February dreaming

• Thread starter Thread starter catempire

February dreaming
By John Harms
February 13, 2005

Throughout 1995, I followed the mighty Cats as closely as I had done for the previous 30 seasons. It was our year. I punched the air at Billy Brownless marks, I applauded the skill of Liam Pickering and I celebrated the rise of Shane Breuer. Of course, I shook my head in amazement at Gary Ablett. What ability! He made me feel like I was eight years old again, tugging on my father’s shirt sleeve: Did you see that, Dad?

That year, the group of players who represented the Geelong Football Club were embarrassed on grand final day against Carlton. Those things happen. But it was so sad. I vowed not to get so personally involved in football again.

I was never going to let it mean so much to me again. In the opening round of the 1996 season, Ablett kicked 10. The Cats beat Melbourne by 20 goals, and I felt compelled to dismiss, as folly, rashly-made promises. I couldn’t help myself.

Well it’s on again. Some of us never tire of it. When I walked into Kardinia Park yesterday, I knew I was among my own. About 2000 of my own. Geelong stalwarts.

There were grandmas wearing brooches and sun hats and grandpas with their top buttons done up. They’d probably heard the stories of the great Geelong teams of the 1880s from their own grandparents. And seen some premierships themselves. There were dads, their young kids clutching a footy in one hand and a Niko pen in the other. And punters: the faithful who’d buy a membership before getting their busted front tooth fixed up.

All proud of the renovations to their home and wondering whether the three-quarters-built grandstand will be ready for the round-six clash against the Bulldogs. (Smoko lasted for the whole first half).

We were all interested in the pacy and skilful game in front of us. All trying to identify the players because they were wearing numberless jumpers. That’s Brad Ottens: he’s pretty big. He moves all right. And Corey Enright looks bigger. Josh Hunt: he’s huge. Either they were in tight jumpers or they’d all done well over the summer. Brown and fast and fit and strong. Cam Mooney looked like he’d come straight from the set of Survivor.

The crowd was relaxed in the gentle sunshine. The tension created by the possibility of loss was notably absent and we all enjoyed the consequence-free football. Not that the players saw it that way. Spots in the Geelong firsts are going to be hard to secure this season, and there were a few, like the lively Shannon Byrnes (is he related to Bob Skilton?) who were trying hard to make an impression. Jimmy Bartel looked like a natural footballer, and James Kelly kept getting the footy.

The first real cheer of the morning came when Nathan Ablett flew for a mark. And then he grabbed one on the quarter-time siren, and slotted a goal from the old scoreboard pocket, and you could see the old-timers smile. You could almost feel the hope in the crowd. Hope for the young fellow, hope for the Geelong Football Club, hope for ourselves.

We all wandered out to the huddle, which reminded us of days long gone, and a whole different attitude. And the 15-year-old secretarial student (going on 23 and dressed to thrill in a Geelong sort of way) shouted, “I don’t know which one to go to”.

In the second quarter, the older Ablett brother ran around confidently and competently. He has clean hands and kicks long to the advantage of his teammates, which, when you think about it, is what footy is about. I didn’t see him speak to his brother.

Then the world nearly stopped when we got a sausage on a bit of bread, a rissole on a bit of bread and two cans of drink and it only cost $5.40 — and Kent Kingsley kicked four goals in 10 minutes.

The workers took up tools and pierced the Pivotonian air with the second loudest machine in the history of concrete construction, and the crowd continued to focus on Nathan Ablett. He looks very raw — like he’s come straight from the Tearabagapart under 17s. But he’s got the Ablett foundation — the big thighs and strong bum. And there’s a hint of the round Ablett shoulders. He took a couple of grabs and fought hard on the ground. I’m not sure how many fans noticed when his opponent, young Luke Buckland (now where did he come from?), ran off him to kick a couple in the last quarter.

But it was an exercise in encouragement. Tom Harley was rock-solid, although he has gone for the Paul Chapman haircut. Scarlo hasn’t been signed up as a drummer in a heavy metal band — yet. And Peter Riccardi was still running along the wing, making us feel that all was well with the world.

Standing there among my fellows, I did feel a little older. There are so many sons of players I used to watch. It seems like just yesterday I was screaming for Rod Blake. Well now it’s his son, Mark.

I am a bit older. And footy’s still in me. You can’t fight your heart, and as I drove back up to Melbourne, I found myself thinking, “This could be the year.” They looked so good.

This should make up for the Jay Clark article I posted the other day! For those who aren't familiar with John Harms, he's football writing genius and a mad Cats fan. If you haven't read Loose Men Everywhere, do yourself a favour.

That was a great article - I love John Harms work!

Every cat fan should read his book 'loose men everywhere' - For me it goes a long long way towards defining what it means to be a Geelong supporter.

Harms is a self indulgent hack. He has written that same article a hundred times. Looking forward to his pieces on the autumn racing carnival where we can hear about his wife and him buying a house and who he backed. Who gives a toss mate. The Age has slipped if he is getting a regular gig.

bulletproof said:
Harms is a self indulgent hack. He has written that same article a hundred times. Looking forward to his pieces on the autumn racing carnival where we can hear about his wife and him buying a house and who he backed. Who gives a toss mate. The Age has slipped if he is getting a regular gig.
Not much of a fan? :)

Fair enough, you don't like his style, but calling him a hack is a bit rough.
Perhaps you could suggest some other creative football writers worth reading? I'm strugging to think of many good ones after Harms and Martin Flanagan.

LongBomb said:
Not much of a fan? :)

Fair enough, you don't like his style, but calling him a hack is a bit rough.
Perhaps you could suggest some other creative football writers worth reading? I'm strugging to think of many good ones after Harms and Martin Flanagan.

Paul Daffey is good, his book "Local Rites" is a great read. Flanagan obviously, Baum is very good, I like Patrick Smith at times, and keep an eye on Jonathon Horne a good young football writer who should get a more regular gig this year.