Good luck

smelly cat

This weekend- win or lose- I hope your boys show the Bulldogs what it is like to play a side that:
a) actually has something that resembles a midfield
b) can man up and scrap and
c) can play with a bit of heart.

Show the rest of the league (rich+melb especially) how it's done, Dons.:thumbsu:

smelly cat said:
This weekend- win or lose- I hope your boys show the Bulldogs what it is like to play a side that:
a) actually has something that resembles a midfield
b) can man up and scrap and
c) can play with a bit of heart.

Show the rest of the league (rich+melb especially) how it's done, Dons.:thumbsu:

This must mean why we have a great record against Geelong. Go back in your hole loser.

We will do much better this week.

The pups have trouble with us at the best of times, they will struggle with our size/strength both up front and down back. Their midfield pace is a worry, but I cant see who they are gonna cover our big guns in the forward line with, with a fresh Hird to add.

We definitley wont roll over ala Richmond and Melbourne.

Smokin said:
We will do much better this week. The pups have trouble with us at the best of times, they will struggle with our size/strength both up front and down back.
Yes, just like they did with Richo, Troy Simmonds, Neitz. Oh, hang on a minute.....

Smokin said:
Their midfield pace is a worry, but I cant see who they are gonna cover our big guns in the forward line with.
The Dogs' entire team pace is a worry, never mind the smokin' midfield. As for your big guys, Brian Harris and Chris Grant will line up on Lloyd/Lucas, so shouold be a fair contest. You can have the best FF in the league, and you probably do, but it means diddly squat if nobody can get it to him.

Hird should be good though, as always, but I reckon you mob have a few more opponents to worry about than we do. Game on!

dogbowl said:
Yes, just like they did with Richo, Troy Simmonds, Neitz. Oh, hang on a minute.....

Yea, but a) both of sides are a complete rabble at the moment and b) recent history against those teams is much better than against us. I mean you went 1-1 with Richmond last year. Your last win against us was in 2000.

Last year, our worst since 1978, and your best in years, we still easily accounted for you.

dogbowl said:
The Dogs' entire team pace is a worry, never mind the smokin' midfield. As for your big guys, Brian Harris and Chris Grant will line up on Lloyd/Lucas, so shouold be a fair contest. You can have the best FF in the league, and you probably do, but it means diddly squat if nobody can get it to him.

Hird should be good though, as always, but I reckon you mob have a few more opponents to worry about than we do. Game on!

I agree, we have a lot to worry about, you will start favs as you should.

All Im saying is dont think we will lie down for you like your first two opponents. I still think the jury is out on your mob. We will find out A LOT about us and you this weekend.

Smokin said:
Yea, but a) both of sides are a complete rabble at the moment and b) recent history against those teams is much better than against us.
Last year, our worst since 1978, and your best in years, we still easily accounted for you.I agree, we have a lot to worry about, you will start favs as you should.

All Im saying is dont think we will lie down for you like your first two opponents. I still think the jury is out on your mob. We will find out A LOT about us and you this weekend.
Yeah, I guess you will not lie down, but nor did the demons. They got flattened before they had a chance too! Our recent history against the Dees has also been horrible. I watched you play Brissy on the weekend and couldn't find much to get excited about. Of course the jury is still out, it's only Rd 2.

Smokin said:
We will do much better this week.

The pups have trouble with us at the best of times, they will struggle with our size/strength both up front and down back. Their midfield pace is a worry, but I cant see who they are gonna cover our big guns in the forward line with, with a fresh Hird to add.

We definitley wont roll over ala Richmond and Melbourne.
Is Hird fit? I read that he might be yet another week away. Can only hope.

Looking forward to the Dog's having the dominant ruck division for the first time in a while. Werribee vs Bend on the weekend Streeta took Cartlidge apart, Ryder looks good, but not yet. That said we dont have a match up for young Bradley so he might get a run.

dogbowl said:

Both those guys are good defenders, but I still expect Lloyd and Lucas to kick 8 goals between them. Grant isn't agile enough anymore and the next best alternative wouldn't do any better. Although your forwardline is very dangerous also with Johnson and Murphy, so it should be a high scoring match.

rmbuc2 said:
Is Hird fit? I read that he might be yet another week away. Can only hope.

Looking forward to the Dog's having the dominant ruck division for the first time in a while. Werribee vs Bend on the weekend Streeta took Cartlidge apart, Ryder looks good, but not yet. That said we dont have a match up for young Bradley so he might get a run.
Bradley will play in the ruck for at least half the game I'd say. If he can limit the effectiveness of Minson and Skipper in the ruck contests, he should be able to do some damage around the ground.

waspy said:
Both those guys are good defenders, but I still expect Lloyd and Lucas to kick 8 goals between them
Sure, but where are you going to get your other 10-12 goals from?

Make sure you hurt them Dons.

These cocky bulldogs should be brought back down to earth.

Monfries = gun.

Heh, the dogs, everyones second team, until they start winning a few games :D

I'm not confident. It's all about the midfield and that's a scary proposition seeing how hot and cold we can be there. If we can break even there Lloyd could drag us over the line.

Darealrath said:
Heh, the dogs, everyones second team, until they start winning a few games :D
Spot on! As a dogs supporter, I can't remember what it is like to have everyone hating us.

I am also really suprised at this sudden hostility. I don't think Dog supporters are particularly cocky, we are probably more so elated with our start. I think if I remember correctly its the first time since 1998 that we won our first two games.

Anyway the game should be a good one. I would be suprised if Lloyd kicked a bagful on Harris as he become a very, very consistent defender but than again Lloyd is a gun.

Lucas is a bit of a worry particularly with hargreaves being out.

Likewise however I'm not sure you will be able to much up with Rob Murphy.

The game is probably to be won and lost in the centre and with Hille out, Minsons palm downs too West and Cross may give us the ascendency.

Anyway I hope a good game, hard contest and the doggies to get a good,hard test to see where we are really at in 06.

Good luck.

dogbowl said:

lol, please dont compare them especially garbage like Simmonds to the likes of Lloyd and Lucas.

EternallyDog said:
Likewise however I'm not sure you will be able to much up with Rob Murphy.

From memory, Dustin Fletcher played well on him last time out. If he plays from the square, Fletcher will get him.

A lot of people might shoot me down for this, but with speed being a requirement I wouldn't be suprised to see Joel Reynolds get a game this week. He had a good pre-season and played well down back in the reserves last season. I reckon he'd match up beautifully on Murphy.

Longy413 said:
From memory, Dustin Fletcher played well on him last time out. If he plays from the square, Fletcher will get him.

A lot of people might shoot me down for this, but with speed being a requirement I wouldn't be suprised to see Joel Reynolds get a game this week. He had a good pre-season and played well down back in the reserves last season. I reckon he'd match up beautifully on Murphy.

Im not going to shoot u down Longy because I dont think its a bad idea, however i am not sure how likely it is as it is from leftfield. But Sheeds is our coach.... HOWEVER ANYONE BUT BOLTS!!! geez the people who are saying he was BOG in the 2's last week and deserves a game have very very short memories.

Soupy said:
Make sure you hurt them Dons.

These cocky bulldogs should be brought back down to earth.

Monfries = gun.

Essendon, Doggies games are always highly entertaining affairs and I'm sure Sunday won't disappoint. Have always had enormous respect for the Bombers, both on and off the field. Yes Soupy, you are correct... Monfries is an excellent player and someone that Rocket and the boys will no doubt be planning for during this week. Spare me the cocky Bulldogs rhetoric though... your Cats are playing great footy, but you've only really been on the scene for the past year. Stop strutting around as though you're the 2004 Brisbane Lions mate!

jules101 said:
Im not going to shoot u down Longy because I dont think its a bad idea, however i am not sure how likely it is as it is from leftfield. But Sheeds is our coach.... HOWEVER ANYONE BUT BOLTS!!! geez the people who are saying he was BOG in the 2's last week and deserves a game have very very short memories.

I'd almost put my house on one of Bolton or Reynolds playing.
And I really hope it isn't Bolton, because once he comes in he is going to stay in for at least a month.

This game should be a sign of where we're at. They'll struggle to contain Lloyd, Lucas and Hird, but with that midfield will it bother them?

I'm hoping we play a physical game, lets see how tough they really are.

Longy413 said:
I'd almost put my house on one of Bolton or Reynolds playing.
And I really hope it isn't Bolton, because once he comes in he is going to stay in for at least a month.

Exactly.

Im waiting to see if sheedy will stand by his comments about not just handing out games to senior players who arent performing, Im pretty sure he was talking horse sh*t as usual though.

Jean Claude Vas Deferens said:
your Cats are playing great footy, but you've only really been on the scene for the past year. Stop strutting around as though you're the 2004 Brisbane Lions mate!

Pass on the same advice to your pal Dogbowl! Love the doggies, love the dons more, should be ripper game of footy!