Grog squad warning

• Thread starter Thread starter smasha

I got this message from a long time grog Squader.

Hi All

The much hoped for meeting with the MCC, RFC, Police, Security etc has taken place, but sadly, we were not included in the discussions, which was disappointing, but I think also sends us a very strong message.

I spoke at length with Cain Liddle from the Richmond Football Club, and he was very deliberate with his words and direction:
1 - It is the RFC, in support of an AFL directive, that asked the MCC to take action at the Saints game. Security & Police had to follow through once directed by the MCC.
2 - This was in response to many complaints they received following the Carlton game, and have received throughout the last 2 years in particular
3 - There is a Zero Tolerance policy on swearing at AFL games. NO EXCEPTIONS!
4 - Individuals who are caught swearing WILL be evicted from the ground by the Police. There will be increased Police presence in our bay until further notice.
5 - If individuals are not able to be identified during any chants containing swear words, the MCC are instructed to shut the bay down again. They are aware that a number of people in the area take shelter, thinking there will be safety in numbers. This is why the bay was shut down during the Saints game. MCC DOES have the authority to shut down any area they believe is causing issues.
6 - This is not a Tiger Army/Grog Squad thing, the same has been explained to Essendon & Collingwood supporters over recent weeks (difference is, they complied)
7 - The RFC loves the passion, loves the Tiger voices in full strength, but is adament chants cannot contain any profanities. No grey areas, no grey words, no exceptions.
8 - Police have been instructed to take immediate action against anyone who expresses racist, homophobic, or bullying remarks (this includes ANY of the chants directed to Stephen Milne), that would be deemed as harassment.
9 - Police will target any supporters they believe are drunk and/or aggressive.
10 - RFC will cancel the membership of anyone found guilty of transgressing any of the above.

I have been asked to attend a presentation the club has arranged for the Cheer Squad, re understanding racism & indigenous issues, for 9:00am Saturday morning. If there is anything extra that comes out of this meeting, I will try to let you know before the game.

I will be in my normal spot before the game, but am seriously considering moving to another bay, or heaven forbid, my reserved seat, as there is a minority who have been quite vocal on facebook, and wont heed the warnings. If you can help communicate this message to anyone around you before the game, it would be appreciated by all. We want all of the passion to be there at the end of the game, in full voice, to celebrate our win over the Pies.

Whether we agree or disagree about this action, or seemingly having our area singled out, we are going to monitored within an inch of our lives. Fore-armed is fore-warned.

See you Saturday, dont shoot the messenger!

Not sure why a large portion of society is so worried about swearing. If it is not directed at individuals and is non threatening then it shouldn't matter, and if it does...deal with it accordingly, which is what happens anyway. But those are the rules and everyone should stick by them...for now.

Every Richmond supporter is an ambassador to an extent in every game we attend so just show them passion without getting to carried away peeps. And enjoy the win!

Not sure why a large portion of society is so worried about swearing. If it is not directed at individuals and is non threatening then it shouldn't matter, and if it does...deal with it accordingly, which is what happens anyway. But those are the rules and everyone should stick by them...for now.

Every Richmond supporter is an ambassador to an extent in every game we attend so just show them passion without getting to carried away peeps. And enjoy the win!
I'm guessing because of young kids that go

Not sure, i expect its when the minority groups are bought into it that the afl get testy...sounds ike the blow torch is fairly and squarely on them

I'm guessing because of young kids that go

I'd agree that that's the reason, but again. Not sure why swearing is seen as so offensive to anyone...including children. It isn't offensive to cry, it isn't offensive to smile. Why is it offensive to verbalise an emotion just because it so happens to convey frustration/anger/shock. Just interesting. I can think of worse things than seeing (in this case hearing) someone's roar emotion.

You don't have children do you?

No. Check mate...you got me right?....;)

I assume you are implying with that question that I will some how flip my moral stance on swearing because I have children? Or perhaps you yourself have changed your stance on swearing since having children?

I hope that I educate my children in all things to the best of my ability when I have them. Which will include teaching them, when they inevitably hear swearing, that it is best not to swear in public or school because people can be offended by it, but there is nothing wrong with expressing emotion if it is not threatening to other people, in fact it is quite healthy and nothing intrinsically wrong with it. I will tell them that some people do not have the capacity to think, cannot question, only follow, and cannot determine their own moral stance on things.

But enough of that silly philosophical talk. It's already gone too far, so I apologise.

Behave tiger fans!! The message of this thread before I derailed!

Its 2013 - the AFL and RFC are trying to create and promote a game and event where people of all races, religions, sexual preferences etc can feel welcome and comfortable. If this means the grog squad have to eliminate swearing from their chants so be it.

A recent reminder of what turning a blind eye to such behaviour can precipitate:

man_punches_horse__404333a.jpg

:p

I reckon the grog squad need to do a cull of their numbers. Haven't been near them for a while but geez their were some knuckleheads starting to get involved.

I'd agree that that's the reason, but again. Not sure why swearing is seen as so offensive to anyone...including children. It isn't offensive to cry, it isn't offensive to smile. Why is it offensive to verbalise an emotion just because it so happens to convey frustration/anger/shock. Just interesting. I can think of worse things than seeing (in this case hearing) someone's roar emotion.
Firstly, I am not having a go at you personally so please don't get me wrong here.
But this is typical Gen Y stuff. Who cares about anyone else and it's all about me.
As soon as we abandon all common decency and respect for our fellow human beings, then we lose everything. My old man always taught me - never ever swear in front of women or children and you'd better have a good reason to swear even in front of men.

I reckon the grog squad need to do a cull of their numbers. Haven't been near them for a while but geez their were some knuckleheads starting to get involved.
There's an ODI cricket crowd element to them nowadays. Pissed up kids going along to rant and rave and be ****heads. The genuine grog squad members are totally different to this and do it to support the team.

Couldn't agree more. That's exactly what it's like hangers on everywhere.
The swearing thing really is one of my pet hates. We've all sworn at the footy I'd say.
But the ones who shit me are the weak bastards that whilst they may be swearing in front of a child at first, they are then requested to keep it down in front of the kids and they pretty much say get ****** and ramp it up.
Safe in the knowledge that the person there with their kids is hamstring really.
I've seen parents given fearful sprays in front of their own kids.It must be the most frustrating thing in the world.You can't really do or say anything in front of your child.
You just have to walk away.

Couldn't agree more. That's exactly what it's like hangers on everywhere.
The swearing thing really is one of my pet hates. We've all sworn at the footy I'd say.
But the ones who shit me are the weak bastards that whilst they may be swearing in front of a child at first, they are then requested to keep it down in front of the kids and they pretty much say get ****** and ramp it up.
Safe in the knowledge that the person there with their kids is hamstring really.
I've seen parents given fearful sprays in front of their own kids.It must be the most frustrating thing in the world.You can't really do or say anything in front of your child.
You just have to walk away.
I took my girls to a St Kilda game once. It was the game when Gehrig kicked 10 and they beat us by 100. These two foul mouthed St Kilda morons were at it all day. Now, I am a big bloke. 6'1" and back then I was fairly ripped (not now:p) . But what can you do when you have two young girls with you? I'm not much use to them laying in the gutter with a broken jaw and broken ribs am I?

A ticket to the footy doesn't come with immunity from acceptable public behaviour. I yell and scream like everyone else, but there's an obvious line and we all know where it is. We do.
Sing, chant, have fun, do what you like, but I don't pay my money to listen to you. I'm there for the footy and if you impact on my ability to enjoy that then the text will be sent.

Good to see action being taken. People have to remember it's a family event, not a place to get wasted and abuse players, umpires and supporter.

^ There probably wouldn't be many Richmond fans left in the stadium if they targeted those types, seriously.

I love the grog squads chants, dancing and enthusiasm. But there always seems to be one or two overly drunken idiots that have to take it too far in the past 2 years or so.

I also don't mind the swearing to an extent, but I'd rather they keep it minimal. example: if the umpires are rubbing our faces in the mud, then i don't mind a 'BULLLLSHIT! BULLLLSHIT!' chant for a few seconds. I also don't mind the 'How shit is Didak?' chant.

When I was a 6 year old I sat right in front of the grog squad, not one single problem. There was a bit of casual swearing but nothing over the top and nothing I didn't already hear in the school yard. I loved it and sat on my old man's shoulders joining in with the songs.

What does annoy me is when I hear stories about a few of them swearing at innocent by passers. It's up to the main blokes in the grog squad to grab these kids and tell them to pull their head in. They're ruining the fun for everybody else and I'd really be upset if they got 'banned'

I'm there for the footy and if you impact on my ability to enjoy that then the text will be sent.
But since the second half of last year I've noticed our crowd getting really ugly, maybe it's the bandwagoners coming back?
I've been tempted to text that number countless times since last season, about the time we played melbourne for the sexond time. During the saints game I was close to texting it when some drunk idiot in the dry area kept kicking and punching the chair next to me, causing it to slam down onto my leg or hand every time. Then he spilt bourbon down the back of my jumper and he either didn't notice or he didn't care. Then the woman next to him was yelling something about Vickery being useless, so I turned around to see who it was and I copped a face full of her spit as she continued yelling.

Firstly, I am not having a go at you personally so please don't get me wrong here.
But this is typical Gen Y stuff. Who cares about anyone else and it's all about me.
As soon as we abandon all common decency and respect for our fellow human beings, then we lose everything. My old man always taught me - never ever swear in front of women or children and you'd better have a good reason to swear even in front of men.
And that's what you grew up with. I'm 21, and the word **** is a word very much in the vernacular of both men and women. It's not as powerful as it is to you, and to the next generation it will be less so. Out generation think "**** is a bad word? Why, because our parents say so?" What good reason is there to ban it. Words like c*** and N****** can be way more emotionally charged and people get the vilification around those words. People don't get the hatred of the word ****.

youve just proved his arguament. You are basically saying: because its not offensive to ME then who gives a damn about what YOU think. ME is much more important than anything you think.

I agree, as do my parents and my grandparents. We had a big discussion about it not too long ago. Also doing coaching for junior players I've found many of them spray a few words that I would've been scared of copping a hiding for saying. Told my mum and she said she didn't even know about those words at that age.

Also shocked at how much girls swear, not attractive at all.

Look at how freely the work c**t is thrown around these days, it's used as a compliment more often than an insult too. There's a shirt they sell at women's clothing stores with the coco chanel logo with 'UNT' after it. Seen it everywhere.