Geelong footy shake-up finalised… finally?

Sep 22, 2011
Your girlfriend's dreams
The lowdown:
  • Two-division football and netball competition
  • Geelong league to be top division, with Bellarine league to be second division
  • Bellarine league to be expanded to 12 clubs for 2025. Clubs to apply for two spots. Surf Coast Suns as a new senior club thought likely to be one, though not confirmed
  • Promotion / relegation will be possible every TWO years, with the first cycle finishing at the end of 2025
  • Clubs will accumulate points based on their ladder position after the H&A season (pre finals). The top team will get 12 points, the bottom team 1 point, etc.
  • Each club will get four points ratings: Senior footy, Reserves footy, A netball, B netball. The four will be added to produce a single points total for each club for the season
  • At the end of the cycle, the Bellarine club with the most points across two seasons (2024 and 2025 the first cycle) will be offered promotion to the GFNL. It is an offer, not mandatory
  • Should they refuse, the Bellarine club with the second-most points will be offered promotion
  • Only one club can be promoted
  • If promotion is accepted by either either club, the GFNL club with the lowest points will be relegated to the BFNL.
  • If promotion is not taken up by either Bellarine club, there will be no movement between leagues
  • Salary cap and player points to be decided for both leagues. GFNL salary cap likely to be higher, reflecting “premier division” status

Simple!

The full story:

AFL Barwon decides to adopt competition restructure model from 2025 after six month consultation period​

After months of consultation and rigorous debate, AFL Barwon has come to a decision on its competition restructure model for football and netball. Here are all the key details.

March 28, 2024 - 6:00PM

A bombshell decision has been made on the future of football and netball in Geelong, with AFL Barwon sensationally opting to merge the Geelong and Bellarine Football Netball Leagues in a tiered competition and add two extra teams to the Bellarine from 2025.

After six months of extensive consultation with clubs, the AFL Barwon Commission will adopt their contentious restructure project where relegation and non-mandatory promotion — with top-ranked clubs able to choose if they want to be elevated — will take place every two seasons.

The AFL Barwon Commission met with key stakeholders on Monday night after receiving another round of feedback from clubs on the updated proposal, which was released this month.

Under the competition overhaul, promotion and relegation will be judged through a club championship ranking — taking into account ladder finishes from senior football, reserves football, A grade netball and B grade netball — over a two-year period.

The first two-year cycle is from 2024-25, meaning results this year will shape the first movements within the tiered competition in 2026.

The top side in the Bellarine FNL under club championship will be given the opportunity to be promoted — if they decide against it, then the second-placed team will be offered the chance.

However, if both sides choose to remain in the Bellarine FNL then both competitions will stay the same.

The restructure plan means that junior club Surf Coast is in the box seat to enter the senior ranks in 2025 along with another club from the Colac & District Football Netball League or the Geelong & District Football League, as the Bellarine competition extends to a 12-team competition.

But AFL Barwon’s statement made clear that submissions for both an 11th and 12th team remain open, suggesting that Surf Coast’s entry in 2025 is not guaranteed.

The Suns are set to meet with AFL Barwon next week.

The AFL Barwon Comission also said that all criteria would be reviewed during the 2027 season to assess if any further change was required.

“The AFL Barwon Commission are very grateful for the time and effort all clubs have put in over the last six months. The consultation process has been extensive, and we have appreciated the individual thoughts, ideas and club feedback provided during this process,” AFL Barwon Chair Michelle Gerdtz said.

“The key outcomes for AFL Barwon at the commencement of this project was to create a competition landscape that promoted greater pathways, competitiveness, and opportunities for clubs to succeed, as well as providing an entry point for new clubs to be established and enter Senior Football and Netball with success.

“By expanding the Bellarine Football Netball League to include 12 teams, we now see the opportunity for Surf Coast Suns to enter Senior Football and Netball and the mechanism has now been created for movement between the Bellarine FNL and Geelong FNLs”.

AFL Barwon stripped back its initial Future of Football and Netball Project plan that was revealed to clubs in December, which had three-league structure headed by a cashed up Premier League.

It came after meeting between club presidents and AFL Barwon in February found that just seven of the 22 clubs were in support of the previous model.

The governing body’s updated proposal maintains current league titles and governance and removed complex criteria clubs had to meet in order to seek promotion.

It also features boosted salary caps for sides outside the top four as an equalisation measure, with bottom-two sides receiving the most funds to recruit top-end talent.

South Barwon and Ocean Grove have been the most vocal public supporters on the divisive issue, while many clubs in the Bellarine FNL have been against the changes.

Speaking before the decision was made, Swans coach Mark Neeld, who is also the chief executive of Geelong United, told this publication he was in support of the proposal and upward and downward movement between leagues.

He said the Geelong football and netball community couldn’t let self-interest get in the way of what he believed was the best path forward for the growing population in the region.

“I think from our football and netball club and also from a personal level, if people are honest with themselves and do the right thing for the sport, promotion-relegation gets voted in unanimously,” Neeld said.

“I think right now it is important to put the games of football and netball out the front. In my opinion that is not being disrespectful to what has gone on in the past. Clearly there is a population shift and you just have to look at the data,” Neeld said.

“There are coastal areas in Geelong that have enormous populations, enormous populations of young children, enormous population of youth and early 20-aged people.

“They are the type of people that are playing sport and we need to make sure that those people continue playing football and continue playing netball and they do so over a really competitive environment.

“Have we got the most competition environment right now? Well clearly not, and I think it is important that that is the focus. Then it is incumbent upon all leagues and all players and all clubs within those leagues, if you want to play in the higher division it is not simply a matter of putting your hand up, you actually have to get club structures and junior development.”

“In some cases it is impossible because of the population shift in Geelong, so I’m all for promotion and relegation if it is the best thing for the sport.”

The lowdown:
  • Two-division football and netball competition
  • Geelong league to be top division, with Bellarine league to be second division
  • Bellarine league to be expanded to 12 clubs for 2025. Clubs to apply for two spots. Surf Coast Suns as a new senior club thought likely to be one, though not confirmed
  • Promotion / relegation will be possible every TWO years, with the first cycle finishing at the end of 2025
  • Clubs will accumulate points based on their ladder position after the H&A season (pre finals). The top team will get 12 points, the bottom team 1 point, etc.
  • Each club will get four points ratings: Senior footy, Reserves footy, A netball, B netball. The four will be added to produce a single points total for each club for the season
  • At the end of the cycle, the Bellarine club with the most points across two seasons (2024 and 2025 the first cycle) will be offered promotion to the GFNL. It is an offer, not mandatory
  • Should they refuse, the Bellarine club with the second-most points will be offered promotion
  • Only one club can be promoted
  • If promotion is accepted by either either club, the GFNL club with the lowest points will be relegated to the BFNL.
  • If promotion is not taken up by either Bellarine club, there will be no movement between leagues
  • Salary cap and player points to be decided for both leagues. GFNL salary cap likely to be higher, reflecting “premier division” status

Simple!

The full story:

AFL Barwon decides to adopt competition restructure model from 2025 after six month consultation period​

After months of consultation and rigorous debate, AFL Barwon has come to a decision on its competition restructure model for football and netball. Here are all the key details.

March 28, 2024 - 6:00PM

A bombshell decision has been made on the future of football and netball in Geelong, with AFL Barwon sensationally opting to merge the Geelong and Bellarine Football Netball Leagues in a tiered competition and add two extra teams to the Bellarine from 2025.

After six months of extensive consultation with clubs, the AFL Barwon Commission will adopt their contentious restructure project where relegation and non-mandatory promotion — with top-ranked clubs able to choose if they want to be elevated — will take place every two seasons.

The AFL Barwon Commission met with key stakeholders on Monday night after receiving another round of feedback from clubs on the updated proposal, which was released this month.

Under the competition overhaul, promotion and relegation will be judged through a club championship ranking — taking into account ladder finishes from senior football, reserves football, A grade netball and B grade netball — over a two-year period.

The first two-year cycle is from 2024-25, meaning results this year will shape the first movements within the tiered competition in 2026.

The top side in the Bellarine FNL under club championship will be given the opportunity to be promoted — if they decide against it, then the second-placed team will be offered the chance.

However, if both sides choose to remain in the Bellarine FNL then both competitions will stay the same.

The restructure plan means that junior club Surf Coast is in the box seat to enter the senior ranks in 2025 along with another club from the Colac & District Football Netball League or the Geelong & District Football League, as the Bellarine competition extends to a 12-team competition.

But AFL Barwon’s statement made clear that submissions for both an 11th and 12th team remain open, suggesting that Surf Coast’s entry in 2025 is not guaranteed.

The Suns are set to meet with AFL Barwon next week.

The AFL Barwon Comission also said that all criteria would be reviewed during the 2027 season to assess if any further change was required.

“The AFL Barwon Commission are very grateful for the time and effort all clubs have put in over the last six months. The consultation process has been extensive, and we have appreciated the individual thoughts, ideas and club feedback provided during this process,” AFL Barwon Chair Michelle Gerdtz said.

“The key outcomes for AFL Barwon at the commencement of this project was to create a competition landscape that promoted greater pathways, competitiveness, and opportunities for clubs to succeed, as well as providing an entry point for new clubs to be established and enter Senior Football and Netball with success.

“By expanding the Bellarine Football Netball League to include 12 teams, we now see the opportunity for Surf Coast Suns to enter Senior Football and Netball and the mechanism has now been created for movement between the Bellarine FNL and Geelong FNLs”.

AFL Barwon stripped back its initial Future of Football and Netball Project plan that was revealed to clubs in December, which had three-league structure headed by a cashed up Premier League.

It came after meeting between club presidents and AFL Barwon in February found that just seven of the 22 clubs were in support of the previous model.

The governing body’s updated proposal maintains current league titles and governance and removed complex criteria clubs had to meet in order to seek promotion.

It also features boosted salary caps for sides outside the top four as an equalisation measure, with bottom-two sides receiving the most funds to recruit top-end talent.

South Barwon and Ocean Grove have been the most vocal public supporters on the divisive issue, while many clubs in the Bellarine FNL have been against the changes.

Speaking before the decision was made, Swans coach Mark Neeld, who is also the chief executive of Geelong United, told this publication he was in support of the proposal and upward and downward movement between leagues.

He said the Geelong football and netball community couldn’t let self-interest get in the way of what he believed was the best path forward for the growing population in the region.

“I think from our football and netball club and also from a personal level, if people are honest with themselves and do the right thing for the sport, promotion-relegation gets voted in unanimously,” Neeld said.

“I think right now it is important to put the games of football and netball out the front. In my opinion that is not being disrespectful to what has gone on in the past. Clearly there is a population shift and you just have to look at the data,” Neeld said.

“There are coastal areas in Geelong that have enormous populations, enormous populations of young children, enormous population of youth and early 20-aged people.

“They are the type of people that are playing sport and we need to make sure that those people continue playing football and continue playing netball and they do so over a really competitive environment.

“Have we got the most competition environment right now? Well clearly not, and I think it is important that that is the focus. Then it is incumbent upon all leagues and all players and all clubs within those leagues, if you want to play in the higher division it is not simply a matter of putting your hand up, you actually have to get club structures and junior development.”

“In some cases it is impossible because of the population shift in Geelong, so I’m all for promotion and relegation if it is the best thing for the sport.”
Not against these changes but once a club like north shore get dropped out of Div 1 then they should head straight to GDFL to play against, north Geelong, corio ect.

I think there would only be 2 clubs in Bellarine that would want to play Div 1. Torquay and ocean grove due to population, rest of the bellarine clubs will not leave. Possibly Drysdale in the future years.

The whole thing reeks of huge compromise, like they’ve started with a standard promotion / relegation model and had to just give every possible compromise to get clubs on board with it.

They say it’s for competitiveness, which is okay, but if that is the case then it’s hugely convoluted and makes movement between the leagues to promote this competitiveness very slow. One club every two years, and it’s optional?

I guess they probably see it as a starting point and will speed it up as they can.

The whole thing reeks of huge compromise, like they’ve started with a standard promotion / relegation model and had to just give every possible compromise to get clubs on board with it.

They say it’s for competitiveness, which is okay, but if that is the case then it’s hugely convoluted and makes movement between the leagues to promote this competitiveness very slow. One club every two years, and it’s optional?

I guess they probably see it as a starting point and will speed it up as they can.

It’s the way things are done down this way unfortunately. Instead of bringing in a standard promotion/relegation system like everywhere else, they pander to the clubs that are scared of change.

The landscape has changed in the region and it’s time for change. North Shore was a hugely successful club in the 80’s and 90’s but the demographics have changed out there and now they really don’t have a future in the gfl. Moving to the bfl could end in their demise. Honestly they need to look at either merging with Corio or moving to the gdfl.

Similarly in the bfl Torquay have outgrown that comp. I’ve got no doubt that they’d become a force in the gfl within 3 years once they make the move. Found it funny that according to reports, the majority of the gfl opposed to the move are the clubs that have been rooted to the bottom of the table for years and years and don’t look like moving up anytime soon. You’d think if you were one of them clubs that you’d appreciate the chance to drop down a division and enjoy a league where you’ve got a chance of winning more than 2/3 games a year. But down this way clubs have got a sense of entitlement and only see negatives to such proposals

It’s the way things are done down this way unfortunately. Instead of bringing in a standard promotion/relegation system like everywhere else, they pander to the clubs that are scared of change.

The landscape has changed in the region and it’s time for change. North Shore was a hugely successful club in the 80’s and 90’s but the demographics have changed out there and now they really don’t have a future in the gfl. Moving to the bfl could end in their demise. Honestly they need to look at either merging with Corio or moving to the gdfl.

Similarly in the bfl Torquay have outgrown that comp. I’ve got no doubt that they’d become a force in the gfl within 3 years once they make the move. Found it funny that according to reports, the majority of the gfl opposed to the move are the clubs that have been rooted to the bottom of the table for years and years and don’t look like moving up anytime soon. You’d think if you were one of them clubs that you’d appreciate the chance to drop down a division and enjoy a league where you’ve got a chance of winning more than 2/3 games a year. But down this way clubs have got a sense of entitlement and only see negatives to such proposals

Change is hard and i get their hesitance, it's going into an unknown and who knows how it may look if they moved leagues, particularly if they have been down for a long time.

The big issue here is clearly netball, metro leagues have pro / rel and don't have to worry about netball. So they've tried to take it into account, but still makes it hard I guess. I don't know why they've included B netball and reserves footy, much less why they've weighted them equally to the seniors. Surely your success is measured by your senior team.

I guess there's the option to de-couple netball and play it separate to footy, though I'm sure that's too big a change that would never gat passed.

It's an interesting area now Geelong and the surf coast, a bit like the Mornington Peninsula on the other side, it's far more metro now than it is country. Perhaps this is the first step to the GFNL / BFNL becoming more of a metro league and the GDFL will remain as more of a country league.

Sounds like they reckon they'll have 24 clubs by next season. If they get to 26 they'll probably try to go to three divisions (10-8-8) which may not be that far away.

Change is hard and i get their hesitance, it's going into an unknown and who knows how it may look if they moved leagues, particularly if they have been down for a long time.

The big issue here is clearly netball, metro leagues have pro / rel and don't have to worry about netball. So they've tried to take it into account, but still makes it hard I guess. I don't know why they've included B netball and reserves footy, much less why they've weighted them equally to the seniors. Surely your success is measured by your senior team.

I guess there's the option to de-couple netball and play it separate to footy, though I'm sure that's too big a change that would never gat passed.

It's an interesting area now Geelong and the surf coast, a bit like the Mornington Peninsula on the other side, it's far more metro now than it is country. Perhaps this is the first step to the GFNL / BFNL becoming more of a metro league and the GDFL will remain as more of a country league.

Sounds like they reckon they'll have 24 clubs by next season. If they get to 26 they'll probably try to go to three divisions (10-8-8) which may not be that far away.
I thought I heard at some stage a senior club from Armstrong Creek was on the cards? Is that a possibility or just talk?

Gfl is definitely metro footy, bfl still has that town vs town identity that country footy has. I think most people would be happy to keep things as they are with the exception of moving Torquay up a league and trying to figure something out for North Shore.

I thought I heard at some stage a senior club from Armstrong Creek was on the cards? Is that a possibility or just talk?

Yep it will probably happen but looks like their oldest team this year will be Under 14 so its some way off.

The feeling seems to be that Surf Coast (Torquay north) are ready to go now.

Torquay North been established a fair bit longer than Armstrong Creek and does seem likely they’ll have a senior club by 2026, maybe even next year.

The Torquay/Jan Juc area is definitely big enough to hold 2 senior footy clubs. I thought Torquay North would’ve maybe started up in the gdfl as they could really struggle early doors in the bfl. Also gives them a point of difference whilst Torquay Tigers are still in the bfl

But down this way clubs have got a sense of entitlement and only see negatives to such proposals
It has, sadly, always been the case. I remember when I was at U18 level, going back a little over a decade, the way of thinking around numerous local clubs would that they would rather be seeded in Div 1 and lose every game than be seeded in Div 2 and succeed.