Croat tiger

10k Posts
HŠK Zrinjski Mostar
I saw him at the coburg v werribee clash and he looks fit as a fiddle,maybe we should whack some hair dye on his head and pass him as andrew on saturday nights clash with the bummers.:D

Without sounding like a W@nker .. cannot tell you how much that bloke means to me and this football club.

He is EXTREMELY symbolic

Broke my heart as a lad .

One of the best players i have ever seen run around in our jumper.

Welcomed back with both arms (unlike Damir)

If he spent his whole career at Punt Rd. he would have been inducted into the RFC hall of fame as a "LEGEND"

I will take the Pepsi challenge with anyone on that.

His re-involvement back at the RFC his hugely influencial in writing a new history and righting the wrongs of the past .

Call me a stupid emotive frawley on this but i will wear my heart on my sleave where this is concerned .

What do you reckon "Pantsdown" ? ;)

Come On.... give us something

IGDAF you bring a tear to my eye.My favourite childhood memories involve "pretty boy" loping through the guts in his distinctive style and booming one down to "disco".Then a blind turn or two and a hanger,and 30 touches when 30 touches really meant something.I cried when he went to the maggots.Still have the signed size 12 Richmond jumper somewhere at the parents...sigh.

RodneyDangerfield said:
IGDAF you bring a tear to my eye.My favourite childhood memories involve "pretty boy" loping through the guts in his distinctive style and booming one down to "disco".Then a blind turn or two and a hanger,and 30 touches when 30 touches really meant something.I cried when he went to the maggots.Still have the signed size 12 Richmond jumper somewhere at the parents...sigh.
Cant talk RD.... Too upset ...(sniff)

I wonder how old Richo feels when he strolls into the club and glances at the team of the century print,and there he is up there with Andy Raines' old man.Can't be good.

IDGAF said:

You'd better run off to the haid dressers tomorrow then... you know, one for old time's sake! (minor technical problems with that I know, but hey WTF.)

IDGAF said:

on the money idy, been widely reported how the world lost its innocence the day "prettyboy" defected to the maggots...I think all tiger faithful are getting an enormous lift seeing this young kid blossom into a real talent.......In my mind a "Raines" back in an RFC starting line up is akin to one of the Kennedy clan making a run for the presidency......:thumbsu:

Leper said:
You'd better run off to the haid dressers tomorrow then... you know, one for old time's sake! (minor technical problems with that I know, but hey WTF.)
Yeah Smart@rse ... can`t part it down the middle when there is nothing left to part :cool:

Bojangles17 said:
on the money idy, been widely reported how the world lost its innocence the day "prettyboy" defected to the maggots...I think all tiger faithful are getting an enormous lift seeing this young kid blossom into a real talent.......In my mind a "Raines" back in an RFC starting line up is akin to one of the Kennedy clan making a run for the presidency......:thumbsu:
Spot on Mr. Jangles ... cant talk it`s significance up enough

IDGAF said:
Without sounding like a W@nker .. cannot tell you how much that bloke means to me and this football club.

He is EXTREMELY symbolic

If he spent his whole career at Punt Rd. he would have been inducted into the RFC hall of fame as a "LEGEND"

His re-involvement back at the RFC his hugely influencial in writing a new history and righting the wrongs of the past .

Call me a stupid emotive frawley on this but i will wear my heart on my sleave where this is concerned .

Have detected this in most of your posts regarding Andrew for about the last 12 months I reckon.

I was a year or 2 too young for it too affect me too much, so Im guessing your a year or 2 older vintage than me.

But I remember Roachy and Rioli being about our only 2 bright lights back in the early-mid 80s and I remember one particular game when teh opposition was kicking in (cant remember what team) but they kicked the ball too themselves and played on.. Roachy ran em down and tackled them then got the free and kjicked the goal.

Now I may be mistaking and mixing 2 games up with one, but Im sure Roachy did this twice in the one game, Punt Rd end. Happy to be sorted out and corrected here though.

I remember when Cloke came back to us and I didnt know how to feel. I knew he'd betrayed us along with Raines and Wood (I was only a kid) but didnt know whether he was worth it at all.

But then I also remember his 333rd game like it was yesterday. I was sitting in the Olympic stand and I can see it as clear as day where Clokey is running from teh centre square looking like a total ******, and kicks a running rover type goal.

He kicked 8 that day in his 333rd and final game and IIRC even picked up 3 Brownlow votes for it.

During the 90s I often daydreamed about how different things may have been in Cloke, Taylor, Wood, Raines and even Rioli (remember he went walkabout for a year or two??? I was at his return game and remember when he came off the interchange bench for his first run in a cpl of years).. I wonder what could've been if we didnt stuff up and let these guys go.

:D:D:D:D!!!!!!1 :mad:

The Dice Man said:
Have detected this in most of your posts regarding Andrew for about the last 12 months I reckon.

I was a year or 2 too young for it too affect me too much, so Im guessing your a year or 2 older vintage than me.

But I remember Roachy and Rioli being about our only 2 bright lights back in the early-mid 80s and I remember one particular game when teh opposition was kicking in (cant remember what team) but they kicked the ball too themselves and played on.. Roachy ran em down and tackled them then got the free and kjicked the goal.

Now I may be mistaking and mixing 2 games up with one, but Im sure Roachy did this twice in the one game, Punt Rd end. Happy to be sorted out and corrected here though.

I remember when Cloke came back to us and I didnt know how to feel. I knew he'd betrayed us along with Raines and Wood (I was only a kid) but didnt know whether he was worth it at all.

But then I also remember his 333rd game like it was yesterday. I was sitting in the Olympic stand and I can see it as clear as day where Clokey is running from teh centre square looking like a total ******, and kicks a running rover type goal.

He kicked 8 that day in his 333rd and final game and IIRC even picked up 3 Brownlow votes for it.

During the 90s I often daydreamed about how different things may have been in Cloke, Taylor, Wood, Raines and even Rioli (remember he went walkabout for a year or two??? I was at his return game and remember when he came off the interchange bench for his first run in a cpl of years).. I wonder what could've been if we didnt stuff up and let these guys go.

:D:D:D:D!!!!!!1 :mad:
Graham Richmond has since admitted that he stuffed up where Raines was concerned . Thought he still had a year left on his contract when in fact he did not . Don`t think it was necessarily the clubs fault that we lost those players more the changing times

By the time they they realised this it was to late .

Anyway .... we must move on .

Was at Clokes last game myself . Had "Bassett" playing on him from Carlton if my memory serves me correctly . Yes .. he did kick 8 ... and yes , he did get 3 Brownlow votes . Always remeber the day due to the southern stand being ripped down

I`m sure some boffin will steer me right but i`m pretty sure he got 9 brownlow votes in his last three games ... or was that Justin Charles ?

Dunno it`s late ? :confused:

IDGAF said:
Graham Richmond has since admitted that he stuffed up where Raines was concerned . Thought he still had a year left on his contract when in fact he did not . Don`t think it was necessarily the clubs fault that we lost those players more the changing times

By the time they they realised this it was to late .

Anyway .... we must move on .

Was at Clokes last game myself . Had "Bassett" playing on him from Carlton if my memory serves me correctly . Yes .. he did kick 8 ... and yes , he did get 3 Brownlow votes . Always remeber the day due to the southern stand being ripped down

Ahhhh that would explain why I was in the Olympic stand. I couldnt remember why I was there before but I knew I was as I have this 'Movie-type memory' of Cloke in that game and know I was in the Olympic stand... Must've been 1991'ish Im guessing.

I`m sure some boffin will steer me right but i`m pretty sure he got 9 brownlow votes in his last three games ... or was that Justin Charles ?

:

I think you might be right there on Cloke and 9 votes. (poor JC, was only thinking of him yesterday while reading an old Record on the Dunny from 97 and he's named in Greg Hobb's top 50 players of the year... then I thought of Alastair Lynch and that certainly loosened up my bowel action)

Did David Cloke have the dream final game for a player? (short of playing in a premiership game)?

great to see you old boys reminiscing.......hope one day i can look back on the "golden years" as in my short and miserable 20 year life span i've experienced very few as a lifelong tiger. I can only look back misty eyed at such days as the scotty turner bump on o'donnel and then the tigers second half. i'm still riding on the chills i got that day....

roostertalk said:
great to see you old boys reminiscing.......hope one day i can look back on the "golden years" as in my short and miserable 20 year life span i've experienced very few as a lifelong tiger. I can only look back misty eyed at such days as the scotty turner bump on o'donnel and then the tigers second half. i'm still riding on the chills i got that day....

Mate the only memory I have of any Golden Years is as a 5 year old and seeing my uncle on teh dunny at half time bawling his eyes out (he was a Pie supporter). He got up off the Lav and went to the pub at half time and has never followed footy since.

Richmond broke his heart and smashed it into little pieces that day :D

Although I do have the memory of being at the 1995 2nd Semi against the Bombers, and as great as that was, it's kind of sad that is my greatest Richmond victory that I was there for and can remember clearly. (That game had everything)

Although Im also lucky enough to have seen a Richmodn premiership too.. Under 19's, VFL Park early 90s. It was a drawn game the week before against the Roos and was replayed at Waverley the next week. I actually sat in teh Ch 7 Commentary box for the match (that whole section was empty) and I ripped offf the 7Sport sign on teh wall and took it home as a souvineer :D

Still got it somewhere too.

The Dice Man said:
Mate the only memory I have of any Golden Years is as a 5 year old and seeing my uncle on teh dunny at half time bawling his eyes out (he was a Pie supporter). He got up off the Lav and went to the pub at half time and has never followed footy since.

Although I do have the memory of being at the 1995 2nd Semi against the Bombers, and as great as that was, it's kind of sad that is my greatest Richmond victory that I was there for and can remember clearly. (That game had everything)

Although Im also lucky enough to have seen a Richmodn premiership too.. Under 19's, VFL Park early 90s. It was a drawn game the week before against the Roos and was replayed at Waverley the next week. I actually sat in teh Ch 7 Commentary box for the match (that whole section was empty) and I ripped offf the 7Sport sign on teh wall and took it home as a souvineer :D

quality flashback, you'd win a dinner at the lobster cave if you rang SEN and told K.B.
Its also very unfortunate that that special day in 95' was pretty quickly overshadowed by the drubbing we recieved the next week at waverly. I sobbed all the way home and cursed mum and dad for bringing me up as a tiger.

Id still say my favourite Tiger memory is the drawn Friday match against the Bombers in 1995. Stewie Maxfield kicking the goal to put us in front when he had a broken jaw and Michael Gales great mark where he broke his collarbone.

What a game!:)

The eventual demise of the proud Tigers was when we lost Raines, Cloke, and Wood. 3 of the best ever for our club, it ripped our hearts out.

Brian Taylor was a loss as well, but not as much as the other 3 cos he was a pretty selfish character.

The Dice Man said:

Mind if I join in? hahahaa Never forget the 1980 flag either. I was not happy cos I couldnt afford to go over as we had a new baby so instead I had a barbie and booze up at my place. As it happened all of my mates except me and "billy Big Balls Brown" another Tiger die hard, all rated the Filth on the day and decided to back that up with some folding stuff. I have never been so drunk, and wealthy, so early in a grand final but I lasted till the siren. I remember Billy walkin round my backyard , gonads hanging out, yellin "shove these up em too KB!" at some point before passing out. He later discovered his engorged wedding tackle was not genetic as he had us believe but somethign called elephantitis. Suffice to say they are now nothing to brag about...but everytime we see each other that day in 1980 still is!

IDGAF said:

He is EXTREMELY symbolic

LMAO fellas, just to show what a loser I was I was a massive Cloke fan as a kid and the day he left Richmond it broke my heart, to lose Raines just topped it off for me.

I was so upset my mother wrote a letter to Damir at how disgusted she was with his decision and the fact that my duffle coat had his stupid number on it and now I needed a new one, but I doubt very much he got it though.

LOL

but IDGAF your right about the Raines name, to see his boy doing well so early on, words cannot explain just how much a boost it gives us Richmond supporters.

Quite a frawley depressing thread this. How we'd kill to be like those Brisbane walls', not knowing what one of the three premierships in a row are their favourites, when our proudest moments are the likes of
- a draw against the dons,
- the day the chicken mess was dumped in front of our offices,
- the time Bourkey took that hanger then missed from a metre out,
- the day Phil Egan took a mark over two Carlton defenders and slotted the goal from 30 out,
- actually being there when Dunstall kicked 17 on us.

Frawley me we've been terrible!

I'll still grip on to the memory of the crowd going bananas when Hungry slotted his 2nd at the 'G back in 1980, only to announce to my ol' man, "he'll boot 5 today dad". Little walls proved me wrong in the end.:thumbsu:

True Thylacine said:
Mind if I join in? hahahaa Never forget the 1980 flag either. I was not happy cos I couldnt afford to go over as we had a new baby so instead I had a barbie and booze up at my place. As it happened all of my mates except me and "billy Big Balls Brown" another Tiger die hard, all rated the Filth on the day and decided to back that up with some folding stuff. I have never been so drunk, and wealthy, so early in a grand final but I lasted till the siren. I remember Billy walkin round my backyard , gonads hanging out, yellin "shove these up em too KB!" at some point before passing out. He later discovered his engorged wedding tackle was not genetic as he had us believe but somethign called elephantitis. Suffice to say they are now nothing to brag about...but everytime we see each other that day in 1980 still is!

you are fricken hilarious !!!!!:) :) :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

True Thylacine said:

:D:D:D

It was almost 26 years ago and even through all the grog you sound like you remember it as if it was just yesterday.

I was v. young and impressionable in 1980 till then i followed my bro as a carlton fan, after the 80 premiership, as a 6 yr old, my life had a new meaning I was then and allways will be a tiger.

Interesting memories.

my memories of the mid to late 80s are as follows.

Blaming David Honeybuns injuries as the reason for why we didn't win

Thinking Craig Smith was a champion.

Listening to Captain Blood on the radio talking about what a lovely kick Flea was.

Writing on every wall I could find Craig Lambert is a f@@cking champion!!!

Gary Ablett

Thinking Mark Stockdale would make it

Thinking that Mark Summers would have been a champion if he didnt do his knee.

That speccy that Thornton? took in the night game.

Taping every richmond game and keeping the tape

Loving and then hating Stuart Maxfield

Being absolutely ecstatic when Yabby Jeans took the job as coach

Being there at the night Grand Final and taking 5 hours to get home!

enough

Even though we rarely won, I don't regret a minute of it!