HAPPY AUSTRALIA/INVASION DAY

Now i dont want this to turn into a political shit fight argumentative thread. Everybody is entitled to their own views on the Aussie day debate .
All im saying is i hope everybody enjoys the public holiday .
If your happy with the way it currently is then enjoy the Australia Day celebrations:thumbsu:
And if your against the date and chose to ignore the official celebrations then use the day to spend some quality time with family and friends.:thumbsu:
Theres no doubt that our country has some problems that need addressing but its still a fair dinkum bonza ripper of a Country:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Wave your Flag with pride tomoz
9554__1907632520.jpg
:D

I have felt for a while now that to celebrate the landing of the First Fleet is something meant for Sydneysiders, and Poms. Lets face it, the only Australians around on 26th January 1788, were all Indigenous peoplle, and they dont want to celebrate white settlement, and who can blame them.
I saw something about 9th of May as a possible Australia day. There were three different events on 9th of May (I hope its the right date) that would be worthwhile celebrating as Australlia day, and the date doesnt offend anyone.

I have felt for a while now that to celebrate the landing of the First Fleet is something meant for Sydneysiders, and Poms. Lets face it, the only Australians around on 26th January 1788, were all Indigenous peoplle, and they dont want to celebrate white settlement, and who can blame them.
I saw something about 9th of May as a possible Australia day. There were three different events on 9th of May (I hope its the right date) that would be worthwhile celebrating as Australlia day, and the date doesnt offend anyone.
How about May 8th?

Then Australia Day would officially be 'MAY8' day!

Agreed. The date has already been changed multiple times. Changing it once more won’t be too hard and it will stop some heartache. Everyone still gets a day to celebrate.

That being said I’ll be spending it at work taking in those sweet public holiday rates.

May 9th:
Date of first sitting of Federal Parliament (in Melbourne),
Date of first sitting of Federal Parliament (in Canberra in the old Parliament House),
Date of first sitting of Federal Parliament in the new (current) Parliament House.

Great choice for a day that’s inclusive for all Australians, and marks our Federation appropriately.

However, still not my first choice.

The first Monday in November.....

Long, long weekend for Melbourne.

Well I'll add my say - currently the only logical day is Jan 1 since that's when the nation of Australia was created - but there's no effing way a true Aussie is gonna give up a public holiday. That's what we fought world wars for!!!.

That said there's only two possible other dates - 27 May which is anniversary of the 1967 referendum which saw the constitution amended to enable the Federal Govt to make laws that affected ALL Australians (up till then Aboriginals were specifically excluded from Federal Govt legislation.)

Interesting to note that 90%+ of the population voted YES in support the referendum. Wow someone must have shown leadership!!!!!

And the last date - well its in my dreams - but IMO Australia Day should only be celebrated on the day we become a fully independent country - not now when we are like some aging child hanging onto the skirt of mother england.

This.

Maybe we should replace the monarchy with the original owners. That would be poetic justice.

Reckon we'd probably look after the place better then too.

Gotta change it, it's not like any of us think Jan 26 is particularly important and it genuinely rubs salt into a festering wound.

The reason why we love it is coz it's summer and the weather allows us to enjoy the day.

Stuff it, find another day just make sure it's in summer. No big deal and we all move on.

Gotta change it, it's not like any of us think Jan 26 is particularly important and it genuinely rubs salt into a festering wound.

The reason why we love it is coz it's summer and the weather allows us to enjoy the day.

Stuff it, find another day just make sure it's in summer. No big deal and we all move on.
Really it doesn't doesn't need to be on Jan 26th - but we need to have a Australia Day - for everyone in the country

My take on it is pretty simple.

If the date causes offence to any group, particularly one as important as our first people, then you change it. Simple.

We can't truly celebrate what makes our country great when doing do causes pain.

Let's change it to a date that represents unity, inclusiveness and recognition so we call all celebrate together.

Then I can listen to some dude playing the didge whilst I drink my Carlton draught and eat a snag in bread.

Just my 2c