Formatting tables

I've put the stats in a spreadsheet and taken a screen shot to display as a graphic. (Later I'll look through my bookmarks as I'm pretty sure I've got a thread started by REH with instructions for displaying data in table format on Bigfooty).

Nah Toots that was a PM I sent you 18 months ago about how to copy formulas in an excel spread sheet but to fix a reference cell when copying the formula, involving several others cells. eg A35*$A$5 copied over to column c fixes $A$5 but automatically changes A35 to C35.

Re: Damon White with and without Wazza - Examination of a widely held belief

I still have that one. I cleaned out about 300 PMs a few weeks ago but that was one of about 30 I kept.

Someone posted about displaying data in table format but it seems that I lost the link to it when an earlier version of Firefox dumped my bookmarks.

Re: Damon White with and without Wazza - Examination of a widely held belief

I still have that one. I cleaned out about 300 PMs a few weeks ago but that was one of about 30 I kept.

Someone posted about displaying data in table format but it seems that I lost the link to it when an earlier version of Firefox dumped my bookmarks.

Yeah I asked about how to use the formatting for tables, and you use the code or the # symbol next to the quote symbol ie just wrap your info with [.CODE]your data[/CODE.] but no dots inside the brackets. However it doesn't always work neatly and you sometimes have to do a lot of fiddling around after dumping info from a spreasheet, word document, pdf file etc to line up the data.

That must have been after the 2005 season when I showed all those Port crowd stats vs other teams a mate produced for me.
Edit: Here is the thread Toots.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=195227

If you can easily display a spreadsheet direct thru photobucket, imageshack etc I reckon it looks a lot neater and probably will save you a hell of a lot of time. Question is how long does the file at photobucket etc last?

Moved this techo-talk over here in case this was going to be an ongoing discussion (PM's maybe?).

I think there's a benefit in keeping it open as others may be able to contribute or possibly even benefit from the discussion.

Thanks for the link REH (that's the one I was thinking of) and also to those who contributed to that thread.

I'm now wondering if it's possible to take the formatted data out of Bigfooty and paste it back into a spreadsheet. This would be useful if anyone else wanted to play with the figures. Currently I'm getting the data in rows but it's all in the one column.

Yeh if you copy from a table to excel you get the info as text and into 1 column. Not sure what happens if you copy to word but I would suspect its just text rather than in a table form.

I would copy to notepad and save the data, and then use the Excel import function to import the data and align it into columns automatically. Perhaps add some semi colons to make the table import a little easier.

Ah that works...

datafrombf1mp8.jpg

But I used "space" as the delimiter.

datafrombf2me8.jpg

Nice one Malibu. :thumbsu:

Thanks for that. I will use it when others on the main board or all big footy board put up data worth keeping.