Dasher39

MVFC, Storm, Arsenal
No I am not trolling, this is a serious question.

First let me say I am a big rap for the kid, saw him in the U/18 Champs a few years back and he looks the goods, you got yourself a real steal.

I briefly read that there was some talk going around that Fergus wanted to return back to Melbourne. IF this was the case, I would love him at Geelong.

What would you want from Geelong in return (be realistic please, so dont say Bartel or Johnson).

After his performance on the weekend I would be getting him signed up ASAP if I was the AFC! Definitely a player of the future, would be a big loss if you lost him!

Bad luck in the Prelim too, after Geelong got done I was hoping Adelaide would go all the way!

Dasher39 said:

First let me say I am a big rap for the kid, saw him in the U/18 Champs a few years back and he looks the goods, you got yourself a real steal.

I briefly read that there was some talk going around that Fergus wanted to return back to Melbourne. IF this was the case, I would love him at Geelong.

What would you want from Geelong in return (be realistic please, so dont say Bartel or Johnson).

After his performance on the weekend I would be getting him signed up ASAP if I was the AFC! Definitely a player of the future, would be a big loss if you lost him!

Bad luck in the Prelim too, after Geelong got done I was hoping Adelaide would go all the way!

Hpoefully we sign him before the day is over WE MUST KEEP HIM

Well CH9 just had the headlines for their news and apparently Fergus will be on tonight to talk about his future. I just get the feeling that he will stay :)

If he does go, we would need something good to let him go. We rate him EXTREMELY highly and the only reason he hasn't been able to crack a game was because of the form our key forward have been in this year AND he got injured at the bad time when there might have been a bit of a sniff for him to get a game.

His form in the SANFL has been very good all year and he has been very consistent with is form. More importantly he has been improving with every game he has played this year and kicked 10 on the weekend.

I think it would take a hell of a lot more than you are willing to give up for him. He was drafted with pick 14 and after 2 years of development and a great improvement, I am sure the club would at least ask for a top 10 pick.

Dasher39 said:

Welcome to the Adelaide board Paul :thumbsu:

Stiffy_18 said:
I think it would take a hell of a lot more than you are willing to give up for him. He was drafted with pick 14 and after 2 years of development and a great improvement, I am sure the club would at least ask for a top 10 pick.

I would think so too. I cant see Geelong being a big player come Trade time and as our first pick is somewhere around #17, our First Round pick is virtually useless given the weakness of the draft this year.

In terms of tradeable players, I am a realist and none of them would even go close to satisfying Adelaide for a Watts trade.

If he is speaking on Ch9 news tonight, then I can only imagine it will be good news for the Crows and he either has or will sign a new deal.

maccas_no1 said:
Welcome to the Adelaide board Paul :thumbsu:

I am always lurking around here Marty to see what you have to say! :p

Dasher39 said:
If he is speaking on Ch9 news tonight, then I can only imagine it will be good news for the Crows and he either has or will sign a new deal.

I hope you're right. This time last year I was up for all the trading but this year the thought of losing Watts for nothing is making me sick.

Stiffy_18 said:
Well CH9 just had the headlines for their news and apparently Fergus will be on tonight to talk about his future. I just get the feeling that he will stay

You'd think if he was leaving Ch9 would have said so in the headlines.

drakeyv2 said:
I hope you're right. This time last year I was up for all the trading but this year the thought of losing Watts for nothing is making me sick.
I don't know mate. When the CH9 news headlines say, and tonight we speak to Fergus Watts about his future, it usually means that its not HUGE news. I reckon if he was leaving the headline would be more along the lines, "young gun Fergus Watts informs the Crows that he would like to return back to victoria"

I am quietly optimistic. Please Adelaide sign him up for 3 years.

Stiffy_18 said:
I don't know mate. When the CH9 news headlines say, and tonight we speak to Fergus Watts about his future, it usually means that its not HUGE news. I reckon if he was leaving the headline would be more along the lines, "young gun Fergus Watts informs the Crows that he would like to return back to victoria"

I am quietly optimistic. Please Adelaide sign him up for 3 years.

Actually if he wanted to leave I think it would be more like "out of favour crows rookie wants to go home".

Not worthy of a news headline and certainly not worthy of an interview.