Has Skipper leapfrogged Wiggins?

• Thread starter Thread starter Dry Rot

Yeah it looks like he has. But to be fair wiggo hasnt had much ground time, but i think if wiggo gets to stay on the ground for nearly the whole then he could really show something, he makes the forward line look so much better.

I think they shouldn't really be in competition. FF is a very specialised possie and Wiggins is more suited to it, whilst Skipper is needed both for now and the future in other areas.

HOWEVER, if Rohde is only going to play one of them at a time, i think it should be skipper, cos he is much more versatile, and looks certain to be the better footballer.

Originally posted by Dry Rot
Given the selections and recent comments by Rohde, it seems that this may be the case.
S h i t yes!
Grab his chance in 1 quarter. From day one Wiggins gave the impression of being lazy whist Skipper is the complete opposite.

For sure, Skipper showed more on debut than the WIg in 8 games. Granyed the Wig hasn't been treated too fairly IMO but its not very often we have a tall youngster go alright on debut like that. He grabbed his opportunities whilst Wiggins is still looking for that spark to get his confidence up.

Re: Re: Has Skipper leapfrogged Wiggins?

Originally posted by Chops
S h i t yes!
Grab his chance in 1 quarter

Exactly

Skipper showed something in his first 15 minutes and was rewarded with extra game time. Not once has Wiggo shown anything in his many 15-20 min chances. Skip has definitely leapfrogged him and rightly so

Re: Re: Re: Has Skipper leapfrogged Wiggins?

Originally posted by Bulldog1954
Exactly

Skipper showed something in his first 15 minutes and was rewarded with extra game time. Not once has Wiggo shown anything in his many 15-20 min chances. Skip has definitely leapfrogged him and rightly so

Except in the quater against Richmond where he went up with two Richmond blokes and pulled down a ripper mark...

Re: Re: Re: Re: Has Skipper leapfrogged Wiggins?

Originally posted by -PC28-
Except in the quater against Richmond where he went up with two Richmond blokes and pulled down a ripper mark...

Didn't he miss the shot?

I stand corrected, he didn't take his opportunities in all of his 15-20 minute stints except for taking one strong mark

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Has Skipper leapfrogged Wiggins?

Originally posted by -PC28-
Thank you :)

Lol

If a raindrop was a kiss I'd send you showers
If a hug was a minute I'd send you hours
If a smile was water I'd send you the sea
If you wanted a friend I'd send you me!!!

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Has Skipper leapfrogged Wiggins?

Originally posted by Bulldog1954
Lol

If a raindrop was a kiss I'd send you showers
If a hug was a minute I'd send you hours
If a smile was water I'd send you the sea
If you wanted a friend I'd send you me!!!

i'm touched :)

friendship.gif

Skip seems more suited to playing half forward. hes quite mobile and fairly quick, but more importantly he seems to be able to move the ball on quickly, and is not bad at ground level.

Wiggy seems to be more of a pack mark, Id play him FF.

Seriously Id like to see Wiggins leading from FF, Bandy loitering around the goals in a FP and skipper playing CHF. I wonder if we'll ever see 3 genuine talls like that on the ground at the same time?

Originally posted by stefoid
I wonder if we'll ever see 3 genuine talls like that on the ground at the same time?

If Walsh and Minson come along then we may very well have a forward line with those two plus Skipper

Originally posted by mel 40
Yeah it looks like he has. But to be fair wiggo hasnt had much ground time, but i think if wiggo gets to stay on the ground for nearly the whole then he could really show something, he makes the forward line look so much better.

As your fave Birss said in the weekly chat, you have to show something and try to make an impact when you are on the ground. I think Wiggens could be a good player for us. He just needs an attitude transplant or if that is not available a good kick up the arse!

Originally posted by Isdogisgood
As your fave Birss said in the weekly chat, you have to show something and try to make an impact when you are on the ground. I think Wiggens could be a good player for us. He just needs an attitude transplant or if that is not available a good kick up the arse!

Yup i agree.

I mean, when he's sitting on the bench he so should be putting more effort into watching the game.

Skipper is much more suited to CHF and i would prefer to see both he and Wiggins playing at the same time. They are our future.:cool:

Originally posted by Isdogisgood
I think Wiggens could be a good player for us. He just needs an attitude transplant or if that is not available a good kick up the arse!

Yeah, he just needs to be slapped into line. :rolleyes:

I reckon most of the footy public would have thought of Fevola as being of a similar attitude to where you see Wiggins, just 6 months ago(hell, for most you could say 2 months ago). Was it a good kick up the arse that turned his career around? Nah, just a coach that was willing to fill him with confidence.

I guarantee Wiggins will not be a decent FF for us whilst playing in 15 min spurts once or twice a game. It is self fulfulling to play him that way. You don't rate him, so you don't play him much, so he has no chance to change your mind about him (ask any FF how hard it is to slot into a side, let alone one not used to playing to a tall FF, and then when you only get small spurts of game time...), and thus prove your original call on the player.

How can anybody think that is good coaching? Had Wiggins played every minute so far it is hard to believe our record would be worse, and we would have been on the way to learning how to play in a more long term viable structure, as well as possibly having a decent long ball option in the F50, or at least knowing a bit more about the capabilites of one of our players.