auste1234

Anything from WA
Just wondering what you guys thoughts are about which players are dead wood on the freo list.

Personally I think James walker is the last player on the freo list that we should get rid of. He has been with us for quiet a while and has never been able to crack it and get into the top 5. The list looks quiet good now but I just think Walker isnt really in the best 22 week in week out. He does do some tagging jobs now and then and also likes to play on the wing but either way he hasn't played outstanding this year, maybe its time freo sent him home to Victoria and we got back a west aussie!

Just like leigh brown last year i think walkers time is up, apart from that the list looks very healthy:) :)

Originally posted by auste1234
Just wondering what you guys thoughts are about which players are dead wood on the freo list.

Personally I think James walker is the last player on the freo list that we should get rid of. He has been with us for quiet a while and has never been able to crack it and get into the top 5. The list looks quiet good now but I just think Walker isnt really in the best 22 week in week out. He does do some tagging jobs now and then and also likes to play on the wing but either way he hasn't played outstanding this year, maybe its time freo sent him home to Victoria and we got back a west aussie!

Just like leigh brown last year i think walkers time is up, apart from that the list looks very healthy:) :)

The phantom is one of the first picked each week.

Walker has copped a fair bit from the supporters over the years, mainly because he used to produce heaps of up and under kicks and didn't put his body on the line. This year and to a lesser extent last year, Walker has developed his game and really cemented his place in the starting 22. While he might not get the volume of kicks that other players in the team do, his pace and ability to use the ball well have been an asset this year. His hardness at the ball has also been good at times, after copping a knee in the head from Stafford while going back into a pack against Richmond.

I've been a huge fan of Walker, this year he has proven that he is a really important player to our team and I would be pretty happy to keep him at freo for the rest of his career.

As for dead wood, Toia, Thornton and AJ would probably be given the boot. I also think we would trade Siegert.

Haines and Andrew Browne might be in trouble, but I think both of them could still develop and be very good players for the club.

I've never really been a fan of Walker but he has been much better this season IMO and is in our starting 22.

Dead wood IMO: Toia, Cunningham, Jones, Waterhouse

Re: Re: Freo's Dead wood

Originally posted by FreoDocker

As for dead wood, Toia, Thornton and AJ would probably be given the boot. I also think we would trade Siegert.

Haines and Andrew Browne might be in trouble, but I think both of them could still develop and be very good players for the club.

I've been impressed with Thornton every time I see him play and he is definitely not delist material.

Same applies to Haines and Browne, they could become very good players, just need longer to develop.

We have quite a few players in front of those 3, when it comes to delisting.

Re: Re: Re: Freo's Dead wood

Originally posted by Kenny_01
I've been impressed with Thornton every time I see him play and he is definitely not delist material.

Same applies to Haines and Browne, they could become very good players, just need longer to develop.

We have quite a few players in front of those 3, when it comes to delisting.

I know, but how many players are we required to delist at the end of the season.

Toia and AJ are gone, the others who would be in trouble could be Clive and Koops, but I can't see them getting delisted.

Also what do you think of Doswell, Crowley and Edgecumbe??

We don't have to delist any, since we have 35 on our list and next year we have to have a minimum of 37, and a max of 38. Plus Parker will be a veteran.

Cunningham is streets in front of Haines, Browne and Thornton when it comes to delisting.

Toia, Jones and Cunningham will get delisted/retire IMO. Cunningham might stay seeing as though we need to fill our roster up.

Yeah I wouldn't trade Haines or Browne. Probably not Thornton at this stage either.

Clive deserves another one year contract but Toia, Cunningham and Jones should be shown the door.

Koops and Siegert could be traded.

I agree that Clive and koops could be in trouble, but i hope we don't get rid of him because they can produce some very exciting football. Clive is one of my favourite players, I thought it was a bad move 5 years ago or so when we got rig of winnie, he was an exciting player. I think Clive is a little like Ryan cambell for the warriors. People pay money just to go and watch him play.

We will be close to full strenght this week so its very important we put on a good show in VIC and if we win then top 2 is possible and that would be great, at least 2 home finals!!!

No way - Walker has been Mr Consistency this year. There is no way he should be traded when we are on the verge of something big - he's put up with almost as much as Macca & Parker. He may not be flashy, but he would be one of the first picked each week, has good leadership qualities, his skills have improved hugely this year (must be Ball's work with him) and CC likes him.
He's unlikely to get traded (although anything's possible....).
Players to trade: Cunningham, Thornton, Clive (if anyone will have him - ouch that hurt...:( ), Toia (same but he's only 26 or something so maybe someone might want him)
Delist: AJ (sad to say but his time is over)
Everyone else should stay - unless the "deal of a lifetime" came up then anyone could go.
The untouchables would be Bell, Pav, Hase, McPharlin, Hayden, DJ, Polak, Macca & Parker(sentimental reasons!!) and the Sandman (young yet and still a lot of unrealised potential in Mr 211). Any others??
Maybe Medders & Haddrill (backmen like that don't grow on trees), and possible The Wiz.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Freo's Dead wood

Originally posted by FreoDocker
Also what do you think of Doswell, Crowley and Edgecumbe??

I saw Doswell play live in the intraclub game earlier in the year. He wasn't afraid to put his body over the footy and his disposal looked pretty classy as well. His fitness base is also apparently very good.

I've seen Crowley play a few times for Subiaco. He looks a likely type, is quick and can run 3km in 10.13 minutes (third quickest time at the 2002 National Draft Camp). He is good overhead as well which adds versatility to his game.

Haven't seen Edgecumbe play, although he was rated very highly as a junior and clocked the third quickest time of 2.90secs over 20 metres at the National Draft Camp.

None of them will be delisted at this stage, they will be given more game time next year if the opportunity arises.

Criminy, now it's Jimmy's turn on the rack. It bugs me that there always has to be someone to bag, even though we are winning more games than we are losing and have stitched up our maiden finals berth.The obvious target has always been Macca, but he seems to have been let off the hook of late (I'm amazed that after all the pap he's copped over the years, he's not rocking back and forth in a cell in New Bedlam Hospital, swatting imaginary flies and chanting "don't kick it out on the full, don't kick it out on the full". Instead, he's probably playing the best footy of his career). It also doesn't seem to be as popular now as it was a few months ago to be calling for Trent Croad's head. Now, and it's not just you auste, Walker seems to be one of Fremantle's favourite whipping boys. Jimmy will never be a star, but he's certainly not "dead wood". He does his job week in, week out - without the flair of Dion or Dodger - effectively enough for him to be, as dockertor said, one of the first picked every week.

Don't get me wrong. I have nothing against him. I just personally think that his best footy might be played at another club, possibly back in VIC. I think he could be trade bait for a young talented west aussie. He does do a job each week, but i have never blammed him for past failure, he is a honest player that is developing but he hasn't really developed that much in my eyes in the last 2 years

At the start of the year I would have said McAnus, but the last 5 or so weeks he's been averaging about 20 possessions a game. He still makes the predictable mistake every now and again, but he's a valuable member to our club. He's an exiting player to watch, because u neva know if he's gonna produce something good, or lose the game for us lol.
I would get rid of Cunningham, Crowley, and Daniel Gilmore. They have not really contributed to the club this season, but one of them will have to be used to fill Simmonds, and Haselby if he's not in condition to play.

I found it funny that some people thought Mcmanus might be traded, I thought that would be funny. I think he would retire if he was told he would be moving at the end of this year

Originally posted by AZZO
At the start of the year I would have said McAnus, but the last 5 or so weeks he's been averaging about 20 possessions a game. He still makes the predictable mistake every now and again, but he's a valuable member to our club. He's an exiting player to watch, because u neva know if he's gonna produce something good, or lose the game for us lol.
I would get rid of Cunningham, Crowley, and Daniel Gilmore. They have not really contributed to the club this season, but one of them will have to be used to fill Simmonds, and Haselby if he's not in condition to play.

Crowley & Gilmore are on the rookie list. This is the area where Haddrill, Hayden , Siegert , Sandilands , Webster and Grover have been promoted from.

Macca is a star now he has been Dedrummed and Walker is not far behind him.

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
Crowley & Gilmore are on the rookie list. This is the area where Haddrill, Hayden , Siegert , Sandilands , Webster and Grover have been promoted from.

You are mistaking Crowley for Colreavy. Crowley was taken with pick 55 in the National Draft last year.

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
My bad sorry. I think that the rookies (Dodd , Gilmore,Colreavy)seem to be more advanced than Edgecombe, Crowley , Doswell. Any one else of the same view?

Haven't seen much of Dodd or Edgecumbe, although Edgecumbe, Crowley and Doswell were born in '84 whereas Gilmore and Colreavy were born in '83 and Dodd in '82, so you'd expect them to be slightly more advanced.

These guys are the ones in trouble some may survive but anyone not on the following list will be at Freo next season

Seigurt , Haines ( He should stay , but in trouble ) , Toia , Cunningham , Koops , Waterhouse , Thornton .