Gubby Allen

Has Thomas re-signed yet?

I know Pendlebury signed a one year extension, and then not look after Thomas came out saying he was close to re-signing.

Did it get done?

Has Thomas re-signed yet?

I know Pendlebury signed a one year extension, and then not look after Thomas came out saying he was close to re-signing.

Did it get done?

thomas hasn't put pen to paper as yet. neither has dawes. but neither will be going anywhere. you can take this to the bank, the uncontracted coll player that GWS desperately want is ben reid for 2013. we need to get to work on extending his deal asap, he is going to be asuperstar back man of the comp for the next 10 years and it had better be with us

I think he was behind getting Fev, but having said that I think was also on board when Brisbane won their flags not to mention that he was the genius behind getting Buckley to Collingwood. Would be one of the more sought after people in footy for his role imo; + was with us in 1990 as well.

If I remember correctly this guy left us to go to Brisbane because he got a better offer. He tryed to play Brisbanes offer to him against Collingwood in the hope that Collingwood would pay him more. In the end Collingwood told him to stick it were the sun dosn't shine. He has form on his side when it comes to leaving a club for a better deal. Defenitly no loyalty with him.

To think he will always be remembered for kicking the ball across goal late in the last quarter at the whitten Oval in the mid 80's which cost us a game.

Come on you lot. Don't we all get fed up with the same b.s., watered down, overly humble responses to questions. I've been hanging for someone to come out and say 'yeah, they were sh!t that's why we smashed em' or mate, I'm playing the best footy of my career and should get what I'm worth' etc.
Finally Gubby comes out and says what he thinks, as only Gubby can, and we call him a w***er? If so, let him keep tuggin at the lil fella. Love the confidence and telling clubs to get over it. Their strip is sh!t, hope he wasn't involved in that!

What comes to mind when I think Gubby Allan is kicking across the face of goal to lose us a game at Western Oval with Jim Edmond making a stupid face at him.

I was at that game and still have vision of that incident in my head.
We were in front with seconds to go. He kicks across the face and Beasley intercepts kick and marks dead in front. Beasley has a shot after the siren and kicks a goal. Collingwood lose. :rolleyes: I'm pretty sure Dennis Banks took mark of the year in the same game.
He did serve the Collingwood Football Club and that should be respected.
Even if he was the biggest flog as a person, he made positive contributions as a player and official at CFC.