Im The Gun

Now I don't bag teams or players for no reason, but tonight I had my first night off training for the year and well there was nothing really on TV so I went across the road to check out how other teams do things.

The reds were training and I've gotta ask "How the hell do they win flags?"
after about 15 minutes I was getting p!$$ed off at the mistakes they were making, there was no backing up, no coming off hats to support and the talk wasn't too great.
There were 3 or 4 players who had a bit of skill, but if I or any of my team-mates trained like that it would be 400's all night.

The things that stood out were
1) no backing up at all, the ball went to ground, yet no one was there to run off and support
2) there was some talk, but it was poor
3) only a few players were marking/taking it in the hands, if we take a cheast mark at all it's 20 pushs up, a second time its a 400.
4) far too often players kicked on their wrong leg, ie. they used their right when the left should have been used

Perhaps they don't adhere to the maxim "train as you play".
Doesn't seem to be affecting their performance on Saturday afternoons.
Then again, they're only playing D grade.

I think you'll find your answer in there somewhere.

Perhaps you would be better served trotting over to Melbourne Uni and see how the Blues train. They win flags too, A grade flags.

Which side were you watching???

They have 5 you know.

Mind you it wouldn't surprise me of this type of attitude. Which is the exact reason why they make it to the finals and do nothing.

I think they rely on 2 or 3 stand outs on game day that would be excussed from training on cold nights, if you know what i mean.

You can get away with it in D1 but will struggle in higher divisions.

joshieboy said:
Which side were you watching???

They have 5 you know.

Mind you it wouldn't surprise me of this type of attitude. Which is the exact reason why they make it to the finals and do nothing.

I think they rely on 2 or 3 stand outs on game day that would be excussed from training on cold nights, if you know what i mean.

You can get away with it in D1 but will struggle in higher divisions.

It was the one on the brunswick st oval, which is starting to look better.

And who may I ask did you take training off from ITG ? I'm sure they would be stoked that you just took a night off for the hell of it.

As for making it to the finals and doing nothing.

2001 - Flag
2003 - Flag ( defeating Peninsula twice in a year they were undefeated until finals)
2004 - Prelim Final

I'd hardly call that "doing nothing". Let's imagine they win this year, that's 3 flags in 5 years. I'm sure most players / clubs would play be happy with that.

I find it amusing that the Reds constantly get brought up on the BigFooty boards, usually to be shot down, for no apparent reason. Read through past posts and the same arguement of "Oh well, they're only in D Grade, they won't make it any higher" ALWAYS comes up ? Why ? Are there teams out there that are perhaps a bit worried about the Reds. A grade teams attract A grade players, because they are in A Grade (and the "gardening money" that comes with it). How much do you actually know about the players at the club anyway, or do you all just hide behind this "They're in D-Grade, they must be s**t" veil. I notice a lot of "I thinks" and "Probablys" in your posts.

There are plenty of guys who could be playing higher grades (and have) but the fact it's a quality club, and they want to be part of something big as we move through the grades.

Mappa said:
Let's imagine they win this year, that's 3 flags in 5 years. I'm sure most players / clubs would play be happy with that.
Mappa said:
There are plenty of guys who could be playing higher grades (and have) but the fact it's a quality club, and they want to be part of something big as we move through the grades.
Mappa said:
no apparent reason..

The above comments are the reason. Reds supporters and players have an air of aragance about them when they have no credit for it. It is the fact that you boast about victorys in low grades that makes outsiders wonder why, and whats so good about this team that we keep hearing about? The answer to that is, "not much, they are just a side that is playing some good footy in a low grade", an outsider would say. Compared to "we are the next big thing in the amateur competition and are winding through the grades with ease which will see us in A grade before you know it."

Mappa said:
Read through past posts and the same arguement of "Oh well, they're only in D Grade, they won't make it any higher" ALWAYS comes up ? Why ? Are there teams out there that are perhaps a bit worried about the Reds.

I think that their are a few in higher grades who are worried about Fitzroy Reds. But I don't think that this is the reason for these comments, its more like, "ok you have talked that talk, but can you walk the walk" kind of thing. Until they have proven this then they will always be cut down to size.

Mappa said:
How much do you actually know about the players at the club anyway.

Quite a bit.

I've always enjoyed my time umpiring Reds games in the years recently gone by.

As it turns out, the VAFA Umpires and the reds this year have shared a training session early on in the season and will do the same again this coming Tuesday.

It is a shame that other clubs may not seem to be prepared to work with the umpiring group in training sessions.

Mappa said:
And who may I ask did you take training off from ITG ? I'm sure they would be stoked that you just took a night off for the hell of it.

Highett and it wasn't just for the hell of it.
I have a bad back at the moment and thats giving me hell in my groin & legs. living in Fitzroy north and playing in Highett, the coach tells me to call if I'm not training. I've missed one training night in 4 years, inc every preseason night, sunday recovering at the beach & Monday weights.

Mappa said:
I find it amusing that the Reds constantly get brought up on the BigFooty boards, usually to be shot down, for no apparent reason. Read through past posts and the same arguement of "Oh well, they're only in D Grade, they won't make it any higher" ALWAYS comes up ? Why ? Are there teams out there that are perhaps a bit worried about the Reds. A grade teams attract A grade players, because they are in A Grade (and the "gardening money" that comes with it). How much do you actually know about the players at the club anyway, or do you all just hide behind this "They're in D-Grade, they must be s**t" veil. I notice a lot of "I thinks" and "Probablys" in your posts.

Like I said, I don't bag teams for no reasons and did say that they win flags, but I also said that their training didn't look too good.

Im The Gun said:
Highett and it wasn't just for the hell of it.
I have a bad back at the moment and thats giving me hell in my groin & legs. living in Fitzroy north and playing in Highett, the coach tells me to call if I'm not training. I've missed one training night in 4 years, inc every preseason night, sunday recovering at the beach & Monday weights.

Like I said, I don't bag teams for no reasons and did say that they win flags, but I also said that their training didn't look too good.

Isn't it funny that when someone starts with a 'qualifier' like I don't bag teams for no reasons but.....they then proceed to bag a team for basically no reason.

It's similar to a far right-winger saying "Now, I'm not trying to be racist but...." or "some of my best friends are Muslims but....."

I mean really, who cares how low their training intensity is, except the coaching staff and players themselves. Fact is, in your view, they train poorly. Great, take it on board. However, they win games - so something must be working.

Highett may train the house down every night but when you're 3-12 and looking down the barrel at relegation to SFL's Division 2, then you should probably leave well alone.

Never know, your club might well be a pre-season practice match candidate for the Redz if they make to C Grade next year. Wouldn't that be ironic? At least you have it over them in the pre-match warm-up!

:D

The self fulfilling propehcy (read we think we are wonderful from the coach down) is very much in vogue at Brunswick St, but questions remain as to how much is backed up by substance and how much is backed up by the genuine likeliehood of a fast rise through the grades.

This is emphasised by their ability to bully lesser rated opponents but their inability to put away tougher sides like Banyule and Blacks last year. Their earlier loss to Prahran, noted as one of the harder sides at the footy in D1, may further support this point.

There is no doubt they believe they are on the march, and also no doubt the club has created an environment of frivolity and an atmosphere attractive to those more philosophical types that cruise through Brunswick St.

Having watched D1 footy for some time though, I would suggest that compared to Blacks, Reds are at least 10 goals off them on the footy field however off the field, may have the edge slightly.

The advantage Blacks have however is the network of a Parkin and the ability to attract the calbre of recruits required to cut it in any grade higher than C.

At Reds the ability of the cockroach and the playing group, given these guys were involved when the club hovered unsuccessfully in the lower grades, to network successfully enough to attract high quality recruits will be paramount to its success should it move to C Grade at the end of the year.

They are a club with a vision of where they want to go, and self-belief is the trigger for any achievement. How far they go still remains the question, and a little less crowing from the Fitzroy Reds Football Club may well be the starting point.

As for their 3 or 4 stars Scribe, I actually think their strength is their evenness and when they have played without a couple of their best, ie Davis and Dullard, their output has not been significantly diminished. By the way the greatest days of my football life were playing beside you mate.

As for those players that supposedly would be playing in higher grades if they wanted to, I reckon there may be six that could play a siginificant role in an A grade side, maximum.

Perhaps a further reason that the general consensus in these circles is that yes they are a very good D1 side in 2005 but for all the hyperbole, perhaps a more conservative approach to self promotion may be appropriate.

Scribe said:
Highett may train the house down every night but when you're 3-12 and looking down the barrel at relegation to SFL's Division 2, then you should probably leave well alone. :D

With that.
Last year we won the Divi 2 flag, gone up into divi one and held our own.
we will stay up this year and next year make a run at the finals I have no doubt, how many teams go up into divi 1 and win the flag or make the finals in their first year up?
We have been in almost every game this year, led St. Pauls a powerhouse in the SFL at 3/4 time & pushed Balwyn twice.
ask anyone who knows much about the SFL and they'll say that Highett are going to be there for years to come.
This year we've lost a lot of players to season ending injurys, at one stage we had 10 players from last years flag out and 2 retired and we still pushed the top sides.

everyone in football knows that you play as you train, all i was saying was their skills and training didn't look too great, all i was saying was that they didn't look that great at training.

joshieboy said:
The above comments are the reason. Reds supporters and players have an air of aragance about them when they have no credit for it.
Exactly which quotes are they ?
joshieboy said:
It is the fact that you boast about victorys in low grades that makes outsiders wonder why, and whats so good about this team that we keep hearing about?
There is a difference between boasting, and being proud of an achievement. Should they be upset at, or try and hide winning those 2 flags ? No. Should they be realistic about winning them in D3 and D2 ? Yes. I don't see billboards on Punt Road, or ads on the TV proclaiming the Reds to be the greatest club in the world. Do you ?
joshieboy said:
The answer to that is, "not much, they are just a side that is playing some good footy in a low grade", an outsider would say. Compared to "we are the next big thing in the amateur competition and are winding through the grades with ease which will see us in A grade before you know it."
Who has ever said this ? Are "we the next big thing in the amateur competition......through the grades with ease" ? No. Are the Reds a club with a plan in place to EARN their way up the grades, on and off the field. Yes. Big difference there. You are entitled to your opinion, but don't let it get in the way of fact.

Gee,

You boys don't take constructive critisism well do you. I think this is the third such arguement with a Reds supporter in my time on Bigfooty. Get a grip.

joshieboy said:
Gee,

You boys don't take constructive critisism well do you. I think this is the third such arguement with a Reds supporter in my time on Bigfooty. Get a grip.
Whose arguing Joshie ? A person who knows nothing about the Reds comes on here and has a go at my club. What would you want me to do ? Just accept it ? I don't have a problem with their opinion, if they don't have a problem about mine. Most of the comments have just been the usual snide remarks though, so I stick up for the club. No issues there.

As for having arguments with Reds supporters, you tend to get up people's noses if you start threads like you have in the past. If you have an opinion, state it from the outset, and don't ask seemingly innocent questions, ones that you know the answers too, and then refute every answer that comes your way.