Forgetting Sam Marshall

I agree, he is not currently in my 23
Reville's gone past him. In fact well past him.

No knock on Sam , Reville has worked really hard to make himself a permanent inclusion and Sam has plenty of time and the talent to do even better than that.

I think it's just he's got a couple players ahead of him in his only viable position who really need demand selection, and nothing more than that. Tunstill was selected to play a role Marshall couldn't cover.

I think people are used to our draft rorts being top 10 players 6 games in.

Marshall is doing fine and will develop fine. He doesn’t need to be Will Ashcroft 2 minutes into his career.

I think people are used to our draft rorts being top 10 players 6 games in.

Marshall is doing fine and will develop fine. He doesn’t need to be Will Ashcroft 2 minutes into his career.

He was pick 25 for a reason.

You can’t fit everyone in. If Marshall wants to get into the seniors, he needs to go down a tried and true path that involves working hard on the track, performing at a consistently high level in the reserves, being selfless and team oriented and having a spot open up. I don’t buy into the narrative that he is sooking about the Grand Final or non-selection this year. The reality is that there isn’t a spot for him. If he wants to look at a couple of role models, he might consider the careers of Ryan Lester, Darcy Gardiner, Darcy Fort, Lincoln McCarthy, Dev Robertson and Oscar McInerney. All have suffered adversity with significant injuries or had periods where they had fallen out of calculations for a spot in the senior side and each has returned to senior football and in the cases of Lester, Fort, Gardiner and McInerney, experienced Premiership glory. I included Dev Robertson, because he gave himself every chance at Brisbane and was part of a winning culture, before deciding, rightly, to advance his career at another club. Good for him I say.

Back to Sam Marshall, he played in a Grand Final and won a Premiership in his first season, as a 19 year old. What an amazing start to a career and how fortunate. With his whole career in front of him, he has every reason to be super up beat. I wish him the best, even if some big money offers come his way in the future and he leaves Brisbane to further his career. That’s the way professional sport works.

Bruce > Marshall imo.

This year, yes. I think Marshalls ceiling is far higher than Bruce. The difference is, Bruce is close to his ceiling now and Sam has a ways to go.

Bruce is 25, Sam is 20. That’s a lot of body development that makes a huge difference.
Bruce has better hair, which counts for a lot.

Zorko doing his calf could be a signal that he is nearing the end. Lachie is a high chance to depart at season end. I don’t think we’ll be pushing Zorko out, but if he has an injury interrupted season it could be a conversation that the club has. Linc also probably has to get through the season uninjured to go around again.

I imagine the club would rather hang onto Sam, than play draft-lotto in the next few years so is likely to offer him better terms.

Everything gets devalued with Tassie draft concessions. Assuming we finish near the top in 2027 our first pick is pushed back 7 places before any other bids. So with the adjustment to the bidding rules, we don’t have much to working with anyway.

If Sam Marshall went the full Scotty Bamford mullet look, which he has the potential to do; then I beg to differ, but otherwise you’re bang on.
Marshall would be a ‘lock’ in the Senior team if he had this hairstyle.

1775955149607.webp
Reville realised what it takes to cement a spot in the ‘one’s’.