven to 180°C. Lightly grease a 12 by 1/2 cup capacity muffin tin.

Combine flour & sugar in a bowl.

Mix the egg, yoghurt & milk together & add to the flour mix (do not try and stir to a smooth batter keep some lumps in the mix).

Stir through banana and then raspberries.

Spoon into the muffin tins 3/4 full and bake for 20-25 minutes or until skewer comes out clean.

Banana Smoothie

3 very ripe bananas
2 cups of milk (normal or low fat or soy if you must)
2 tsp wheatgerm
1 tsp honey
1 tsp malt
2 tbs vanilla ice cream
4 ice blocks

Method:

In a blender crush ice then blend all other ingredients together and PRESTO yummy smoothie.

Banana & berry smoothie

1/2 cup (100g) fresh/frozen berries (such as raspberries, strawberries, blueberries, or a mixture)
2 bananas, chopped
375ml light evaporated milk
scoops (50g) low-fat frozen yoghurt or low-fat ice cream

Method

Combine all the ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.

Pour the berry and banana smoothie into 2 tall glasses and serve with straws.

and finally for those that like to add chocolate.......

Choc Monster

2 bananas, peeled
1 tablespoon cocoa
1 cup milk
2 scoops chocolate (or 1 chocolate and 1 banana/vanilla) ice cream

Blend all ingredients until smooth.

Serve immediately sprinkled with extra cocoa.

That should get a few of the taste buds working again after last night.......but just in case the sweet tooth hasn't quite come through I'll finish off with Chocolate Mousse.....

Chocolate Mousse

125 g cream cheese
½ cup sugar
1 egg
250 g Cadbury® Premium Dark Cooking Chocolate
600 ml thickened cream, lightly whipped

Beat the cream cheese, sugar and egg together until smooth.

Break the chocolate into small pieces and melt over a double boiler or in the microwave.

Add the melted chocolate to the cream cheese mixture and stir through until well combined. Stir in the cream, again stirring until well combined. Chill until required.

Pipe or spoon into glass bowls, chocolate cups or use as a filling for desserts.

Lamb Roast

Put in the oven at the start of the game.

Half time, peel potatoes and carrots. Turn the roast and put the potatoes in.

3/4 time turn potatoes and put in the carrots

Final siren turn carrots.

Start serving, cut up roast, dish up potatoes then dish up the carrots.

Sit down and eat in front of the news knowing that port has just completed another win on the road. :)

Finally got around to posting the banana cake and smoothie recipes with a few extras that may tempt the sweet tooth's amongst us.....:D

They all look superb

Full report by weeks end as its gonna be a hot week in Adelaide and im off work and the 5th and final test is on

They all look superb

Full report by weeks end as its gonna be a hot week in Adelaide and im off work and the 5th and final test is on

I usually cheat and get one at the markets up here on Saturday mornings with a laksa, some tender BBQ squid and paw paw salad for later in the weekend.............but they are also very easy to make especially now that banana prices are getting back to normal.

Speaking of the paw paw salad I just accidentally came across this recipe which is from one of the legendary stall holders at the Parap markets - from Chinese cook Lilly Lei who is shown here making the dish.......

lillylei.jpg

Ingredients

1 medium green paw paw - grated
Fresh tomato, chopped
Clove fresh garlic
3-5 chilli's - to your heat capacity and taste
Dash of sugar
Dash of fish sauce
Splash of lemon juice
Handful of crunched peanuts (optional)

The ingredients are mega-fresh and the technique is all in the grinding.

Paw paw salad is created in a mortar and pestle.

Just drop in your peanuts, garlic, sugar and chilli, and start grinding it into a pulp.

Then add the chopped tomato (and keep grinding) and the paw paw, adding your fish sauce and lemon juice to suit your taste.

dreamkillers;6471343 [B said:
Banana Smoothie[/B]

3 very ripe bananas
2 cups of milk (normal or low fat or soy if you must)
2 tsp wheatgerm
1 tsp honey
1 tsp malt
2 tbs vanilla ice cream
4 ice blocks

Method:

In a blender crush ice then blend all other ingredients together and PRESTO yummy smoothie.

Banana & berry smoothie

1/2 cup (100g) fresh/frozen berries (such as raspberries, strawberries, blueberries, or a mixture)
2 bananas, chopped
375ml light evaporated milk
scoops (50g) low-fat frozen yoghurt or low-fat ice cream

Method

Combine all the ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.

Pour the berry and banana smoothie into 2 tall glasses and serve with straws.

and finally for those that like to add chocolate.......

Choc Monster

2 bananas, peeled
1 tablespoon cocoa
1 cup milk
2 scoops chocolate (or 1 chocolate and 1 banana/vanilla) ice cream

Blend all ingredients until smooth.

Serve immediately sprinkled with extra cocoa.

That should get a few of the taste buds working again after last night.......but just in case the sweet tooth hasn't quite come through I'll finish off with Chocolate Mousse.....

:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

To all 3 tried these today whilst watching the cricket

Thought i would like the Chocolate one the best but to my surprise i liked the berry one the best, only used strawberries but it was the best.

Maggi 2 Minute Noodles

1. Boil water in saucepan.

2. Break the hard noodles in half and add to boiling water.

3. Stir to break up noodles and add flavour sachet.

4. When cooked put in bowl served with 2 slices of buttered bread.

Guess who just had a pie floater for dinner? :D

Thanks for the recipe DK. I cooked up a vego version (insert tofu and nori) in Melbourne and it's yum. I couldn't get candlenuts though so I need to go to The Valley up here and do it properly. Is there another name for candlenuts?

I'll post a great recipe for nachos that always gets oohs and aahs in a couple of days.

Thanks for the recipe DK. I cooked up a vego version (insert tofu and nori) in Melbourne and it's yum. I couldn't get candlenuts though so I need to go to The Valley up here and do it properly. Is there another name for candlenuts?

I'm not aware of them being named anything else but any shop that sells Malaysian herbs and spices should have them.........I have seen in other recipe's where they have used blanched almonds or macadamia nuts instead but it won't quite taste the same.

I'll post a great recipe for nachos that always gets oohs and aahs in a couple of days.

Look forward to it........a good curry/chilli dish should always burn at least twice........:D

Hint to get rid of the blandness out of mince when make sheppards pie. Mix taco sauce/powder into half a cup of water then stir in with mince whilst its cooking.

Or add a little dry white wine (whine if you are a Crow supporter :) ) whilst browning the meat on high heat and wait till it has completely evaporated.