Toast Gutsy

• Thread starter Thread starter muckypup

Yep I agree, good effort from them all. Ibbo/Clarke/Barlow played good games, next time we meet them with a near full squad, they are roasted toasted chooks (hopefully the finals)

Was very impressed with out guts and determination - and most of all our heart. We were hurting after the game.

As a supporter you want the players to feel after a loss and ad to the desire to make amends the next week and bounce back

Stark contrast to the eagles who didn't seem to have any passion after such a tight win - well done to all our players who stood tall when all seemed lost and tried to make their mark

Yep,we are all also very pleased and proud but not just the game also the season so far.

Stark contrast to the eagles who didn't seem to have any passion after such a tight win - well done to all our players who stood tall when all seemed lost and tried to make their mark

They'd let a 20 point lead slip and almost lost with a kick after the siren. They would've been relieved that they dodged a bullet. Fair enough reaction from most of them TBH.

By contrast, we were upset/deflated because we'd fought back only to fall agonisingly short...

Yeah the boys really hurt after this one. Will only make them stronger.

We didn't give up in the face of some big odds (lone Clarke, Suban down, Barlow tiring).

Was very impressed with out guts and determination - and most of all our heart. We were hurting after the game.

As a supporter you want the players to feel after a loss and ad to the desire to make amends the next week and bounce back

I reckon they were well aware how lucky they were to get away with that. Cox said as much post game interview. They would have been thrilled but a little stung too if you know what I mean. That's my guess anyway.

The only loss this year that I can be more positive than negative about.

The boys looked absolutely shattered after the game and you could see how much it meant to them. Don't think we need to worry about the boys being flat next week.

We had Clarke fighting it out with Natanui/Cox for the whole second half, whilst being restricted with rotations because of Suban in the final quarter. Bring one of Sandi or Mundy into yesterdays game and we win.

If we can fight out games for the rest of the season like we did yesterday, then we should be able to make finals.
Thats the sort of effort that was needed in games against the Saints, Melbourne and Richmond. Many of us would have been more accepting of those performances had we fought it out like we did yesterday.

If you told me at the beginning of the year that we would be missing Sandi, Barlow, Mundy, Suban, Morabito, Silvagni, Mcphee and Hayden for large chunks of the year then I would have predicted us to be bottom 8 all year.

Spot on - this is the effort we wanted to see vs Melbourne/Richmond/StKilda/4th qtr vs Hawthorn

Losing would have been a lot more palatable if we knew we were putting in the effort and trying

Hopefully we can take this effort and intensity and push on through

Thats the sort of effort that was needed in games against the Saints, Melbourne and Richmond. Many of us would have been more accepting of those performances had we fought it out like we did yesterday.

Exactly! Its not overly negative to say the team played shit if they played shit!

No need to worry about that yesterday though. A toast to gutsy hard footy played by the team in purple!

If we wheel out the same intensity as the Swans and Eagles games for our run home i have little doubt we'll make finals. Even if we don't I'll be stung but proud. I think this group injury free is building towards something great

I was honestly fearful when the Eagles got out to a 22 point lead that we would roll over and cave and was about ready to unleash a vicious rant at the club.

That being said I was very surprised by the fightback and also quite proud that we did fightback

I did unleash one rant when Johnson missed that goal and said "Piss off to GWS" that's how fired up I became

To lose after the siren is heartbreaking but the way we fought out that game was courageous with injuries and all.

If we bring in that effort to EVERY game, NOT just the home games, who knows what might happen

Was a gutsy game by all except Pav. Towards the end spectators around me were crying out for him to do something, anything to impact on the game.

If he's injured, leave him out, because based on yesterday's performance he is a liablity and is denying a young player a game.

Costing a young player a game. LOL. Who's Pavlich keeping out? Sibosado? Shepheard? Maybe even Houghton? Remember you cannot say he's keeping a mid out because his role midfield is to provide a big, strong body. Troll

Troll I may be, but what I posted is not a troll.

What is the use of a big body getting in the way of our own players, especially one that can't reach below his knees? I would have preferred Mellington to play, at least he would have been giving it everything he had.

As I have said before, if Pav is giving it everything he's got, because that is his injured best, then kudos to him for pushing through it but I'd rather he spent some time off to get right. If he's not injured as the club says, then some of his efforts are letting the younger players down badly.

Why is Pav off limits to a critique of a poor performance?

I'm not saying Pav is off limits to critique, nor should he be. But lets be realistic, unless Pav admits he's injured (not convinced, sore maybe) and doesn't play, it is impossible and stupid to drop him. Pavlich at half his best is better than Mello, or any youngster we have left to bring in, taking into account his leadership and ability to draw an opposing player (as he should be at this stage of their development).

Saying that Pav (even at half his best) is keeping out a younger player is confrontingly inflammatory (a troll).

I'm not saying Pav is off limits to critique, nor should he be. But lets be realistic, unless Pav admits he's injured (not convinced, sore maybe) and doesn't play, it is impossible and stupid to drop him. Pavlich at half his best is better than Mello, or any youngster we have left to bring in, taking into account his leadership and ability to draw an opposing player (as he should be at this stage of their development).

Saying that Pav (even at half his best) is keeping out a younger player is confrontingly inflammatory (a troll).

I respectfully disagree.

Pav at half his best, particularlly if that is representative of what we saw in the derby, is less value to us than someone like Mellington. And where is the evidence of this leadership you talk about? Numerous times this year we have needed him to stand up and make his mark on the game like we know he can. Unfortunatley it just hasn't eventuated.

I'm being harsh on Pav, I know, but when you have a champion player you expect them to play like a champion. Is that really asking too much?