get real

Sep 10, 2003
Exile
Lets get serious here fellows, the word is McKernan back to Kangaroos.
My money is on a Jess Sinclair or similar type on baller.
You'd reckon Pagan would know the Kangaroos inside out.
Also gang, look at the clubs close, near to, or over the salary cap, Hawthorn and Fremantle
And really what Carlton need is onballers who can kick goals.
Power, Brown, and lets not forget Nick Stevens, out of contract and wouldn't Adam Yze shine spearing 50 metre grass burners into Fev, who, if he kicked straight could have had 70.
Look to Victorians playing interstate.
Money talks.

good luck getting players. face facts Carlton are just in the salary cap at the moment. Yze, Brown and power. What can carlton offer them. Money, well first you have got to get rid of players or make them take a cut. Carlton only squezzed in last year.

2002-16th
2003-15th

And no real great young kids coming through. Although money is good i could think of 5 other clubs with more of a chance of recruiting gun midfielders.

Geelong-have money to spend only using 96% of the cap.

Richmond- possible leavings of Richo, Cameron and high payed hack Biddescombe will free up money.

Collingwood- buckley on Vet List. there is 300,000 grand.

Melbourne- have a bit to spend

Essendon- hird on vet list, mercuri. there is money.

Get real about recruits the only ones that will end up at Carlton will be the ones nobody else wants.

Yes, the players took a cut and we only just squeezed in under the cap ... but what a difference a year makes.

Ratten, Hickmott, Martyn, Manton retire. Kouta's huge salary is halved by virtue of the veteran's list. McKay may also be a chance for retirement but as he is on the veteran's list, it won't affect our cap if he stays on. Heaps of players who won't be asking for more money as they have all underperformed except for Fevola and maybe Houlihan. Plenty of delistings coming up with highly paid duds being replaced by minimum wage kids .... trust me, we will be as cashed up as anybody if not more so.

I dont doubt you have money to spend Old Dark Navy's, but Kouta's contract was heavily back loaded because they knew he was going on the vets list. Saying his salary will be cut in half is a bit of a mis-truth. Also Martyn played on the base salary last year because he was so desperate to play. You will save nothing there. You will have money to spend but not the ridiculous amounts being suggested by some.

Originally posted by vicpride99
good luck getting players. face facts Carlton are just in the salary cap at the moment. Yze, Brown and power. What can carlton offer them. Money, well first you have got to get rid of players or make them take a cut. Carlton only squezzed in last year.

2002-16th
2003-15th

And no real great young kids coming through. Although money is good i could think of 5 other clubs with more of a chance of recruiting gun midfielders.

Geelong-have money to spend only using 96% of the cap.

Richmond- possible leavings of Richo, Cameron and high payed hack Biddescombe will free up money.

Collingwood- buckley on Vet List. there is 300,000 grand.

Melbourne- have a bit to spend

Essendon- hird on vet list, mercuri. there is money.

Get real about recruits the only ones that will end up at Carlton will be the ones nobody else wants.

this guy is a dikkhead. doesn't know a thing about carlton or football. Carlton have plenty of room in the cap now.

Even if Carlton had room in the cap....who in their right mind would want to play for Carlton unless they were a supporter of the club? You play footy to win games and premierships. They may have won a 'few' in the past....but the current generation of players won't get a sniff of September action during their careers(a definite deterrent to any would be prized recruit). Plus they have no trade bait other than the priority pick.

Hey face facts nobody wants to go to Carlton. I'm not paying Carlton out i'm just saying players want finals action and want to win a flag, which won't happen at Carlton for a few years yet. It was said you offerd Harvey of the Kangaroos 500,000 a year. Did he take it no. He is playing at the roos for 400,000 a year. He will be one of many players that will reject your offers.

What a load of rubbish. Firstly there is no proof that we offered Harvey that much money. Secondly you would expect most decent players to say no to most offers from other clubs. Believe it or not, the majority of players do have some loyalty and I wouldn't have it any other way.

BigCat, mistruth is way over the top. Only half of Kouta's salary will count towards the cap in 2004, not for a second did I compare his salary next year to this year. If others can refer to a retirement and a veteran listing as a reason for being cashed up, I can point to several retirements, a veteran listing and several likely delistings as viable reasons for being cashed up.

Let me remind you doomsayers that Collingwood came stone motherless last in 1999. Players wanted to play for them because they had a plan, a high profile proven coach and a history of success. Carlton too have a plan, a high profile proven coach and a history of success. The only difference between the two teams at the comparative stages of their rebuilding is that Carlton had draft penalties to work through. In a few weeks time, our draft penalties are no more and we will still have a priority pick to use.

Based on the reasoning here, no team that finishes down the bottom will ever be able to attract decent players and get back up again. Funny how that very thing happens all the time. There are 3 players left at Collingwood from that pre-Malthouse era. Do you think any of the players that came to the Pies at the time did so because they thought they had the list to win a flag? Some may have come for the chance to play with Buckley, one could make a similar case for Kouta.

In four years time, it is likely that the Blues will still have Whitnall, Fevola, Waite, Thornton and that is being conservative. Even that would be one more than what the Pies have left after four years.

Time to realise what happens around you. I for one don't want anybody who wants to come for a free ride because he thinks he will walk into a premiership. I want players prepared to work hard and then reap the fruits of their labour down the track.

get real