Amato

Rookie
ADELAIDE’S push to open the 2015 AFL premiership season is stronger with the AFL Commission’s ground-breaking backing for Good Friday football.

The Crows will have a double-edged presentation on the 2015 fixture asking for the right to open the premiership season with either the league’s first Good Friday game or a Maundy Thursday night match.

If the Crows miss out on Good Friday - with the AFL recognising North Melbourne and the Western Bulldogs have been petitioning for this fixture for far longer than Adelaide - the Thursday night game leading into the Easter long weekend will satisfy.

The 2015 AFL premiership season will be delayed until April to avoid a clash with the cricket World Cup one-day championships in Australia and New Zealand.

This event could work in Adelaide’s favour to open the AFL season for the third time in the Crows’ 25-year story.

Adelaide Oval will be free of the cricket World Cup from March 15 - 20 days before Maundy Thursday on April 2 next year.

This is ample time for the ground staff at the Oval to dig out the drop-in pitches and convert the ground for Australian football.

The MCG will not be free of cricket until Sunday, March 29 when the ground will host the Cup final. This leaves just four days to convert the MCG for a Good Friday history clash between the Kangaroos and Bulldogs.

Adelaide chief executive Steven Trigg on Monday night noted the growing national appeal of the Oval may work in the Crows favour for Good Friday football.

“The AFL fixture is complicated next year by a lack of grounds being available with the cricket World Cup,” Trigg told The Advertiser.

“But Adelaide Oval certainly will be available for Good Friday.

“And if the AFL recognises that a couple of clubs (North Melbourne and the Western Bulldogs) have had their hands up for Good Friday football for a couple of years now, we will step forward for Thursday night football before Easter.

“That fits in with our wish to have Thursday night football at the Oval in the lead-up to a public holiday and long weekend. We will make that request.”

Adelaide signalled its interest in Good Friday football in The Advertiser on April 7 when club chairman Rob Chapman noted the public push for the new timeslot. The Crows were not hit with a member backlash.

“Done responsibly - with the game played late in the day after families have honoured their religious and family commitments - Good Friday football can work,” Trigg said.

The AFL Commission came up with the same conclusion on Monday.

In its first major decision since the departure of chief executive Andrew Demetriou - who opposed Good Friday football - the commission ruled a new Easter timeslot carries public approval.

“There has been a growing appetite to hold a game on this day and on balance we believe the time is right,” AFL Commission chairman Mike Fitzpatrick said.

“AFL matches are scheduled on every other public holiday during the season and we know that many families want to be able to attend and or watch football together on that day.”

On the crows app which usually only uploads stories relevant to the crows, the AFL's decision to play a Good Friday game in 2015 is one of the top news stories.

Spooky coincidental mistake? Or is it a subliminal message to get prepared for Good Friday at adelaide oval? :eek:

I heard one report that mentioned the possibility of two games on Good Friday ... one late afternoon, the other an evening game. If that was the case, Adelaide is a possibility, along with North and WB.

Why even bother giving such a marquee spot to the Dogs/Roos? They'll be lucky to get a crowd of 30k.

A club like ours will sell out the joint, no dramas! Whether it's the Thursday or Friday, do something good for once Trigg and make it happen!

Not sure if I can see them taking that Sunday afternoon "blockbuster" off us, but we definitely have a strong case for a marquee game.

Loyal supporters who have shown they will get behind lesser time slots so can guarantee this would be a success.

We are a "have" club who will be paying the smaller clubs who will be getting equalisation based on not having many good time slots, yet we don't have a lot of them ourselves, and certainly no yearly blockbuster. We are paying because our supporters are loyal.

Finally being in Adelaide it would have minimal impact on their Good Friday appeal, yet we probably have one of the bigger charities in the AFL with the Crows Foundation (only based on me Googling a few other clubs and not finding much on that level) which mainly supports similar charities to the Good Friday Appeal theme, so we could do a heap with that, national exposure, Footy Show etc.

Having a game on the Thursday night before Good Friday will be good.

It will be much better than having it leading into a work day.

Why even bother giving such a marquee spot to the Dogs/Roos? They'll be lucky to get a crowd of 30k.
That there is why I'll snap if those 2 teams get it.

Adelaide vs Reigning premiers (/runners up when we win) would be perfect I reckon.

Good Friday, yes I'd want to be involved in that.

Thursday night....na.

I have not once ever actually watched the lions v blues or tigers or whoever on that night. Easter Thursday just isn't a time for people to be siting around watching sport. Heaps of people are travelling, getting ready to travel, or doing stuff they feel they have to do because the shops shut down for a WHOLE DAY!!!

It just doesn't have the appeal of even a regular Friday night footy game to me.

But we should definitely be a show for a Good Friday game. The national appeal of Adelaide Oval and our fans willingness to turn up no matter what (so far) has to get us some good fixtures surely.

Having a game on the Thursday night before Good Friday will be good.

It will be much better than having it leading into a work day.
I will admit, they did do the smart thing and say if they're given a Thursday game, only have it when the next day is a Public Holiday. Much better way to go about it.

The Friday after the Collingwood game this year was a waste of time. I got nothing done in the afternoon and was so tired all day.

I imagine it's a big help to all the country members too since they don't have to worry about getting to Adelaide and back in the same evening.

Not sure that's entirely true. It's a preference to match up where possible but think we are keen to be involved in more Thursdays than there are Friday holidays

A club like ours will sell out the joint, no dramas! Whether it's the Thursday or Friday, do something good for once Trigg and make it happen!

Probably be unpopular opinion, but what's the point of it being a game that will already rate well or sell out. We all know that there's not much to do on the day that celebrates the man being nailed to a cross, so any game(s) that is on will be better attended/rate than if it was scheduled at any other time during the year. I'd be thrilled to be watching saints/bulldogs compared to sweet fa on that day.

What I think is more important is how the hell did vlad seemingly wage a one man war against this during his reign. He hasn't even completely left the building and the games on with support from the commission and remaining management. It appears, to me at least, that he wielded unhealthy control of the joint with the fruits of his autocracy beginning to come home to roost.

Regardless of who plays, thank eff footy is going to be played on Good Friday and that the fat megalomaniac has finally (all but) left the building.

Gillon wants to give it to Sydney v Melbourne. Talk about propping up the usual suspects. Gah

“I think Sydney, 4.40pm on a Good Friday ... would be a pretty appealing game,” McLachlan said yesterday.

“If we’re going to do this let’s make it a great event and Melbourne-Sydney as an example is hugely symbolic and playing for the Ron Barassi Cup, that’s a great idea.”

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport...than-good-friday/story-fnia3xzy-1226961836025

What a farce. And lol at the bolded. This guy is shaping as a very pretty spud.

How about a big game without a melbourne based team for once. Competition is so ridiculously unfair to interstate teams

Sydney vs Melbourne? Could a game get any less interesting?
The build up to that game is already making me sick

Roosy vs his swannies:mad::straining:
Bloods culture v new bloods culture

Two of the least watchable teams, what garbage it will be

Is there anything the AFL doesn't do that isn't aimed at expanding the game in Shitney