Haines

• Thread starter Thread starter Scham

Haines always came across as someone with a lot of class on the field, not the sort of player who would panic. But his knee was obviously holding him back. Maybe the club is prepared to take the risk with him.

And I hope Connolly's policy of drafting as many non-locals as possible isn't going to bite us on the arse in a couple of years. Look at Port, they're winning games and flags, and still losing players.

Daniel Haines had a knee injury that didn't allow him to complete full AFL level training sessions at full pace. However the good news was this didn't affect his game, and a medical examination at the end of the season showed that his knee had actually corrected itself as he went on. He was absolutely outstanding for Peel this year, and he'll easily be a member of freos best 22 next season. Well done to Daniel and his perseverance. I look forward to seeing more of him at AFL level.

fat wombat said:
He was absolutely outstanding for Peel this year, and he'll easily be a member of freos best 22 next season. Well done to Daniel and his perseverance. I look forward to seeing more of him at AFL level.

You're joking aren't you?

No chance of being in our best 22.

Very good back up player tho. Depth has been the big focus this trading period, especially with Schofield to come.

Scham said:
You're joking aren't you?

No chance of being in our best 22.

Very good back up player tho. Depth has been the big focus this trading period, especially with Schofield to come.

If Daniel Haines can put in a good pre-season, he is very much a chance to grab a spot in the top 22. Both he and Luke Webster are both wildcards taht I'm very excited about seeing run around in 2005.

Here's a snip from what CC had to say on the fremantle.com.au web site.

---

Fremantle also redrafted Daniel Haines, after recovering from a knee injury. "He was at the crossroads at the start of the season but he went on to win Peel's best and fairest, so there will be no worries about him, and everyone at the club will be rapt to have him back."

"He's a terrific young man and a real part of the fabric of the club," Connolly said.

pinkus maximus said:
two more South Aussies who I know nothing about.
Swallow ,Toovey overlooked :confused:
Happy with Haines.
We should have gone for a WA player.
We have heaps of SA players on our list now.
looks like Murphy has the FF spot

BB gun said:
Happy with Haines.
We should have gone for a WA player.
We have heaps of SA players on our list now.
looks like Murphy has the FF spot

But they all want to stay so who cares :D

Not getting Smith is a blessing in disguise. Murphy has to get game time this year.

I always liked the look of Haines, but injury got in the way of him really displaying his talents at the highest level. I don't think however that he'll get much more of a chance...

Good luck to Haines but wrong move again. He will not be in the best 22 and not play in any real games, now that Black and Carr is here. If Schofield comes then it is even worse.

Freo should have picked up Nye or Thornton, Wilkes and Swallow. All young West Aussies.

jarman said:
Good luck to Haines but wrong move again. He will not be in the best 22 and not play in any real games, now that Black and Carr is here. If Schofield comes then it is even worse.

Freo should have picked up Nye or Thornton, Wilkes and Swallow. All young West Aussies.
they are a chance for the rookie list. Haines is to old for the rookie list.

Schofield is a short term player (if we even get him)

Haines, being developed as a half back flanker rather than a midfielder, won't have the same level of competition, will be able to step up and replace the schofields (if we get him) maccas and cooks, even a parker with a defense reshuffle.

He was a good player for peel last season and unlucky to not get a call up. Not disapointed we got him back.

BB Gun - my view it would have been far better taking Thornton, Wilkes and Swallow in the draft rather than eastern states boys and Haines. You and I both know that Haines will not be a dominant player at AFL level and be lucky to get a game.

At rookie time take three more, and one of them a ruckman.

I just don't see that we are going to get any long term value with what we have picked up this year. I read somewhere that Copping is a 5 years prospect due to his light frame. Another Crowley, Doswell and Edcumbe fiasco, because CC does not like WA boys.

RIPPER_46 said:
It is easy to forget just how good Mutt Haines was when he got a game.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=63970

Good point RIPPER_46. I'm keen to see what a matured injury free Haines can do at AFL level. I'd prefer to see him running off half back rather than Des who could play in the midfield or further up the ground.

jarman said:
BB Gun - my view it would have been far better taking Thornton, Wilkes and Swallow in the draft rather than eastern states boys and Haines. You and I both know that Haines will not be a dominant player at AFL level and be lucky to get a game.

At rookie time take three more, and one of them a ruckman.

I just don't see that we are going to get any long term value with what we have picked up this year. I read somewhere that Copping is a 5 years prospect due to his light frame. Another Crowley, Doswell and Edcumbe fiasco, because CC does not like WA boys.

You are saying Copping is a project player and Haines will not be a dominant player, do you believe Thornton, Wilkes and Swallow will develop in a shorter period?.

Remember 16 teams passed these players over, not just Freo, that says something.

I'm happy with our trade / draft work this year, some ready made, some projects.

Masai, WA won the under 18 title, so there must have been players there that are worth a pick. Having watched Thornton and Wilkes play, they have good potential and are worth having as your development players. Wilkes is a big strong boy, who can really contest and pack mark. This is what we so badly need. You take Swallow because he will be a top ten next year as he is under age this year.

I do not believe Copping is anything that special but only time will tell, but I guess I just cannot get past the Crowley, Doswell and Edgcumbe disappointments. I have lost total confidence with CC as a football coach and very sceptical with any player he picks. Especially when he overlooks local boys.

Haines will not get much game time this year and is not in the best Freo 30, let alone best 22. We have taken three mature players this year (assumed that Schoefiled is coming) who are far better than Haines. They were in thier teams first 22 and the teams are far better than Freo.

Freo will never get to GF let alone win a GF with CC as coach.

jarman said:
disappointments. I have lost total confidence with CC as a football coach and very sceptical with any player he picks. Especially when he overlooks local boys.

CC doesnt pick the players in the draft. Phil Smarts job is to pick draftees. So if your angry at the drafting dont blame CC.

jarman said:
Masai, WA won the under 18 title

Not So

Victoria Country has ended the National's AFL under 18 championships on a high after thrashing Western Australia by 46 points at Optus Oval on Sunday in the final match of the carnival, yet the division one title has been won by Victoria Metropolitan.

inferno66 said:
CC doesnt pick the players in the draft. Phil Smarts job is to pick draftees. So if your angry at the drafting dont blame CC.

After coughing up my membership fees for ten years and not seeing too much in return, except a mulitude of bad decisions and choices. I have given up being angry, just very disappointed and not much seems to change.

With the Fremantle football culture, the supporters and passion, we should be in a similar position as Port. We should be up there with the best, especially with the squad that we have. CC is a poor choice as a coach and 2004 results and performance proved this.

Phil Smart would not pick the draftees without CC having a very, very big say.

inferno66 said:

After coughing up my membership fees for ten years and not seeing too much in return, except a mulitude of bad decisions and choices. I have given up being angry, just very disappointed and not much seems to change.

With the Fremantle football culture, the supporters and passion, we should be in a similar position as Port. We should be up there with the best, especially with the squad that we have. CC is a poor choice as a coach and 2004 results and performance proved this.

Phil Smart would not pick the draftees without CC having a very, very big say.