=KaNga=

Melbourne Victory
hey everyone,

i dont post in the genral discussion board much but do read some of the stuff that goes on in here.

anyways.....footy season for me is about to start again and it's going to be my first year in the under 18's being a bottom aged player. I want to get new footy boots but not sure what is best, i want to have an idea of what i'm looking for before going to the shops. Looking for one priced about $100-180 (still have some cash from chrissy i can pitch in with my parents money) and one that is sturdy and can last me a couple of seasons, colour is not a worry and with my old boots (nike total 90's) i got foot pains in about 8 of the 16 rounds and some training sessions too which really restricted me so i really want to get the right one this time.

Some info on my game, um alot of twists and turns, play centre half back...that's about all really.

any help will be much appreciated.

Cheers. :)

I love buying new boots, but i have retired as of last season but happy to pass on some tips.

2 years ago i bought a pair of Nike moulded for $250.
Last season i bought a pair of Puma Liga (they look like Kings) but for $110.

The Puma boots were a lot better i thought.

So what i am saying is the more expensive boot is not necessarily the better. Just choose one that feels the best.

I would go for the blade style stops, you said you had Nike 90 i believe they were a more traditional stop style. I have always found the blade style the best and they go well in the wet.

Also don't be fooled by fancy colors or gimmicks. Stick to more traditional styles boots, those sort have been good for a long time for a reason.

One other i can recommend are the Adidas Copa Mundial. The design has not changed for about 20 years, i have had 2 pairs of them in the past and highly recommend them. They are about $180.

Also a tip to make your boots last longer. After you have worn your new boots in over pre season and the first bit of the year use last years boots for training and keep your new ones for game day only. Always give them a polish before the game as well, it keeps them in good nick.

Hope this helps.

Feel free to PM me if you have any questions.

ah sweet, cheers mate.

yea my Nike total 90's had the traditional round stops and i was thinking of getting the bladed ones. I found myself slipping alot even when it wasn't wet because i do twist and turn alot. Also i find it difficult to kick further in my total 90's??? i'm a pretty big kick in my runners when at school but on matchdays and training i struggle to kick the distance i usually kick with a pair of runners and sometimes find it hard to hit the target? is this weird? because alot of my friends say that footy boots help them kick further.
It must be the material of the runners, i like the feeling of how it comes off the padding.

And yea i'll check out those Adidas boots you recomended :)

i'll try to keep them polished and all.

thanks for that.

Got foot problems... gotta get a pair of asics gel or something like that with a thick wedge on the bottom to absorb the shock from the surface...

manmountain said:
If you're a real man, buy black boots.
If you're scared to sleep with the lights off, buy white boots.

It really is that simple :D
I have gold boots for soccer, what does that mean?

crackers57 said:
That says it all, Muffo...........:rolleyes:
LOL. Was waiting for a comment like that. :p

I only bought them cos i already had screw ins but they would kill my feet when the ground was hard, and the gold ones are moulded (and only cost me about $60 brand new). :thumbsu:

gerta said:
Got foot problems... gotta get a pair of asics gel or something like that with a thick wedge on the bottom to absorb the shock from the surface...
kool, how much would they set me back you reckon?

and they better work, lol.

manmountain said:
If you're a real man, buy black boots.
If you're scared to sleep with the lights off, buy white boots.

It really is that simple :D
lol, i dont really like the look of black boots, dosent mean you're soft if you have white ones does it? for some players it does but i just think it shows abit of personality. :)

Ummm let me check...

damn... usually they have them online on rebel... there are two types of them... the cheaper ones and the more expensive ones..

cheaper are about 140 more expensives ones about 220...

u'll either like em or u want... i find that they are more like runners than footy boots... and i think that should suit u, considering u mentioned that before...

main thing is go into a sports shop try heaps of different pairs on and see which u like...

also if ur that way inclined u can get them in white...

gerta said:
Ummm let me check...

damn... usually they have them online on rebel... there are two types of them... the cheaper ones and the more expensive ones..

cheaper are about 140 more expensives ones about 220...

u'll either like em or u want... i find that they are more like runners than footy boots... and i think that should suit u, considering u mentioned that before...

main thing is go into a sports shop try heaps of different pairs on and see which u like...

also if ur that way inclined u can get them in white...

ah yes, i know what you're talking about, they look like runners.

do you know if the studs are blades rather than the round ones?

=KaNga= said:
ah yes, i know what you're talking about, they look like runners.

do you know if the studs are blades rather than the round ones?

they are soft rubber blades... i brought a pair last year for when the grounds were really hard... and i thought they were really good...

Pretty much played in them the rest of the year... Even in the wet they are fine....

gerta said:
they are soft rubber blades... i brought a pair last year for when the grounds were really hard... and i thought they were really good...

Pretty much played in them the rest of the year... Even in the wet they are fine....
sounds great mate, cheers for the help, will check those ones out too along with some that The Hulkster mentioned.

does anyone own a pair of these....

747941_1_111_1.jpg

they look great but don't know if they feel great, i know Adam Simpson and Brent Harvey have these (two of my favourite players :))

MadRyan said:
Adidas Predators - 2003 version.

They're very stable, will aid your twisting and turning a lot.
are they these ones?

719708_1_111_1.jpg

because our full foward has these and he can't kick if his life depended on it :P, looks more of a soccer boot though but as i said i will check all the boots out, afterall, the boots are a footy players most important equipment. :thumbsu:

Im also in need of some new boots, last year i started in the A's for 3 games but got shin splints and missed a couple of games, played the rest of the year in the B's but basically had pain the whole year and didnt play as well as i can. Any tips for looking for boots that cushion a bit and reduce pains?

Power21 said:
Im also in need of some new boots, last year i started in the A's for 3 games but got shin splints and missed a couple of games, played the rest of the year in the B's but basically had pain the whole year and didnt play as well as i can. Any tips for looking for boots that cushion a bit and reduce pains?

Gotta go the asics... or something that has cushioning...

maybe a pair of the puma grass cats or whatever they're now called...

gerta said:
Gotta go the asics... or something that has cushioning...

maybe a pair of the puma grass cats or whatever they're now called...
grass cutters

=KaNga= said:
are they these ones?

719708_1_111_1.jpg

because our full foward has these and he can't kick if his life depended on it :P, looks more of a soccer boot though but as i said i will check all the boots out, afterall, the boots are a footy players most important equipment. :thumbsu:

No, they're the new school flashy white Predators. I've tried that version but it feels different to me despite it's similar appearance. I'm talking about the 2003 black/red/white or white/red/black version. There is a newer version of them out, but in my opinion they're not as good as the 2003 version.

I use to have problems with my boots too. In runners, I could kick the ball about 10 meters further then in my boots. I switched to the Predators in 2003 from my Nikes and I was fine with both my kicking and turning, it felt perfect.

6895279.jpg

MadRyan said:
No, they're the new school flashy white Predators. I've tried that version but it feels different to me despite it's similar appearance. I'm talking about the 2003 black/red/white or white/red/black version. There is a newer version of them out, but in my opinion they're not as good as the 2003 version.

I use to have problems with my boots too. In runners, I could kick the ball about 10 meters further then in my boots. I switched to the Predators in 2003 from my Nikes and I was fine with both my kicking and turning, it felt perfect.

6895279.jpg

I've got a pair of them.... Found them to be a bit heavy for my liking especially when your running in the mid field.... very good when your play key position or not much running...