Footy records

• Thread starter Thread starter SJ

Wondering how interested other people are in the Record. I'm 21 and have bought it in every match I've ever been to, and have kept them all.

Anyone else the same? Or wouldn't touch them?

I'm the same, bought one at every game I went to, except for one this year because I didn't have enough money on me.

I save them as well, but more because I'm a hoarder and can't bear to throw stuff out....

Same here..

I've got about 400 records, i haven't counted them in a long time actually - there's a great chance that there could be even more.

Every Geelong match since 1999, except two - Geelong Vs Kangaroos in Canberra last year and Geelong Vs Port Adelaide in Adelaide this season.

On top of that, i've got most Geelong matches between 1995-1999 and pretty much every Geelong finals match since 1989.

Earliest dates back to 1980 - Geelong Vs Richmond.

Have every Grand Final record since 1994.. 100's of VFL and local records as well. I'm an avid collector, to be honest.. Every Geelong VFL record since 2004 except for about three i think - Geelong Vs North Ballarat in 2005, Geelong Vs Casey this season and Geelong Vs Northern Bullants this season.

This, in addition to a continuous stretch of Inside Football dating back to about 1999, We Are Geelong/Cat Chat mags from the mid 90s, and mountains of newspaper sports suppliments from the mid 90's...

Same here..

I've got about 400 records, i haven't counted them in a long time actually - there's a great chance that there could be even more.

Every Geelong match since 1999, except two - Geelong Vs Kangaroos in Canberra last year and Geelong Vs Port Adelaide in Adelaide this season.

On top of that, i've got most Geelong matches between 1995-1999 and pretty much every Geelong finals match since 1989.

Earliest dates back to 1980 - Geelong Vs Richmond.

Have every Grand Final record since 1994.. 100's of VFL and local records as well. I'm an avid collector, to be honest.. Every Geelong VFL record since 2004 except for about three i think - Geelong Vs North Ballarat in 2005, Geelong Vs Casey this season and Geelong Vs Northern Bullants this season.

This, in addition to a continuous stretch of Inside Football dating back to about 1999, We Are Geelong/Cat Chat mags from the mid 90s, and mountains of newspaper sports suppliments from the mid 90's...
Nice work. I reckon I have around 200-250 Records.

I kept a lot of significant sports supplements from the 1990s too.

Same here mate. I've kept 'em from all the games i've been to since '97....so when i was 6. And i don't reckon i'll stop.

Still only $3.50! lol:thumbsu:

Same here mate. I've kept 'em from all the games i've been to since '97....so when i was 6. And i don't reckon i'll stop.

Still only $3.50! lol:thumbsu:
Yeah. They rose heaps in the '90s, but I think have only risen 50c in more than half a decade, that's unreal.

I have a pretty sizeable collection for someone my age, love it.

True.. and in addition, they've only risen $1.50 since in 10 seasons, which is fantastic.
Good work.

Being 18 myself, i reckon my 400+ is a pretty fair effort too... ;)
Do you go to most interstate matches too?

I used buy them every match from 1993 to about 1997. After that, imo, the publication has gotten worse and worse every year. And finally I just stopped buying them. (Also did a mass clean up of my room a few years ago and threw all the ones I had bought over the years away.)

Wow!

:confused:

What's with the "wow"?

Just my opinion. Also it is a shame there is no good AFL magazine. I remember buying "Football Australia" back in the mid-nineties. Was a glossy full colour magazine, with great articles. "Inside Football" (i think is what it's called) is a heap of crap. :thumbsd:

Also it is a shame there is no good AFL magazine. I remember buying "Football Australia" back in the mid-nineties. Was a glossy full colour magazine, with great articles. "Inside Football" (i think is what it's called) is a heap of crap. :thumbsd:
Any football magazine has to compete with the daily newspapers, which of course are timelier, more resourced and far more reliable.

You are right though, there isn't really a decent AFL publication. I get Inside Football every week, it's a pretty good read, but its biggest detriment is its lack of timely information. Its deadline is Monday - the day when the biggest stories break…

Sports like cricket, tennis and soccer, fans are spoilt for choice.

Any football magazine has to compete with the daily newspapers, which of course are timelier, more resourced and far more reliable.

You are right though, there isn't really a decent AFL publication. I get Inside Football every week, it's a pretty good read, but its biggest detriment is its lack of timely information. Its deadline is Monday - the day when the biggest stories break…

Sports like cricket, tennis and soccer, fans are spoilt for choice.

But "Football Australia" came out once a month. It had more in-depth profiles, interviews, glossy posters, etc, etc. Surely there is room in the market for a decent publication like that again??

Inside Football, isnt most of that black n white? May as well just buy the paper, imo. (Which is what I do.) ;)

What's with the "wow"? Just my opinion.
All those little orphaned Footy Records! As he began collecting around the time you finished, I'd say Wow! = Wow! Gimme, gimme dat thing....

Never purchased it myself, SJ.

I've collected the Age and Hun's footy magazines since '99, and most of the draft guide lift-outs.

Oh, and earlier in the year I found a tattered match review of Kent's 6 goal debut for North Melbourne wrapped around a pickle jar, if that counts.
Maybe I'll scalp it to Nananana once he recovers from the betrayal.

All those little orphaned Footy Records! As he began collecting around the time you finished, I'd say Wow! = Wow! Gimme, gimme dat thing....

Aw, my sincere apologies PJs, I never knew Footy Records has feelings. At the time when I threw them away I wasn't on BF. Otherwise I woulda chucked up a thread, offering them to a good home. :D