Fev certain starter for Sunday

• Thread starter Thread starter jj1978

Fevola playing Lacrosse, that would be something

Its hardly 'brave'.

Out: Bower, Stevens? Murphy? & Fev

Doesn't sound brave to me - sounds very foolish!

Having them in and suffering another loss might just be more foolish and more detrimental in the long run.

Wield the axe Ratts.

You'd like to think that playing on the wide open spaces at Subi would suit Fevola, although, I guess it just depends on which Fevola turns up to play on Sunday afternoon. Ratts might "talk tough" about droppping players, which I think he will, but I would be highly surprised if he and the MC drop Fevola.

juddy a chance to be dropped??? :rolleyes:

EDIT - I see in the other thread you haven't read the one about Murph perhaps injured, and must have thought I was suggesting to drop him based on form...Question mark next to Murph based on that, and next to Stevens based on what HBF said. As such, those are what the outs could look like if Fev were to be dropped as many are suggesting.

Having them in and suffering another loss might just be more foolish and more detrimental in the long run.

Wield the axe Ratts.

Please highlight the sense in that...I don't care if we lose with them on the park or not - losing is losing. Having Fev out there puts us in a better chance to avoid such a loss - can't believe I'm even arguing such a simple point.

Ratts might "talk tough" about droppping players, which I think he will, but I would be highly surprised if he and the MC drop Fevola.

If he drops Stevens as you suggested, its hardly talking tough. I posted elsewhere that he has already made several tough calls throughout the year, yet unless its Fev or Stevens people think he is soft :rolleyes:

I'd like to know which coach has ever dropped their leading goal-kicker, and the afl's second leading goal-kicker in the history of our game. For what exactly would we be doing it for? Based on performance, based on attitude....pfft

All coaches talk tough, yet I doubt anyone has made such a call. Why? Because it is foolish - as someone else posted, Freo would be laughing at us if we dropped him.

If he drops Stevens as you suggested, its hardly talking tough. I posted elsewhere that he has already made several tough calls throughout the year, yet unless its Fev or Stevens people think he is soft :rolleyes:

I'd like to know which coach has ever dropped their leading goal-kicker, and the afl's second leading goal-kicker in the history of our game. For what exactly would we be doing it for? Based on performance, based on attitude....pfft

All coaches talk tough, yet I doubt anyone has made such a call. Why? Because it is foolish - as someone else posted, Freo would be laughing at us if we dropped him.

Good point there!

Please highlight the sense in that...I don't care if we lose with them on the park or not - losing is losing. Having Fev out there puts us in a better chance to avoid such a loss - can't believe I'm even arguing such a simple point.

So we continue to plod along where players feel safe about their position?
We could win without them, lose without them.
Only highsight will answer that which I'm sure you will point out on Sunday night.

If players are not in form then drop them. Play a team game or be dropped.

I can't believe I also have to argue this simple point ;)

Yeah lets not drop anyone, the message we should really be sending is loss's like friday are very much acceptable and that if your a decent player don't worry about playing hard, just cruise through the season, get on the piss everyweek and look forward to footy trip!

We don't care about a strong club culture, beating our rivals on big stages or winning flags, all we wanna see if Fev telling the crowd to shoosh and drumsticks stevo play like a billionaire. :rolleyes:

So we continue to plod along where players feel safe about their position?

Juddy played a bad game - you think he doesn't feel safe? You think he is worried about being dropped? He is probably about as worried as being dropped as the afl second highest goal-kicker should be.

If players are not in form then drop them. Play a team game or be dropped

How does hindsight have anything to do with this? We don't need hindsight to know Fev playing improves our overall chances of winning any particular game - whether he kicks 10 goals, 0 goals, or is dropped this week, none of that changes this fact.

If a guy coming second in the race for the coleman, and a decent chance to be AA this year is not in form, than we'll never be able to field a full team.

Yeah lets not drop anyone, the message we should really be sending is loss's like friday are very much acceptable and that if your a decent player don't worry about playing hard, just cruise through the season, get on the piss everyweek and look forward to footy trip

Melodramatic post of the highest order - again, should we drop Judd because he didn't play a good game? It's not his first bad game this year...

Of course changes should and will be made - but lets not get carried away. Fev should not be one of them, and any more than 4 would be ridiculous - I'd only make 3 max.

You have faith in your team, you don't drop half the list if you lose by 50+ points.

Juddy played a bad game - you think he doesn't feel safe? You think he is worried about being dropped? He is probably about as worried as being dropped as the afl second highest goal-kicker should be.

How does hindsight have anything to do with this? We don't need hindsight to know Fev playing improves our overall chances of winning any particular game - whether he kicks 10 goals, 0 goals, or is dropped this week, none of that changes this fact.

If a guy coming second in the race for the coleman, and a decent chance to be AA this year is not in form, than we'll never be able to field a full team.

Melodramatic post of the highest order - again, should we drop Judd because he didn't play a good game? It's not his first bad game this year...

Of course changes should and will be made - but lets not get carried away. Fev should not be one of them, and any more than 4 would be ridiculous - I'd only make 3 max.

You have faith in your team, you don't drop half the list if you lose by 50+ points.

That's bullsh!t anyway - he didn't have a BAD game - he tried his guts out and still contributed.
What's your opinion on the Barry Hall scenario, FWIW???

Isn't that the game where they whack each other with sticks? Sounds more like a game Setanta might excel at. :p

That's the one. And I meant there's much more chance for Fev to sook, because there would be more chance for him to score goals, and for people to pass him the ball :p

Judd tried and gave 100% as usual...he gives everything he has.

Can you honestly say Fev gave everything he had? His chasing, pressure, teamwork, attitude etc were well below par.

Stevens is a little different, his performance + his attitude is why he should and probably will be dropped.

That's bullsh!t anyway - he didn't have a BAD game - he tried his guts out and still contributed.
What's your opinion on the Barry Hall scenario, FWIW???

Tried his guts out...ok. Regardless, 'trying your guts out' and having a bad game are two different things.

When Fev starts knocking guys out on the footy field, then Ill join the line asking him to be dropped. Hall scenario totally irrelevent - not the same at all.

Can you honestly say Fev gave everything he had? His chasing, pressure, teamwork, attitude etc were well below par

As was the teams...

Im over arguing it anyway - you and others think our leading goal kicker should be dropped, fine. Neither opinion matters - only what happens at selection tomorrow.

PPG, you're a voice of reason amongst a fair bit of hysteria here..........
I mean really, come on...drop Fev, what stupid thing to do.
What happens when the focus of our mono-focus forward line gets dropped....who is going to kick the goals?
Perhaps if we had some decent other forward options we could consider it, but at this stage I think not.

Tried his guts out...ok. Regardless, 'trying your guts out' and having a bad game are two different things.

When Fev starts knocking guys out on the footy field, then Ill join the line asking him to be dropped. Hall scenario totally irrelevent - not the same at all.

As was the teams...

Im over arguing it anyway - you and others think our leading goal kicker should be dropped, fine. Neither opinion matters - only what happens at selection tomorrow.

Well I reckon right now I'd take a bloke who gave everything vs Crows, kicked 4.2 and gave away a couple, contested, competed and gave his teammates every indication that he WANTED to be there - despite his much publicized brain explosion VS Fev who was the complete opposite and a brain explosion would mean he at least did something.

As was the teams...

My point is, he needs a message because obviously he doesn't get it. I don't care if he's leading the coleman by 50 goals. It's the same as a lot of child geniuses. Most of them don't get anywhere in the real world because they didn't have to try as they were so damn good.

Talent can only get you so far, hard work and the right attitude is what separate the best from the good. Ever since our club has been on the bottom of the ladder we've had to keep players like Fev, Stevens, Houlihan in the team whether their work ethic was up to scratch or not. If they didn't play we'd lose by more than usual 10 goals.

It's about time our club becomes the best again, and stops accepting mediocrity. Right now we have a bunch of superbly talented young players, who are very impressionable and will be developing their work ethic. Fev is seen as a leader at our club, and it's about time he shows it!

If Ratt's is serious about what he said post game, he'll drop him for the good of Fev and for the team (looking at the bigger picture), show them anyone is expendable! Sadly I don't think he has the balls.

Anyway that's my two cents, I'll leave it at that.

So are you happy with having a player in our side who picks and chooses when he does the team things? Who plays to the best of his ability when he feels like it?