TeeS

OFCFNC
I was talking with a dude on Saturday, who like myself, has been around the Yarra Valley competition for quite a while now.
We came to the conclusion that not only is Gary Moorcroft the best player to come into the Yarra Valley for 20 years, he IS the best player of at least the last 20 years.
On the weekend, I wouldn't say he had a huge day, yet he still racked up 11 majors.
His opponent, our U18 B&F from last year, I thought did a very good job.
A very good job and had 11 kicked on him !!!!
I've seen many, many good ones since I started back in 1991, this bloke is the best of the lot !

in all fairness mate he gets some pretty good service at the cattery..

not saying he's not a freak. but at least half of his goals come lace out..

And i think you'd find that if any other dominating forward had the same delivery they would produce around the same numbers as gaz..

Grayling would kick 150 in thier forward line...
why hasn't gaz won aleague b&f if he's that good????

Grayling wouldn't get near 150 in there forward line for starters. Moorcroft moves really well. Marks the ball in front of his eyes at full tilt better than anyone. Is almost impossible to move and at least once a week takes a seat on someones head.
On top of that, he's as good a set shot for goal as I've seen at this level.
As for why he's never won a league B&F, well, I'm sure our umpires tend to mark all the ex AFL players a fair bit harder than the local boys.
In the 1st couple of years Monky came back in, he was a very dominant player but couldn't buy a vote.
Haynes and Bullen had games on ball last year with 40+ touches and 6 or more goals and struggled as well.
Only they can answer that !
I'm telling you now, there's been some guns in this comp over the last 2 decades and this bloke as far as I'm concerned is at the top of the list.

And while I think of it, Dallas Spencer (Woori) would be as good a Full Back through that period as I've ever seen as well.
I couldn't get a kick on him to save myself and he's been the only bloke i think who's had any consistant success on Moorcroft from the time he came into the Yarra Valley.

I was talking with a dude on Saturday, who like myself, has been around the Yarra Valley competition for quite a while now.
We came to the conclusion that not only is Gary Moorcroft the best player to come into the Yarra Valley for 20 years, he IS the best player of at least the last 20 years.
On the weekend, I wouldn't say he had a huge day, yet he still racked up 11 majors.
His opponent, our U18 B&F from last year, I thought did a very good job.
A very good job and had 11 kicked on him !!!!
I've seen many, many good ones since I started back in 1991, this bloke is the best of the lot !

Yes Moorecroft is good and as stated gets the ball delivered lace out most times, but what about DEAN SELKRIG from YARRA GLEN, avg 6 goals a game with 2 and 3 opponents and hardly gets it delivered on a plate for him. 103 in 17 games in 2nd Div is as good as 120 + in 1st Div l rekon. WELL DONE SILKS!

Ah, I think I might have mentioned something about being the best player I've seen in the YV in 20 years, not the last 3 months !

JOKE OF THE DAY

Yes Moorecroft is good and as stated gets the ball delivered lace out most times, but what about DEAN SELKRIG from YARRA GLEN, avg 6 goals a game with 2 and 3 opponents and hardly gets it delivered on a plate for him. 103 in 17 games in 2nd Div is as good as 120 + in 1st Div l rekon. WELL DONE SILKS!

2ND DIVISION. how can you say that :D

Rip It Up

I was thinking along the same lines, you're probably a bit less backwards in coming forward than I am.........

103 goals in 17 games is nothing to sneeze at. Its not comparable to 130+ goals in 1st Division. Bear in mind that Mucha kicked 170ish in Divvy 2 a couple of years back, thats an amazing effort !

Not knocking Selkrigs effort, haven't seen him play and don't know him. Its not in the same ballpark.

Enough said !!!!!

What a ridiculous comment. In case you have forgotten a guy named mucchitelli kicked 174 in divvy2 in 2006 went to divvy 1 and kicked 100 not 200 as your argument would suggest.

I just want to add this is not a knock on selkrig. He's a good player and I was fortunate to be there on the weekend to see a good performance from him. Anyone that kicks 100 in a season deserves some recognition. He's definitely the most important player to his team in divvy 2

Grayling wouldn't get near 150 in there forward line for starters. Moorcroft moves really well. Marks the ball in front of his eyes at full tilt better than anyone. Is almost impossible to move and at least once a week takes a seat on someones head.
On top of that, he's as good a set shot for goal as I've seen at this level.
As for why he's never won a league B&F, well, I'm sure our umpires tend to mark all the ex AFL players a fair bit harder than the local boys.

I'm telling you now, there's been some guns in this comp over the last 2 decades and this bloke as far as I'm concerned is at the top of the list.
Tim,
Nobody knows class footballers better than you! Moorcroft is all class - so are Haynes, Bullen, Goodlet, etc., but Moorcroft is a real standout.

I'm new to the area so can't comment on all the great players of the past. Last year I moved to Silvan and decided to take my 12yo son up to the local footy to get him excited about playing.

We have been to 5 or 6 games and although we can't claim to be Silvan supporters, I'd have to say they have been some of the most entertaining games of footy I have watched.

No doubt that Moorcroft is an absolute freak! Forget the number of goals he has kicked for a minute, and consider the marks he has taken. I would say that I've seen at least 3 this year that were BETTER than the mark of the year he took for the bombers. One he dropped against Monbulk IMO would have been one of the greatest marks of all time! (ok, I did say IMO!)

Can't say I was a fan of his before this year but as you can see he's won us over. There are many other sides to his game, but for sheer entertainment value it's been spectacular.

Will be interesting to see if he turns it on in the finals, but it's sure to be good value for money.

To be honest he doesn't have real good competition to compete against most weeks, sure it's div 1 but the standard of footy in the Yarra Valley league is a long way away from EFL standard. If he wants to really test himself and have not have things easy every week he should move to an EFL club preferably a Vermont or Balwyn. That is of course if he wants to.

Maybe $ilvan should Pi$$ off their as good as a VERMONT/BALWYN just ask them.

Why would Moorcroft want to test himself and play in the EFL? He has already shown that he can play at the top level so why bother going to a Balwyn or Vermont now? If I was him I'd be doing the exact same thing in which he is doing now....and his obviously on a good wicket too!

Im quite sure he doesn't want to go anywhere because hes had his time in the sun and now wants to have it easy and kick 10 every week and take 5 speccies a game, fair enough and good on him. All i was suggesting that if he was finding it too easy every week and wants to challenge himself than move to a Div 1 EFL side. By the way on a side note if Silvan think they are good enough for Div 1 anyway they are dreaming. They will get flogged every week.

Cant think of too many top level players who had any degree of sucess that have played here at youngish age like Moorcroft. Winmar was still pretty decent when he first went to Warby. Goodwin had a couple of seasons where he marked nearly everything. Robbie Powell spent some time with the cats that would have made a good higlight reel.

winmar was good for the time he was at warby, young gary has been very good at the cats and has been there a few years great pick up.But l think Andy Goodwin as a player who could turn a game by taking a game by the the neck(When he was not trying to take someones head off, man had a bad case of white line fever).Gary has a better name but as a game winner l would go with mad man Goodwin anyday

Goodwin is or was a nut case on and off the field. Coached Mooroolbark when i was there playing and turned them all into thugs. The place is better off without him. Now there going great guns ( Div 3 Grand Final next week). Fair dinkum tried to take anyone and everyone out every week no matter who they were. The guy had balls but probly not much happening upstairs.

Goodwin turned Mooroolbark from a easy beat side to the side you see now. Gave the kids a go and made them walk taller when he was there and Bernie is finishing off what he started. As for the thug tag a lot of players who play EFL 3rd and 4th Div beleive any physical football is thuggery and its umpired like that to. Played against him and watched him many times and all I saw was hard at it football yes he did have a few altercations as everyone does and hes he won most of the battles that dosnt make him a thug. Great player and motervater backbone to Wandins back to back flags.