Gone?

Sainters08

Who are the players that are gone (delisted/retired) next season?

Delisted:

Fiora (This guy is a hack)
Gwilt (Had enough Opportunities)
C.Gardiner (Not up to AFL Standard)
M.Rix (Not up to AFL Standard)
L.Fisher (Not up to AFL Standard)
Birss (Don't think he should be delisted but Ross Lyon obviously doesn't like him. He is better than Fiora FFS!)
Ferguson (Just can't get a game, dunno why?)
McQualter (This guy is shocking)

Last Chance:
X.Clarke (Always Injured)
M.Gardiner (Can't get his body right)

Retired:
Harvey
Gehrig

Traded:
Dal Santo (Please, oh Please trade him)
Koschitzke (Needs a fresh start at a new club)

Thoughts?

So we're gonna pick up 12 players where? :p

Chuck and Fiora are contracted for next season, X wont get the boot, MG will probs retire.

Ferg and Fish are in trouble. Possibly Gwilt. Thats about it.

Trades wont happen, you just dont see players of that ilk traded anymore. Unless they demand to be traded of course...

Delisted:

Fiora (This guy is a hack)
Gwilt (Had enough Opportunities)
C.Gardiner (Not up to AFL Standard)
M.Rix (Not up to AFL Standard)
L.Fisher (Not up to AFL Standard)
Birss (Don't think he should be delisted but Ross Lyon obviously doesn't like him. He is better than Fiora FFS!)
Ferguson (Just can't get a game, dunno why?)
McQualter (This guy is shocking)

Last Chance:
X.Clarke (Always Injured)
M.Gardiner (Can't get his body right)

Retired:
Harvey
Gehrig

Traded:
Dal Santo (Please, oh Please trade him)
Koschitzke (Needs a fresh start at a new club)

Thoughts?

ferguson has to compete against our backline to get a game, he'll stay
birss- good shot at goal- staying
x.clarke- gone
rix- gone
mcqualter- gone
got a feeling dal will go.
rest will stay

Rix, Michael
Ferguson, Matthew
Fiora, Aaron
Fisher, Leigh
Gardiner, Charlie

^We have a mass build up of duds. First and foremost get rid of these hacks.^
Dal & Kosi definatley need a change of scenery. Late 1st/Early 2nd Round picks would do the job IMO. We could do with more picks too, good top 40 in this draft.

McQualter really is a dud. Tags himself out of the game every week but does shitall apart from that. MG is gone and i reckon Gwilt and Birss will stay. We need depth players mate, can't delist every fringe player.

Dal and Kosi are both very valuable players. Idc if Dal gets 1 touch for the game because that means the likes of Hayes and Montagna gets about 6-7 extra touches. And Kosi, tall mobile ruckmen don't fall off trees. I reckon both of those players will be very disappointed with their seasons, they'll work their arses off in the pre-season.

Need to keep Dal and Kosi. They'll have no value, especially if we come out and say we don't want them.

Dal is one of few Saints midfielders who can kick goals, although he needs to do a lot more next year if we are to be a show.
Kosi stretches opposition defence, which helps Roo.

Gone

Rix, Michael
Ferguson, Matthew
Fiora, Aaron (unfortunately)
Fisher, Leigh
Gardiner, Charlie

Trade

Clarke, Xavier: Needs to bulk up, learn to tackle or kick goals if he wants to stay.

Draft

If we can draft a gun youngster for the midfeild somehow and someone else stands up in the forward line we will be top-four again. We will have a better chance of making a GF than this year.

Delisted:

Fiora (This guy is a hack) AGREE - GET RID OF HIM (SIMPLY NOT A PREMIERSHIP PLAYER)
Gwilt (Had enough Opportunities) AGREE - GET RID OF HIM (SIMPLY NOT A PREMIERSHIP PLAYER)
C.Gardiner (Not up to AFL Standard) AGREE - GET RID OF HIM (SIMPLY NOT A PREMIERSHIP PLAYER)
M.Rix (Not up to AFL Standard) AGREE - GET RID OF HIM (SIMPLY NOT A PREMIERSHIP PLAYER)
L.Fisher (Not up to AFL Standard) AGREE - GET RID OF HIM (SIMPLY NOT A PREMIERSHIP PLAYER)
Birss (Don't think he should be delisted but Ross Lyon obviously doesn't like him. He is better than Fiora FFS!) KEEP - ROSS, GIVE THE GUY A FEW GAMES
Ferguson (Just can't get a game, dunno why?) AGREE - GET RID OF HIM (SIMPLY NOT A PREMIERSHIP PLAYER)
McQualter (This guy is shocking) WAS GONE LAST YEAR - ON WHAT BASIS DID WE REDRAFT HIM?

Last Chance:
X.Clarke (Always Injured) AGREE - GET RID OF HIM (SIMPLY NOT A PREMIERSHIP PLAYER)
M.Gardiner (Can't get his body right) AGREE - GET RID OF HIM (SIMPLY NOT A PREMIERSHIP PLAYER)

Retired:
Harvey A CHAMPION, CHAMPION, CHAMPION - TOO OFTEN LET DOWN BY HIS SOFT TEAM-MATES
Gehrig A GOOD "HONEST" PLAYER - DID MORE FOR ST. KILDA THAN MANY REALISE. (KICKED AS MANY GOALS AS DAICOS IN HIS CAREER - MUCH OF IT NOT SPENT IN THE FORWARD LINE!)

Traded:
Dal Santo (Please, oh Please trade him) KEEP HIM - ONE OF THE FEW PLAYERS IN OUR TEAM WITH REAL CLASS
Koschitzke (Needs a fresh start at a new club) AGREE - NEEDS TO BE TRADED, BUT WE WON'T GET MUCH FOR HIM - PERIPHERAL AND SPATIAL AWARENESS IS TERRIBLE.

Thoughts?

BORDERLINE

Clinton Jones - He tries, but can anyone see this guy getting a game for Geelong or Hawthorn - the teams we have to aim to beat next year!?! His disposal is shocking. Continually handballs to players who then get into trouble - hasn't anyone told Clint that you need to handball in front of your player so he can run onto the ball? and kicking skills are woeful.

Jason Blake - Another trier, and good on him he's had probably his best year, but one thing tonight summed it up for me, he made a shocking decision in the third quarter going forward, created a turnover, Hawthorn go down the other end and Blake's man scores a goal. All too typical, has trouble hitting a target. Couldn't see him getting a game at either the Hawks or Geelong - therefore you have to question whether he'll ever take Saints to a Premiership.

Sam Gilbert - Borderline, might have some interest as trade bait, but he makes too many mistakes in the backline - which is really a pretty good one with Max, Sam Fisher, Gram and even Raph Clarke stepping up lately leading the way. I haven't been a big fan of Raph, but he's put in a real effort lately, and he deserves another year to show he can still improve.

Get rid of MILNE, never performs in finals.

Would get a game with Carlton any day of the week.

Only about five players will be delisted, with the two retirements (G-Train and Harvey). You can not delist 12 players. Who will we replace them with? It would be late picks in the national draft or recycled hacks.

My delistings...

C.Gardiner.
Ferguson.
L.Fisher
M.Rix (pay out contract)
A.Fiora (pay out contract)

If St.kilda choose not to pay out the contracts of two players, and instead only do this for one, then Fiora stays, with J.Gwilt getting the chop.

Promote Eddy off the rookie list, but not McQualter.

Only about five players will be delisted, with the two retirements (G-Train and Harvey). You can not delist 12 players. Who will we replace them with? It would be late picks in the national draft or recycled hacks.

My delistings...

C.Gardiner.
Ferguson.
L.Fisher
M.Rix (pay out contract)

If St.kilda choose not to pay out the contracts of two players, and instead only do this for one, then Fiora stays, with J.Gwilt getting the chop.

Am with you Chris:thumbsu:

Keep Kosi for rucking (he's not a FF A-hole but he is def required for rucking in the future) and Dal should be HFF (not worth enough to trade) if he's not working his a$$ off. He obviously has a sook when asked to play a Hodge role off HBF and is too lazy to play in the middle. He prob should have been used to tag Hodge and make him accountable Saturday night (instead of Blake who might have been valuable in the middle).

I think if we are going to trade it should be Montagna. Poor attitude at times (highlighted by preferring to shove Bateman into a mark when Joey had front Posi.

Main drafting should be a good mid (look at the mid depth of Geebung and Whorethorn), then a key back in case Goose doesn't come up. S Fisher (great kick and mark and stamina) to CHF and Roo to FF (swapping with Fish).

My delistings...

C.Gardiner.
Ferguson.
L.Fisher
M.Rix (pay out contract)

Looks right to me, but Fiora will stay (Lyon clearly rates him).

I like Rix as a defender, but if they will not play him there then he's getting in the way of blooding a ruckman and/or FF with the VFL. Would hope Gardi will be retained - this bloke can play and we need all the hardness we can get.

Will Connors make it?

If other clubs pay up for Dal and Kosi (or the right player is available in exchange), and the players themselves (in the end-of-season review) recognise they might need a change of scenery then I'd be open to offers. Maybe Monty too. Depends on the deal. Wouldn't go out of our way to shop them around though.

At the end of the day, good players have to be on the table if you want to get trades to happen. Interesting to see the comments of the CEO (Saints won't shy away from trading players if required).

i really hope gwilt is their next year im starting to like the guy maybe more game time and he will hopefully improve. i rekon we should make a play for a medium sized forward from a club. i like the look of fisher from carlton not a world beater but he kicks 2 goals a game ina team which kicks it to fev nearly every time

gwilt gone please
fiora too, even if he is contracted, doesnt deserve to play