Gets!

Me and a few lads from work are seriously looking at buying a Greyhound.

Basically we know a bit but not a lot.

Just wondering if anyone has done anything similar and whether they have had success?

Things you would do differently?

I'm in one at the moment. 10 of us bought a dog for $6k. Cost me $600 for 10% share. We have a trainer who does all the work. Costs us nothing except 50% of winnings. At the moment we have got enough winnings to almost get our money back. We used this to buy another dog. The first dog is still racing. He won't be a star but should make us a bit more cash. The new dog should debut soon.

The idea is you outlay $600, if the dog's a complete dud you lose your $600 (so what) but if it gets the money back you buy another one. You just wait til you get lucky and get a good dog that makes heaps. Then you go buy a horse. And win the Melbourne Cup. Become rich. Become immortal.

Well, not quite, but that's the general idea.

bunsen burner said:
I'm in one at the moment. 10 of us bought a dog for $6k. Cost me $600 for 10% share. We have a trainer who does all the work. Costs us nothing except 50% of winnings. At the moment we have got enough winnings to almost get our money back. We used this to buy another dog. The first dog is still racing. He won't be a star but should make us a bit more cash. The new dog should debut soon.

The idea is you outlay $600, if the dog's a complete dud you lose your $600 (so what) but if it gets the money back you buy another one. You just wait til you get lucky and get a good dog that makes heaps. Then you go buy a horse. And win the Melbourne Cup. Become rich. Become immortal.

Well, not quite, but that's the general idea.

Or ya buy a pup for 800 by yaself and win 120k ;)

Gets! said:
Me and a few lads from work are seriously looking at buying a Greyhound.

Basically we know a bit but not a lot.

Just wondering if anyone has done anything similar and whether they have had success?

Things you would do differently?

Yup owned a few dogs over the years.

One was Greyhound of the Year.

All i can say is learn ya bloodlines, iv'e always found researching bloodlines lessens the chance of wasting your money.

Just because a sire was good and a bitch was good doesn't mean their pups will be.

Some Sires throw better dam lines outhers throw better Sire Lines.

What i'd never do is rush into it, bound to end in disaster.

Make sure you have everything in place before you buy the pup.

*they have had all their injections.
*the place you are buying from looks clean and well maintained.
*you are aware of all the paperwork that will be required
*you learn about time frames for certain processes to occur like breaking in,booster inj etc.
*be aware the greater % of dogs either wont make it or wont be much.
*don't be sucked in by ads that say well bred, technically every greyhound is well bred
*make sure you have a few options available in so far as trainers
*don't go in expecting to win money, go in only to have fun
*make sure the pup gets alot of handling when being reared this is the owners responsibility to teach it on the lead and get used to nosie and being handled.

And lastly and i think most improtantly be responsible enough for one of the syndicate to put their hand up and say yeah i'll take it home for a pet after or if it doesnt make the grade.

Thanks a lot for the advice.

Bloody sensational mate!

One of my mates loves his dogs so there is no doubt he would take him in if it didn't make the grade.

I'll let you know how I progress?

ASMS - know of any good places in Adelaide to purchase the dog?

Gets! said:
Thanks a lot for the advice.

Bloody sensational mate!

One of my mates loves his dogs so there is no doubt he would take him in if it didn't make the grade.

I'll let you know how I progress?

ASMS - know of any good places in Adelaide to purchase the dog?

If i can be brutally honest mate, don't buy ya pup from south oz stocks.

While it might cost a little more to have them transported i'd really look to be getting a pup from Vic,Qld or NSW.

The South Oz stock IMO isn't that great and as evidenced there hasn't been much really come from SA in the last few years.

If ya dead set serious get your newsagent to order in greyhound weekly from vic, greyhound recorder from nsw and i forget the qld one.

The Victorian Greyhound weekly gets ads from qld and nsw for the good pups anyway.

The only downside of that is you can't view the conditions or the pup you hope to purchse and its a bit more pot luck.

The Upside is you are exposed to far better performed dams and bloodlines.

If you plan on spending a few grand you will probably be buying from some of the better breeders anyway.

Another thing to consider is making sure you buy a pup that will run a strong 500 metres.
This once again comes down to the bloodlines.

The reason you want a strong dog is because SA doesnt have many tracks the ones that pay better prize money being Angle Park and Gawler require animals that can run out the 500 strongly.

Another consideration i left out is bitch vs dog.

For first owners i'd always go for a dog, mainly because you won't have to deal with the problem of the bitch comming into season and having to wait for the season to be over and for the milk to pass away.

Feel free to ask as many questions as ya like, and if you do get a copy of the Greyhound Weekly every week let me know when ya looking to buy and i'll have a look over the pups bloodlines ya looking at and give an opinion on them.

sprockets said:
Sorry, just saw this topic. I have some pups for sale. Perhaps ASMS will give you his independent opinion of them and if you're interested let me know. These pups are 19 weeks old. Six females only so if you're after a male I can't help.

$1200 each

Pedigree is here:

http://www.greyhound-data.com/dbtestmating.php?selectsireid=403647&selectdamid=1109337

Edited to include a picture of one of the pups, taken yesterday:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v231/KezAcross/Greyt hounds/2_1Oct06_2.jpg

They are nicely bred pups.

Starlight Jessie was from a good litter and has excellent dam lines herself.

I like the Eaglehawk Star line running through Primo Uno because i always thought the line threw not bad Dams when breeding on.

These pups should be able to run out a strong 500 metres with the litter brothers Malawi and Buka Sunset always throwing strong longer distance dogs.

It's come through in Token Prince's pups because he throws alot of staying types.

True Temptations dam line has also been a good source for good stayers going back to Bay Road Queen.

In these pups line is Bay Supreme a sister to the brilliant dam National queen who threw the oustanding stayer Baronia Blossom.

At 1200 very reasonably priced and if they didn't run put a strong 500 i'd eat my hat.

If one was serious about racing a greyhound, Adelaide is not the place to do it. Not enough variety of tracks to keep earning some money. If you had a greyhound in victoria, based at say the ballarat region,you are within one hour of 6-7 tracks - remembering you are a grade 5 each time you go to a new track. A good way to earn money if the dog is handy. In Adelaide you have only Angle Park and Gawler really - plus the prizemoney isnt too flash.

True_Believer said:
If one was serious about racing a greyhound, Adelaide is not the place to do it. Not enough variety of tracks to keep earning some money. If you had a greyhound in victoria, based at say the ballarat region,you are within one hour of 6-7 tracks - remembering you are a grade 5 each time you go to a new track. A good way to earn money if the dog is handy. In Adelaide you have only Angle Park and Gawler really - plus the prizemoney isnt too flash.

Unfortuantely Adelaide dog industry really has gone backwards.

Maybe it will pick up again who knows.

The worry is if the Wheelers pulled all their dogs out of the state they would be lucky to be able to field full fields and full race cards.

I have to say even Tassie is in front of SA at this stage for dog racing.